We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Tainos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Tainos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Tainos
Save
You added Iberostar Tainos to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Morlas, Km. 12.5 | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Taber, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Iberostar Tainos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just got back from this resort and taking a group of 33 with us for our wedding not one person we were travelling with had any complaints. The staff is incredible, resort is clean, food was fantastic, the shows were great, we were truly treated amazing by all the staff the size of the resort was great 3 minutes walking distance to anywhere on the resort small enough that the staff knew you by name by day 3. Bar service was so fast, wedding cordinator was so helpful we would love to go back.......Thank you Tainos staff you make this a 5 star to me at a 4 star price.......

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalows and loved the convenience of everything. Never felt so safe at a resort or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Michelle C,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Wedding. It was with a great pleasure to read your review and complimentary comments.
We look forward to your return to Iberostar Tainos and I wish you all the best.

Wishing you a great day,

Remaining at your disposal

Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    940
    320
    117
    85
See reviews for
777
1,113
73
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We really did have a fantastic vacation at this property which we stayed at for two weeks in January 2013. The rooms are quite basic but clean. The amenities, staff, and food were excellent!!! Janice and Richard

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool, and we found this location to be ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Janice I,

Thank you for giving us and other readers of Trip Advisor your very positive comments. I am glad to know that you have perceived the true essence of our hotel.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Tainos and I remain at your entire disposal,

Kind regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

OMG. If you are considering going to the Tainos, don't. If you have any option to upgrade to a better resort, do it. We read the reviews and, having been to 2 other Iberostars, booked the Tainos. This resort is a disgrace to the Iberostar name. We wouldn't rate this any higher than a 2 star for Cuba.
We are campers and don't mind roughing it or waving off imperfections, but this was incredibly dirty and some of the staff very unprofessional and down right lazy.
We arrived on Jan. 25th at around 11:30 and were greeted by a mature dark haired lady at the front desk who was very nice. Our bags were stored as our room wouldn't be ready until 1:30. We headed down to the beach and grabbed a couple of chairs. Within 5 minutes, there were people coming right up off the beach trying to sell us stuff. No security here at all on the beach and non visible on the grounds.
The bags usher was an older man who was very helpful and friendly, who met us at the front desk at 1:30 to take us to our bungalow room in section 22, second floor. He raved how nice the room was and took us up. We went in and what a blow! The room was filthy. The curtains were ripped, dirty and hanging off the rods. The patio door didn't close or lock but there was a chain lock. Balcony was l-shaped with a table and 2 chairs. The windows were dirty with fingerprints as were all the mirrors in the room. The bedspread was dirty with plenty of DNA and had blood stains on it as well as the towels that they had used to display the "towel art" on the bed. The inside of the shower was faded and dirty, as was the shower curtain. Even the bath mat had blood stains on it and the towels that were in the bathroom had dirt and blood stains on them as well. The toilet was dirty and stained inside. The floor still had remnants of what appeared to be someone else's urine on the floor. The bathroom window was secured by one screw and trimmed with black mold. The trim around the room hadn't been scrubbed in quite some time, the floors were dull with build up and the walls were streaked with dirt. You wouldn't even want to touch the air conditioning control unit. There was a vase of dead flowers on the desk and the desk drawers had about a 1/4 inch of dust in them. To top it off, our Tablet disappeared out of the safe and we were only there for 24 hours. I didn't want to look at the mattress but the sheets also had dirt stains on them and the pillows too, with blood stains as well. The mattress itself was old and we could feel the springs sticking into us. Needless to say, we didn't get a good sleep.
The next morning, we went to breakfast. Took a walk over to the gym to check it out. Walked in and one of the employees was laying down on the couch as we entered. Didn't offer assistance or say anything so we went up the stairs to the so called gym. A danger in itself. No wonder there was an inch, yes an inch, of dust on the equipment. Everything was very old, dirty and appeared unsafe. The treadmill was ripped about 6 inches at the seam. Great! Took a walk around the grounds. The shrubbery was kept manicured but all the ponds at the front and back of the main building were empty of water and dirty. The lobby cushions were stained and there we sat waiting for the Sunwing Rep to see if he could get us out of there. Janel (?) was surprised at our comments and offered to give us another room. We asked if we could be transferred over the the Iberostar Laguna Azul where we stayed 2 years ago. He made some calls and made it happen for an extra $300. We paid him and went back to our room to pack up our stuff, The cleaning staff were just leaving. I looked around and it looked like they bleached the bathtub, threw a few towels in the bathroom, and left. Yes, the urine stains were still on the floor in the bathroom. We immediately checked out and grabbed a cab to the Iberostar Laguna Azul (I did a separate review for this resort - FANTASTIC RESORT!). It wasn't until we were unpacked there that we noticed that our Tablet was missing. We checked the safe twice before leaving the room at the Iberostar Tainos and it was not there. No use pursuing the matter, it was long gone. The safe at the Tainos works via a card, similar to the door key, that works for the safe and the door. Not very secure. At least our Blackberry, that was in a separate camera case and our passports were still there.
Very disturbing experience overall to say the least. I can't stress enough that if you have plans to go here, talk to your travel agent or Sunwing Rep and change over to another hotel.
I have posted some pictures of the Tainos to show you just how gross it was.
A huge thank you goes out to Sunwing who made our vacation a better one. This was our first time travelling with Sunwing and won't be our last.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear bignfnirishman,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Tainos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights following 3 nights in Havana at the beginning of December. We chose this hotel after reading all the positive comments on trip advisor - we were not disappointed. It was everything we had hoped for. The room (bungalow) was spacious and very clean. The gardens and pool were kept in excellent order. All the staff were very kind and helpful. In the restaurant we were always welcomed by smiling, happy staff. A special thank you to Beatriz and Yanet who looked after us in the restaurant and always made sure our wine glasses were topped up! Both a credit to the hotel. The food was excellent, always something to suit everyone, even the fussiest of eaters I am sure would have had no problem. We ate in the Japanese restaurant a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The eveing entertainment in the theatre was very good. A different them every night. The staff at this hotel are well trained in customer service and work very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay. The only negative thing I can say is we love spending the day on the beach, but the sun loungers were so old and uncomfortable we spend more time by the pool. This would be so easy to rectify. All in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear KittyYorkshire,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments. Regarding the Sun loungers, we already have new ones in place.
Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come again to our Iberostar Tainos for a bit more pampering.

kind Regards,
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajax
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went to this resort in December it was awesome, the staff was very nice, remember your name which to me is good customer service,the rooms was very clean and the food was OK for Cuba, the shows at nights was amazing, love Elvis, and Micheal, I will go back to this resort and highly reccomend it

Room Tip: Over looking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear maxth,

Thank you for giving us and other readers of Trip Advisor your very positive comments. I am glad to know that you have perceived the true essence of our hotel.
We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Tainos and I remain at your entire disposal,

Kind regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This March 2013 will be our 9th year going to Tainos - we LOVE this place. The food, the people, the service - everything love love love!!!!
The beach is beautiful and tehre is lots to do - its a family resort but they have so many activities for kids you rarely hear them - its so relaxing here a true holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear sally284,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Tainos for the past 9 years and for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Looking forward to host you again in March!

Warmest regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were at the Tainos in March 2012 and had a fabulous time; we met my sister and her family there and stayed in one of the poolside bungalows, which was a great central location. The rooms were clean and bright, the staff friendly, the beach and activities fabulous and the food was fine, a good variety to choose from. We are all booked again this March and hope to once again stay in one of the bungalows and are looking forward to another wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at Iberostar Tainos, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Beverley R,

We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Tainos for your vacation and that you have encountered our service and installations amazing.

Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family next march!.

Warmest regards
Alberto Herrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tainos

Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5 | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#11 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Tainos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.