We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for under $1200” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta Hicacos Final, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for under $1200”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back from Varadero,Cuba and this is the best hotel I ever stayed in in all the times that I have been to Cuba. It is the best hotel I ever had regarding food. The only draw back is that it is located far from the city and you always need a bus or taxi to take you there. Nothing is close by other than hotels. You can take a bus for 2 peso to take you downtown or a taxi which will cost you 15-20 peso. The three restaurants a la carte were good on all occasions. The service was very good all week long in all places of the hotel. They have very good personnel in all places. I was delighted to be served by Misslady and Annie at the Gourmet restaurant. They were very enjoyable and extremely pleasant. When hotels have people such as these two they can count themselves fortunate. I never used the pool area so I have no comments for it. Not once was I bothered by noise when sleeping at night. Maybe it was because there was almost no kids in the 20 years old bracket. I would definitely return to this hotel if it were located closer to the city.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach try to stay in block 17 as it is very well located. I was in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Director General at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal like Misslady and Annie have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, good service and kindness from our staff, to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    658
    238
    131
    87
See reviews for
494
600
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we had a wonderful stay

three of us went. Rooms were clean and comfortable. As anyone on vacation will tell you, you don't spend much time in your room.The time we did spend there met all of our needs.

Our bathroom had two showers which was perfect for 3 women looking to get ready at the same time.

The beach was cleaned daily. The staff were out-of-this-world friendly. Clean pool. Great service. Delicious food at the buffet (not bland). Fun evening entertainment.

remember to bring toiletries as they are expensive (anywhere in Cuba).
Bring condoms - they are difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Director General at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that our staff has contributed to make your trip a great experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortún
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had the best vacation with our family of four. We traveled with our 2 year and 10 year old and they had a great time at the beach, the pool and the staff at the kids club were fantastic. The food was great and the staff incredibly friendly. Our daughter needed medical attention while there and the doctor and nurse onsite provided the best care. They were knowledgeable, professional and had medication delivered to the hotel and performed follow ups to ensure everything was fine. We couldn't have asked for better care. Maid service was fantastic! Many thanks Millagro for taking such good care of us. Love the hotel, many things to do!

Try the snorkelling at the reef. A short catamaran from the beach and they will take photos with you and the fish! only 20 pesos for the trip (10 for kids) and 20 for 20 photos of the experience.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: For something quieter, request a room away from the main building & theatre. We were in the 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all, here at Iberostar Playa Alameda we hope your son is feeling much better now, on a behalf of the staff and management of the Hotel We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to share your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a great experience. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

***Please keep in mind when reading this that it has been a few years since I visited here and I have heard that renovations have been done since our visit.
I traveled here with my family in 2009 and we really loved it. Not a swanky, fancy resort, if that's what you're looking for but SO friendly and pleasant and fun. The pool was lovely. The grounds were well kept and everything was clean. Food was pretty good and we never had a problem finding something that all of us liked. Staff was outgoing and fun. Loved that we could get CHEAP souvenirs right by the pool.
Only drawbacks that I can think of was that the beds were rather hard (and uncomfortable) and the rooms were a bit mildew-smelling (but that's pretty common at resorts so nothing out of the ordinary). Also, if anyone becomes ill (like my son did) and have to stay in the room we only got two TV channels (and they were both in Spanish).
I would love to see if the renovations actually happened, but unsure I would necessarily make a point to go back to this resort unless things were updated a little bit. All things considered, however, I would recommend this resort just based on the relaxed, fun atmosphere and the outstanding staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, Director General at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us. It is good to know that even after a the years our guests still have very good memories about our staff and facilities. It is a pleasure to know that our personal contributed to make your trip a great and relaxing experience. Priority in our hotel , improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. The Hotel suffered a renovation in 2010 so you will be pleased in your next visit.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda , It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not a five star in is present state.

The staff is friendly and really wants to help.

The rooms and property need some TLC. I guess this hotel is busy all the time that they can't keep up with the basic maintenance. So I think it is only a 4 star property.

The rooms on the first level do smell but they just need to be aired out and it will be fine. Bring fabreeze, LOL. The rooms are spacious with both a tub and separate shower. No elevators. The tvs had poor service. Remember to change the lights before the guests check in.

My only beef with this hotel is the paths at night to get to your rooms are not lit. Can be dangerous bring a flashlight.

The food was ok, don't like buffets always cold. The speciality restaurants were quite good, hot food.

If they can fix the rooms and keep up with the maintenance it would earn its 5th star back.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our personal have contributed to make your trip a nice experience. Priority in our hotel is, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction, so thank you very much for your feedback, we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went to this resort with my extended family (15 people) including 7 children ranging in age from 9 months (my son) to 14 years. Overall we all had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the beach, the pool and the music and activities. My room was on the third floor. It was clean and it was nice that the closet was big enough that we could put my infant son in the pack and play in the closet and close the door so he had darkness for his naps.

Note for other parents traveling with infants: the cribs the hotel offers are Graco pack and plays. There are highchairs in the buffet and other restaurants that are sturdy plastic and have trays.

Our cleaning lady was great and all the other staff we met were friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable.

We all found this resort to be very family friendly with one exception: lunch does not start till 1:00 PM and dinner does not start till 6:30 PM. This is way to late of a time for young children to eat, especially dinner (there were other snack places open for lunch earlier). Both my sister and I have young kids and we really struggled to keep them from fussing until and during dinner. Dinner at home is 5:30 and bed at 7:00 and on vacation kids are extra tired from a fun day in the sun. The line up at the door for the opening of lunch and dinner was quite a few people every time so clearing we weren't the only ones wanting to eat earlier. I highly recommend the resort start lunch and dinner 1 hour or at least 1/2 an hour earlier than they do if they want to be a family friendly resort.

Also, While we were there my son came down with an ear infection (not related to the hotel or Cuba in any way) and we had a first had experience with the Cuba medical system. The doctor at the resort was great and very caring. Guest Services and the Sunquest rep (that is who our trip was booked through) we very concerned with our son's progress through the week and made sure we had anything we needed to help him get better.

Great Family Resort overall, just start the meals earlier!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Playa Alameda We would like to thank you for choosing and trust our hotel to spend your holidays, thank you to send us your comments on your experience with us.
It is a pleasure to know that our Staff have contributed to make your trip a great experience for you and your family. Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, to obtain our guest satisfaction.
We are taking in consideration your comments about our restaurants schedules,and just for information we open a snack bar at 11:00 am and close at 6:00 pm and also the Ranchon Playa Buffet at 12:30 md, untill 4:00 pm, also for dinnner the schedules for main buffet and a la carte restaurants are from 6.30 until 10:00.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to visit us at Playa Alameda or any other Iberostar Hotel, It will be a pleasure to have you back and assist you in any request you might have
Kind Regards

Juan Pablo Fortun
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petawawa/ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

so from the start. Me my wife and six year old left from Montreal to Varadero cuba on March 10th to stay at the Playa Alameda trip was provided by sunwing. The flight there was for me not to much of an issue but from others on the plain you could see they were shocked that they dident have a the same options as they would on an air canada or other major flight company and thats in regards to the option of watching a movie. The flight consisted of 3 hours of just u looking at the seat in front of you again with a book pre packed was not a big deal.
the airport was a quick transition no issues there.
so now onto the hotel it says 5 star but its nothing more than a 3 star at best when you compare it to resorts in Mexico the states or Europe. we stayed in room 1712 which is on the 3rd floor the first day and a half we had no toilet paper and for two days there was no hot water for our room. And immediately these issues were brought to the attention of the front desk on phone and in person but took over a day for toilet paper and 2 days for hot water.
there was a slight smell of mildew in our room but nothing major another couple staying in the 1200 series building said that there room stunk extremely bad and even tried using in-scent candles to kill the smell with no joy. If you are someone who needs to watch a little tv at night before bed well if your english only then you get cnn and hbo plus and if you can understand french well you get tqs as well but your on vacation so who cares about that.
the grounds were well kept by the workers the pool area was ok for a pool have seen a lot better but its ok. there was a lot of dirt and leaves in the pool as well as cups even early in the morning when no one had even been in yet.
the resort throughout the day is very quiet unlike other resorts where there is music playing near the pool and at the beach they would only play music at the beach. or in case of a rainy day near the lobby.
the beach is nice however the sand has a lot of crushed seashells so for adults not a big deal but for your little ones just remember to have them wear there sandals on the beach. the water for this time of year was a bit cold but after a few min in the water it was ok. the winds were a bit high while we were there on a side note if you kite board this would be a good place to bring your stuff.
we had no problem getting a pool chair at the beach but if you try to get one near the pool go early.
the food at the resort was ok nothing to go running back to though. the main buffet had lots of options but it was a matter of do you wanna try it and whats gonna happen to me when i eat this. there is tons of bread though. during supper at the buffet i just stuck with the steak strips cooked in front of you on the grill. the pasta was ok and was the only thing my wife ate at the buffet. one night however my wife at the buffet picked up some shrimp to find a few black bugs cooked in her food we showed the waitress she just took it away and nothing was done to the rest of the food at the buffet stand. i tried a hamburger at the buffet once for lunch to find out the middle was still uncooked nothing major just before you go to eat the food just give it a good check over.
the booze at the resort is very strong this by the way is in regards to the rum. some of the drinks we tried were just awful. this resort needs some help in the making drinks department when i compare it to other resorts i have been to.

we went on two trips while we were here first was a jeep safari which was amazing the snorkeling got shut down do to weather but we got to swim at the Saturn cave which is a cenota and then went to a farm where you got to ride on a bull and when i say that i mean you are pulled by an old man around a tree while on the bull but you get to ride a bull which is pretty cool then you go for a short 300 meter horse ride and finish it up with a sample of suger can juice which is really good. this trip is worth taken not to expensive and you get to see the area a bit
the second trip was on a catamaran where we all got to go snorkeling, play with dolphins and then enjoy some lobster on the beach.
for both trips we opted to bring our own snorkel kit and if your child has swimming issues bring your own life jacket they do not provide. the snorkel kit yes but no life jackets.
we did a few day trips into Varadero by using the double decker bus which is located just on the main road outside the hotel for kids under 6 it is free everyone else pays 5 cuc for all day access from i be-leave 0900 to 2000. takes about 20 min to get from resort to town center where all the markets are. the restaurants down in the town are very tasty and well priced.
If you go to exchange your money dont do it at the resort they charged 82 cents for every dollar down town at the cadeca which is there bank and not hard to find gives a much better rate i got my money exchanged for about 93.
there was no issues with check out however on check out they allow you to place your luggage in a secure room and you can use all the resort amenities until you leave.
the airport has limited options of food so make sure to get a good meal in before you leave. and as well each person who travels there regardless of age has to pay 25cuc at the airport to be able to leave.
so over all coles notes on this resort
1. showing its age
2. very quite good place to read a book
3. has limited activities for kids and especially adults when rain comes its very boring
4. Food menu needs to be looked at
5. are not quick at fixing room issues

but all in all this is cuba dont expect the same food or fun activities that you would find at other resorts in different countries. A recommendation to the owner would be to take a year off fix the resort up send people to other resorts in Mexico Europe or other places other than cuba and see what makes them different. this resort could be a 4 or even 5 star resort if they just put the work into it.
anyways if you have any specific question feel free to ask

Room Tip: seems that 3rd floor rooms smell less however the lights for the stairs did not work all week for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GralManagerAlameda, General Manager at Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of Iberostar Playa Alameda, we appreciate you had chosen our Hotel for your holidays; we regret that you have not fully enjoyed our Hotel,
Priority in our hotel is the courtesy, kindness from our staff, improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction, We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points
We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and we regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and our company.
Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Fortun
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel

Address: Punta Hicacos Final, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel to your Saves list