We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vaca Rosada

La Vaca Rosada
Calle 21 no.102, Varadero 42200, Cuba
+53 45 612307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Varadero
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my boyfriend December 2011. We were out in the late evening for a moped ride and found this gem! It's on the second floor of a building over looking the street and they have candles lit on all the tables and xmas lights hanging around. The staff were extremely helpful and personable. We ordered pizza with wine. It came quickly and tasted great! I have to say, when i'm in Cuba, I don't eat the cheese, i hate the taste but this cheese was very good and the crust was excellent! I would recommend everyone step away from the resort for a night and check this out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverCano21, Propietario at La Vaca Rosada, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. This will help us improve our service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    20
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went for a meal at this restaurant recently as we saw that it was rated number 1 on trip advisor.

The staff were friendly but we were not impressed with the food. The shrimp cocktail was very poor.

We had steak for the main course. The vegetables were cold and the steak was just luke warm.

The restaurant isn't in a great location as its in a residential area and a bit far from "The main drag"

I wouldn't return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverCano21, Propietario at La Vaca Rosada, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are awfully sorry about your disappointment . Thanks for your honest comments. This will help us improve so in the future there will be a better service and quality. If you change your mind and return to our place you won't regret it. Yours truly, the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Varadero :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Well hats off to the cook, bartender (Wilfredo), servers and owner. We visited the restaurant as we had a parcel for Wilfredo, well the menu was so amazing we had dinner and drinks.. The best Pina Colada ever :) along with the dinner. I was so delicious we went back with friends we met at the resort for dinner out last night in Varadero. Prices are excellent ! We have passed on several business cards to people at the resort we stayed at. If you are in Varadero it is a MUST !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverCano21, Propietario at La Vaca Rosada, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks a lot...this will help us improve our service...Thanks...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The very best location in Varadero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were staying in a Casa right around the corner, so we could see it from there.
From the outside it looked just as sweet as it was from the inside (actually you're Sitzung in the roof of a normal house).
Everything was perfect and clean. Prices were reasonable (I doubt you can find cheaper Cocktails or food as good as here anywhere else on the island), food was super delicious and everyone working there was motivated to be quick and helpful (unlike many other restaurants in Varadero).
Our absolute favorite and worth a visit (or two)!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EverCano21, Propietario at La Vaca Rosada, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. hope to have you here again as soon as possible. With your opinion i have the responsability to keep on giving a good service. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Two couples visited the restaurant in October, our first time ,their second. Very pleased with the food, the staff and Ever, the owner. As noted in other reviews Ever is always around and checking on food and service.
We enjoyed great apps, try the Oriental butterfly, wine by the glass or bottle, and fantastic mains. Dinner for 4 was approximately 60CUC.
The weather was great, we dined al fresco but if it is rainy there are many spots inside as well. The restaurant was very clean in all regards. Definitely on our list when we return to Varadero.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Rosada also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to La Vaca Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vaca Rosada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.