We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Las Antillas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Las Antillas
Save
You added Melia Las Antillas to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It was a nice romantic place. Not big like the Memories. The food was very good. You just need a little bit of imagination. People working there are really nice and respectful expect for the guy from sunwing. He was really nice on the first meeting but after that, difficult to even smile or answer our questions. He sold us the wrong safari trip.
At the hotel I didn't appreciate the noise: Music often at the beach, then in the afternoon at the pool, on lunch and dinner time in the restaurants... Too much for me.
For the activities if you want something really interesting I suggest you to ask the people in charge of the kayaks to bring you to a coral place with the catamaran. You will swim for 45 minutes with thousands of fish. No music on the catamaran and only 4 people max on it. Really intersting. It's only 2 hours and you don't need to wait for the bus like you do in bigger activities. We also did the big catamaran with a stop on an island. It was ok but music again all the way. There is no bodyboard. Beach really long and nice, you can walk as much as you want, go right for a longer walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas for the first time.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed all the services at the hotel including the catamaran and for the recognition to the staff.
We are sorry you not fully enjoyed your stay because the different activities that took place at the resort and we are going to consider all your tips.
We invite you to return to Meliá Las Antillas and it would be a pleasure to meet you personally during your second stay.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    903
    375
    186
    107
See reviews for
174
1,314
90
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel was very nice, the sea was the best colour we have ever seen, the beach was clean and there were enough of shade, we where there in February. The food was ok, buffet food, we went to two restaurants they were awful, do not bother with either! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for share on this site, the positive comments about your recent stay at Meliá Las Antillas
We are glad to know that you enjoyed all our services, and your feedback about the quality of the food at the buffet restaurant. We want you to know we have made some changes in the a la carte restaurant’s menu, so, I´m confident you will appreciate it if you decide to return for a second occasion.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We didn't know what to expect from Melia Las Antillas and were pleasantly surprised!
We had read reviews,and looked at pictures, and after spending a wonderful week there would have to say it surpassed our expectations.
This was our 5th visit to Cuba and our first time at a Melia property.
The hotel was very nice , always well stocked and clean. It is showing its age , and could use a little updating , but that did not take away from the overall feel and enjoyment of the resort.
The food was the best we have ever had in Cuba - both at the A La Carte and buffet.
The resort is a nice size and was very quiet. Great grounds and a wonderful pool. The beach is beautiful!
There was lots of live music which we enjoyed. The lobby bar, roof top deck and area by the pool had entertainment through out the day and evening. We didn't watch many of the evening shows - the ones we saw were average.
We paid a little more for an ocean view room that also came with some other perks(late check out, pre booked a la carte etc)...we were very happy with that decision. Loved the view from our balcony and did spend a lot of time out there. As we had a late night flight the late check out was also nice.
As many reviews have mentioned , one of the greatest assets of this hotel is the staff. It was always great to be greeted in the morning by Dinibas(spelling?) and Thomas at the buffet. To have Raul serve us lunch, at the restaurant by pool ,with his wonderful smile and great service ! Then have Asmara (spelling?) make us her daily special cocktail to sip by the pool.
The Italian al la carte was our favorite and we had amazing service from Suset and Gerado.

There were lots of little touches that made this resort special...the music, the lovey flowers on the tables by the beach bar, the freshly pressed sugar cane juice and pig roast , the car in the lobby on "Cuba Day"...and of course the welcoming & gracious Cuban people!

We enjoyed our week very much and would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,
I wish to thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Meliá Las Antillas and to have share on this site beautiful pictures during your holidays.
We are very pleased to know that you were pleasantly surprised with all the facilities and the services.
Thanks for your recognition to the staff and for mention some of them.
Thanks for recommending us and for remark the little touches. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for two nights in February. We arrived at 6:00 am from the airport and the reception and valet were very helpful.The room was large and fairly clean. Although it did have a musty smell, once the patio door was open for a while it was fine. The bed was terribly hard and there was no vent in the bathroom. The pool and grounds looked nice, but the concrete surrounding the pool was in very bad disrepair- wear shoes or sandals. The beach is glorious, but it's a fair walk from the pool. The beach bar is in between the two and they had a nice selection of beer, spirits, and mixed drinks. The food in the buffet was never great and they served a lot of strange things. In cuba hot dogs are considered sausage and are served in the buffet at all times. We tried one a la carte and it was pretty good. The evening entertainment on the upstairs patio was good and the drinks in the lobby bar were very good. Pros: Great staff, great beach, vendors aren't pushy. Cons: Run down finishes, bad food, distance from airport. This hotel offered us good value for money, especially compared to hotels in Havana

Room Tip: Upper floor would be better as they drive a pick up truck around in the morning spraying for mosquit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Meliá Las Antillas and for your positive comments about your welcome, the room, pool, grounds and the beach.
We regret you didn´t like the food at the buffet restaurant. As you may know we receive clients for different countries, and sometimes is hard to please every client. We work very hard in this area all the time and we are happy to know you enjoyed your dinner at the a la carte restaurant.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Meliá Las Antillas and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We hope you can consider to visit us for a second time.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a great time at the hotel, did not encounter any problems. Warm and friendly staff, hospitable people. Shout out to Guillermo (who makes the best Pins colada and Mojito) , Ana (Supervisor) at the Bar by the pool, Marlyn, Claudia and Oswaldo who takes care of us at dinner (buffet) and Martha who made sure our room is neat and clean everyday. The nightly shows are amazing..our favorite is the performance by the pool (synchronized swimming) as well as the Amazing singers and dancers. Hoping to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy to know you hope to be back son with us, mainly because the staff. Thank you for all your compliments and for mention some of them.
We will be waiting for your next time and I´m confident most of the staff you had the opportunity to met are going to remember you.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel April 5-12, 2014 in room 5115. We loved every minute of it!
First of all, we read MANY Trip Advisor reviews of this resort and after spending a week there have found the bad ones to be completely inaccurate.

For starters, let Sharon and I tell you about our service “All Stars”:
Niurys - our maid
Nadilya – reception
Gentlemen with glasses – reception
Mairelys – buffet
Dinaibis – buffet
Arlenys – lobby bar
Emily & Yamila – concierge service 5th floor
Noaris – reception
Maylin – reception

Hotel:
A little old looking in some areas but nothing that some new paint and plaster can’t fix.
There is a very convenient 24 hour currency exchange service at either the kiosk or front desk after hours.
The hotel shop has a pretty good selection of stuff you might need if you forgot to bring it.

Room:
We stayed on the 5th floor (top floor) with a fantastic view of the ocean. The room was clean and had a really nice colour combination (mint green and beige). The bed was big and comfortable. And I loved the rocking chair!! It was really nice to sip your morning coffee (get it from the lobby bar) on your private balcony watching the waves roll in on the beach.
We got everything promised on the hotel’s website.
Getting a room on the 5th floor is well worth it for the free concierge service and VIP reception. (I won a bottle of rum!) They will also book or will have pre-booked your a la carte reservations without having to line up in the lobby.

Food:
We are not going to be picky self appointed restaurant critics other than to say it was very good all around. You should have no complaints. If you ARE picky, take advantage of the stations at each buffet service that will make dishes to order while you wait. The beach bar burgers are really good too.
Cuban food is only “bland” because they do not over salt it (like we do) or over sugar it (like we do).

Beach:
Gorgeous but could be cleaned better (too many cigarette butts left in the sand you smokers!!) Take advantage of the free paddleboat and Hobie Cat rides offered.

Our medical problem:
While there, Sharon developed a bad case of bronchitis (most likely brought it with her).To make a long story short, we got prompt and professional attention from a nurse on site and a doctor that was called in for a consultation. She was diagnosed and treated with meds in about 3 hours. Yes it was a bit expensive (about $260 CAN) but it was better than ending up in hospital with a bad lung infection. Sharon was back to normal in 4 days. The doctor gave us an itemized receipt of the prescriptions and services provided so she can get reimbursement from her health plan in Alberta.

But…the really nice thing was the genuine concern several staff showed for her well being after word got out she was sick. Cuba is love and Cubans know how to show love. We can learn much from them. Muchas gracias Melia Las Antillas!

Havana day trip:
Sharon and I hired Daniel and Yofren for a private tour of Havana. What a smart decision it was! These 2 gentlemen gave us a completely personalized, tailor made, entertaining, informative and safe tour of Havana for a very reasonable price. Daniel (the driver) knows every parking space and street to get around quickly and safely. He drives a licensed, clean, air conditioned government taxi (some taxis available for hire we saw were the opposite) He would wait in the car to make sure our belongings were safe and if he was walking around with us would make sure everything was locked in the trunk.

Yofren (the tour guide) is fluent in English, French and of course Spanish. (Daniel is pretty good too). He was able to answer any questions we asked in a friendly and informed manner. Both men are well educated (as many Cubans are) so they are able to tell you a lot about the history, culture, politics and economy of Cuba in general and Havana in particular. Yofren is familiar with Canadian culture as well so if you’re Canadian expect a great tour! Both men are friendly and showed up on time, smartly dressed and conducted the tour in a professional manner (some tour guides we saw were the opposite). We all had a great time and laughed a lot!

At the Romeo & Juliet cigar factory, Yofren got his friend who worked there to give us immediate and personalized service. There was huge crowd of tourists in the shop so that was much appreciated.

We give Daniel and Yofren 10 out of 10. Hire them – it will be the best decision you make while on vacation in Cuba. You may contact me through Trip Advisor for further information and for their contact phone #’s and email addresses in Cuba. Or just phone me at 403-259-4912 and leave a message. My name is Dave. A photo of the 4 of us is attached below - we are in the middle.

Tipping:
Do it! It works. What’s a 100 bucks spent on tips over 7 days. Geez– don’t complain. Just enjoy and have fun.

Entertainment:
There is a music group performing every evening outside of the lobby bar and a music and dance show at the main stage every night. Both are really good. In the afternoon there are lots of activities by the pool: pool volleyball, Cuban dance troupe, fashion show and other stuff for vacationers who have had a few beers in the sun and might have lost their inhibitions (i.e. dancing)!

Other/Tips:
The toilet paper is NOT like sandpaper – it’s just fine
If you forgot a book, there is a small reading library in the 5th floor concierge room – a nice little extra
A power converter to 110 volts is available at the front desk – just ask for it
An umbrella was provided in our room – another nice extra
Bring a travel mug – the drinks are served in small cups
There were hardly any mosquitoes or bugs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5th floor - best views and includes concierge service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for so detailed review about your stay at the Meliá Las Antillas, and for mention almost all the services and facilities that we provided, including the names of many of our staff. The name of the gentlemen with glasses at the front desk is Juan Carlos. We want to thank you too for dedicated some of your time to read the rest of the reviews on this site and to compare it with your recent stay and also for provide some tips for our potential clients.
Please feel free to contact us directly for your next occasion.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Best food in Varadero is the outstanding feature of Melia las Antillas after we have visited Cuba about 20 times over 20 years in various resorts. Improvement of cuisine suiting the taste of tourists come a long way in Cuba. There is still plenty room for improvement. Taino Buffet Restaurant staff is wonderfully friendly, like, Tomas, Ayleen, Osualdo, Miladys, Duniel, Ulises, Claudia, etc. We had grilled lobster Friday night, langouste Thursday night. Varadero beach remains one of the best easy access fine white wide and long sandy beach in the world, not over crowded nor infested with persistent peddlers. Every evening we are well entertained by singers & the band on the terrace bar. At 9;30 p.m., amusing show in the open air theater next to the pool bar & El Conuco Restaurant. Worth to try also the Romantico & El Papperone restaurants. All staff are friendly & helpful. The washrooms badly need quality paper hand towel or to replace the broken hand dryers.

Room Tip: In the main building, the higher the floor offer a better view to the ocean. One side overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciated all your comments and your reflection about the food after visited Cuba so many times. We will be happy to congratulate on your behalf the Cheff and the rest of the staff, including the waiters at the buffet restaurant.
Thank you for highlight the animation activities at nights, we are happy that you enjoyed the variety.
We also took note of your tips and we going to take some actions to solve it.
We are confident we will able to see you again at Melia Las Antillas.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four–Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with à la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Las Antillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.