We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Las Antillas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Las Antillas
Save
You added Melia Las Antillas to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Service was excellent in all areas such as buffet , bars, and snack bars. Staff are hard working and friendly. Raul from the snack bar and Ramon from the lobby bar and Thomas at the buffet are among the name I could remember. The shows specially the ballet on the pool was excellent and the dancers were great.

Room Tip: left front end of rooms are noisy water pressure on shower was low
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest,
I wish to thank you for so nice review. It is great to know you really feel impressed about the attitude of the staff and how friendly and professional they are. We will let Raul and Ramón know about your review.
Thanks for recommend us and we hope you can come back soon.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    907
    376
    186
    107
See reviews for
174
1,317
91
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just got back from a 1 week stay at the Melia Las Antilas, we also stayed at this resort in February of 2013, this was our 5th vacation in Cuba, beautiful people and country. We actually feel that the resort has improved from last year. Our rooms were clean, lots of hot water, fridge stocked daily, lots of entertainment and the staff, well what can I say, we love them. The beach is amazing, we especially connected with Miguel Anglel(Michael), life guard on the beach and also Teresa, teaching the dance lessons, they remembered us from the previous year. The staff in the buffet, excellent. We do not have anything negative to say about this resort, we think that sometimes people loss sight of why they are in Cuba, you are on vacation, be happy! We will be back, we also made some wonderful friends! The beach bar makes a great burger, we also enjoyed the pizza at the Italian a la carte from 12:30 to 2:30 each day. Thanks Melia, we had a wonderful week!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest,
It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed about your recent stay in our resort. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions and to have note the improvements we have made in the last years.
Comments like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.
I´m confident you will be able to see most of the staff on your next stay with us.
Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our first visit to an all-inclusive, but we had researched extensively before booking. We understood that the ratings in Cuba do not match those of other destinations, so things were pretty much what we expected. We chose Cuba because it was the most economical and the resort based on ratings and price. Realistically, you get what you pay for. The service was okay but nothing to rave about. We did tip, especially for our maid, but did not find that the service was any different because of it. The Sunwing rep, Douglas, was great.

The resort is small (about 300 rooms) so everything is fairly handy - a definite plus in our opinion. The grounds are lovely and there are many terraces and seating areas - something for everyone. The beach was absolutely fantastic - plenty of cabanas and chairs, and the pool area was very nice as well. This makes me sound so old, but the ridiculously loud and repetative music by the pool was annoying. There were kayaks, paddle boats, a catamaran, snorkle equipment, etc. available. We did not really take in the night life, so cannot comment on that. Others we spoke to really enjoyed the entertainment. Guests were friendly - other Canadians and Europeans.

Our room was in the main building and was always clean and comfortable. We had a problem with a rogue showerhead that was quickly repaired, the bathroom was dried and clean towels provided. There was a musty smell when the a/c was not running, but it is to be expected in this climate.

The food was plentiful - well, let's say we did not go hungry, but it was definitely bland and some of it was just unappealing. We found that the eggs or omelets for breakfast were great as were the fresh meats and fish that were grilled while you waited. Friday night is lobster night and we really enjoyed it. The breads and cheeses were good and the coffee is great. Coffee is only available in the buffet at breakfast but the lobby bar always has it available.

The bar drinks were good, but we mainly stuck to beer and rum punch. Taking insultated mugs for our drinks was perfect. We also took travel backgammon, cards, cribbage board,etc. but they have several games available where you get your beach towels if you get bored.

We took the tour to Havana on a rainy day, and although it was interesting, it was a long day spent on a bus and not worth missing out on a good beach day.

We loved our relaxing holiday and would go back to Cuba, but might try some different resorts in order to compare.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad you have chosen the Melia Las Antillas in your first experience to an all-inclusive resort. Thank you for your compliments about the gardens and beach from our hotel. We are pleased you liked. As you are referred our hotel have 350 rooms and all the facilities are very close. We also took note of your comments about the music at the pool and we will check it with the Activities Department.
We appreciate your comments and if you decide to come again to Meliá Las Antillas do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First of all, let me start by saying that we are just ordinary, non fussy people that like almost anything. GEE, where shall I begin....We arrived at the resort 5 hours late due to an oopsy at the airlines. We were greeted by the staff at the front desk at 2:15 a.m. I understand it was a long day for them but we didn't feel the love...at all. We made our way to our room which was definetly nothing you would expect in a 4.5 star. The stair bannister was so loose that if anyone leaned against it, it would not hold them. One gentleman fell into the small lagoon because of a rotten bannister. He cut his head and had a very sore body the next day. The staff did care for him immediately and gave him a free massage the next day.The room was average but very aged...cracks in the shower tile, the handle on the patio doors were hanging so it was not accessible, and after a long day, the bed was very hard. We told the staff about the door and bannister but nothing was done.The Los Tainos buffet ......well I guess we didn't go hungry, but everything we ate(except the omlets) were lukewarm or cold. Perhaps out timing was off and we didn't get the food right out of the oven. We went to 1 a la carte at El Romantico and had a stuffed chicken breast which was a very thin filet of chicken which nothing stuffed in it. After the second day we were wishing that our trip would end quickly. It was an Adults only which we have never been to. It was so quiet that it felt like we were in a geriatric ward. Norberto manned a BBQ at the beach bar and the burgers were pretty good. Marilise, waitress at the buffet, was charming, funny and personable. The evening shows were very colorful with lots of talent. The music ( which we found by word of mouth) by the main bar on the rooftop was excellento!!!! We spent most of our evenings with new friends there. The drinks were plentiful but not great. The Disco.....well...my husband and I love to dance. The DJ would play anything we asked for But the floor was so sticky that is was difficult to cha cha, salsa or jive.
THANKFULLY we met some awesome new friends that made our stay very fun and entertaining. The great news was the Catamaran trip to Cayo Blanco was probably the most entertaining that we have ever been on. The food was good and Hot! The lobster was delicious(and we are from Atlantic Canada were lobster is as good as it gets). The Cat's crew were great and very interactive with the passengers. Games were abundant with never a dull moment. 5 out of 5 for them!!!!Our last evening at the buffet was grilled lobster and very, very tasty.
Our resort beach was spectacular, the sand was powder and the sun was HOT HOT HOT!
I guess you can't compare Country to Country but a 4.5 star in Mexico is a 4.5 star. Will we return??? No. I would not recommend this resort to any of our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "bungalow" in the 64 block, third floor, room 6432, garden view and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Melia Las Antillas.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed most of our services, mainly the evening shows, the music at the bar terrace and even the disco. We want also to thank you complimentary comments about the staff and for referring some of them such as the DJ, Norberto at the Mojito´s Bar and Marilise at the buffet restaurant, however, we regret for not fulfill your expectations with the animation activities. We thought you refer the day animation because we feel you enjoyed it at nights. We are also going to analyze your comments about the front desk staff at nights and the bed at your room. We kindly inform you that the stair bannister is already fixed and we thank you for mentioning that our staff did care of the situation immediately.
It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reddeer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just got back from a two week stay at the melia las antillas,our first time to Cuba but definitely not our last. The staff is excellent !! Entertainment staff,Dee, Alberto, Chino ,Teresa ,Hernan(nacho) all made our vacation one that was very memorable! Norberto makes a great burger at the beach!,Yamira at the buffet( a pleasant and warm smile every morning) john dany at the egg station,Ramon and yaini at the lobby bar( by the way makes the best piña colada!) so many more to mention!! Room was nice and clean every day,never had a problem getting water ,Thank you Lourdes!! Resort was very nice ,will absolutely return here .....met too many Great People not too!! beaches are amazing!! Thank you All for an Absolutely Great Vacation!!

Room Tip: We had rm.6432 in one of the bungalows was close to everything and very quiet building.lourdes our m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Melia Las Antillas on your first trip to Cuba. We are glad to know that you enjoyed an awesome two week vacation and to know you got a very good impression of our staff. They will be very happy to read your review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for the second time
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff and location really make this resort a great place to stay. Yamira at the Los Tainos buffet, Orlando at the snack restaurant and Norberto at the burger stand are exemplary employees who go above and beyond! It's a short ride on the double decker bus to town-$5 to hop on hop off all day, or even more fun if you take the coco taxi-$12 one way. We found the entertainment by the pool is lacking but had fun playing beach volleyball and plenty of hobie cats, kayaks and peddle boats for everyone. The food in the buffet is quite good, but needed more variety from day to day. Great as far as Cuba goes though. We found our meals at the a la carte Romantico fabulous. Loved having a late night drink on the terrace overlooking the resort. Most of all, the beach is amazing!!! Best beach I've encountered anywhere in the carribean! Overall a great place if you're looking for a quiet week, but a little too quiet for us(in our late 30's/40's) at night once the evening entertainment ended at 10:30.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
We are deeply pleased that you have come to Melia Las Antillas and to know that you had a great experience.
We also want to thank you for your comments about the staff and we are really glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the nearest attractions.
Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's a very good hotel for non child people. Service is very well in the Bars, maybe the guy on the Beach is a little bit lazy. But still, he couldn't ruine our vacation ;-)
But, I have to say, the food was Excellent all days. I think, still is a lot of good foodsI didn't catch to eat.

Room Tip: I think, all rooms are good, but e.g., we have room close to the main bar in the main building and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Meliá Las Antillas. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the adult’s only concept, as well as the gastronomic selection. We also took note about the service at the beach bar.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Meliá Las Antillas and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We hope you can come return soon.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four–Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with à la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Las Antillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.