We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time In Varadero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
Save
You added Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Las Morlas, Km 18.5 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time In Varadero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed at this resort for a week from January 25 to February 1/14. Loved the beautiful beach and walked it for miles. Had fun jumping the waves & also looking for sea shells. Snorkelling was good. Vivianne at the lobby bar was excellent. Alexander at the beach bar was also great. Eduardo's omelettes were awesome. Enjoyed the Espresso coffee every day. Listened to music every night & attended the Theatre shows which were very well done. Food was plentiful. Tried all 3 Restaurants but liked the Italian the best. Lasagna was fantastic. The Adults pool wasn't very deep & there is no swim up bar but we were at the beach everyday so that didn't effect us. We took a day trip into Havana which was great. It was my husband/s first trip & he enjoyed it. Meet 2 other couples that we hung around with for the week. Had so many laughs & really enjoyed our week.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room in Building 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest

The Iberostar Playa Alameda would like to thank you for your recent visit to our Resort, and to share your moments with us.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us, with your nice comments about the workers in our team, you give them even more motivation to improve even more our services. Be sure that every comment of our clients is important to us and our management is already informed about your concern.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again in Cuba and in our hotel.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    723
    265
    148
    98
See reviews for
552
670
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melfort, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We came to this resort with another couple, and had a great time! This was our first trip to Cuba, so we were a bit concerned about food as this was a common "issue" for a number of resorts. But the food was great, lots of flavour and variety, we did not have any complaints during our week stay (Feb 2nd - 9th). The staff range from good to outstanding - Some of the staff had trouble with English, but they try hard! Many of the staff do very well in English, and know many other languages as well. The cooking and serving staff did a great job.
The entertainment staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Beatrice, Yuli, Suli, and Miguel taught us a lot about Cuba, and welcomed us to Cuba with open arms! The Latin bands in the evenings were top notch musicians and staff were there to help the visitors learn how to move their feet and roll their hips. Waiters kept up with everyone's orders and put on a great show themselves dancing and chatting with guests.
Our maid Yobeisis did an excellent job with our room and we looked forward to creative towel sculptures each day. The bar was stocked regularly every two days. The beds and sofas are not the most comfortable, but not a huge issue.
We would definitely consider coming back to Cuba, and this resort will be top of our list if we do.
Rob & Laura, SK Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Geust

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel, and the time you took to share your comments of your stay with us.

It is a great honor to us that you enjoyed our facilities and our friendly staff. It is a great motivation to us, that our services made your stay an unforgettable experience. This review gives our Team even more motivation to offer even a better service in the future.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again in Cuba and in our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us when you choose to come back.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

after reading all the reviews on here i was overly impressed by this resort. 40 minute drive from the airport, check in was extremely fast and easy, the room was very large and comfortable, i actually was able to find something i really enjoyed eating every night, the beach was perfect with a limitless amount of chairs for everyone, pool and snack bar were great.

i always find it funny to hear bad reviews after spending the same time at a resort as someone else. i guess maybe I'm easy to please but i really don't know how hot people really want the shower to be or what kind of food people eat at home...at home i eat chicken, beef, pork, salads, rice, potatoes and eggs/toast for breakfast, there is never a shortage of these items to choose from with great coffee.

my biggest compliant about this resort would have to be rude french Canadians and Europeans, remember Cubans speak Spanish with a little English, there is no reason to be rude if you can't even say a few words in English or Spanish.

the staff is exceptional....if you are planning on visiting anytime soon please look for all the entertainment staff (Madeline, Beatrice,yuli, sulie, Edgar, Miguel,Yas and all others that were very welcoming) bar staff (Yudith, dailys and Ady) Mr. Alexander at the beach bar very very nice man and Mr. Eduardo on the grill. he does understand french if you would like to speak slow and polite.

for the price and for what this resort has to offer i would definitely return.

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Geust

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Iberostar Alameda for your vacations in Cuba.

We are more than glad that you enjoyed our facilities, and our food in our resort. We already passed your excellent comments to our workers, and be assured they are more than happy to hear that all their effort paid off. This review gives our Team even more motivation to offer even a better service in the future.

Thank you once again for your stay with us, and we hope that we see you soon back with us in Cuba, when this is so do not hesitate to contact us do assist you in advanced with your needs.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assitant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We just got back ,We were there from Jan 27-Feb 3 The staff were FANTASTIC. The food as usual was luke warm. We always look for the stir fry or the omellete station We always eat from that station. We were in block 15 the humidity was unreal and the room smelled mildewly. Had to get a hold of maintenance to ch4 bulbs. The fridge was stocked with water but if you wanted beer you had to get hold of front desk everyday and then you got 2 beer everyday. It was rated a 5 star a 3 star would of been better

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Geust

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Iberostar Alameda for your vacations in Cuba.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality, and friendliness of Cuba. Every comment brought forth by our guest is highly appreciated. We commend ourselves on maintaining high standards and strive for high customer satisfaction. We would like to inform you that every concern presented by our guest is very important to us. Your correspondence has been forwarded to our Management and we regret the incidents you are mentioning.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back once again in the near future so we can change your point of view in regards to these issues.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First time all inclusive, we were a bit hesitant about quality, but everything went off without a hitch. Flew Sunwing, and yes it is real champagne they serve, direct from Vancouver. Good flight, good crew, good transfers and great hotel. Iberostar Playa Alameda appears go be not the biggest on the beach, but it is a well-thought out hotel. Beautiful reception, fantastically well kept grounds, comfortable well appointed rooms- this is not Vegas folks- and the most amazingly beautiful beaches. Layers of blue water meet the bright blue sky to create an unparalleled canvas of tropical delight. Grab a spot on the beach or walk for miles: both or either is heaven. The service is swift and attentive:find a favorite bar and plunk yourself down to enjoy the unlimited booze. The buffet was outstanding-in that they don't have the supplies we have access to- but the have something for everyone, even the fussy eater. The à là carts were an experience- not what you get back home, but you are not back home. That is the point. Local daily specials like roast pork, rabbit, grilled fresh snappers were outstanding. Simple preparations and presentation shine. Café con leche made at the bar with an espresso maker is a great top off to any meal. Walk around, look at everything and then make try choices. Music every night on the patio and a theatre show if you are so inclined. Day trip to Havana is obligatory: Varadero is not the real Cuba-be a good tourist and enjoy the day trips. Go, tan, drink, eat and be thankful for the beauty that surrounds you at every turn.

Room Tip: Upper level, near beach. Ground floor has potential for darling little lizards to come in and say he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the evening and were quickly shown to our room by Julio . It was a little difficult to find our way around the first evening because the lights don't go on until well after dark. Our room was very good with an excellent balcony. The food the first night was not very good but really picked up after that. We looked forward to Eduardo's omelettes every morning and were always well treated by the staff in the buffet, special thanks to Liane. We tried all three a la carts and really enjoyed them. If you need reservations for the restaurants or have any problem with the hotel or just want to try out your spanish, Wendy in Guest Services is awesome. No concern a guest may have is too small for her to do her best to remedy.
The shows in the evening were very good and there were lots of activities during the day . Yudi and Suli ,the spanish teachers, would get you learning spanish in no time.
The grounds at this hotel are among the best we have seen, the grounds crew are constantly working to maintain and improve the landscape.
We played a little tennis and really enjoyed hitting with Manuel.
The beach is a little odd with the with the big step down to get to the water, but perhaps that will change with the next storm, other than that it is a marvellous beach, swimming was great , sailing was great and there seemed to be just enough of the sun shades and chairs or everyone.
One thing that particularly impressed me was over the entire two weeks they did not seem to run out of anything. Other hotels would,run out of hot water, run out of butter , run out of plates at the buffet , run out of beach towels, this hotel had everything when you needed it.
This was a great 2 weeks and we will be back next year

Rick and Judy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

The Iberostar Playa Alameda Team would like to thank you for your recent visit to our Resort, and to share your moments with us.

It is a great honor to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us, with your nice comments about the workers in our team and the services what we offer, you give us more motivation to improve even more our services. Be sure that every comment of our clients is important to us and our team is constantly working to make our hotel even better.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back next year, please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you even more.

Sincerely
Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great staff, service, entertainment, clean room, good food! All and all a great resort! Would go back in a heartbeat! The only thing I would change is the length of time we were there. 7 days is not long enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

The Iberostar Playa Alameda Team would like to thank you that you choose our hotel for your recent vacations, and the time to share your excellent comments with us.

We are more than proud and honored to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with our great staff in our beautiful facilities. It is good to know that we are in the Wright direction with our services what we offer to our clients.

Once again thank you for your nice review, and we hope we can welcome you back in the future, do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival to assist you even more in your next vacations with us.

Sincerely

Rainer Sorko
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel

Address: Las Morlas, Km 18.5 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.