We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Mary y Angel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Mary y Angel
Calle 44 entre 2da y 3ra Avenida, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Varadero B&B and Inns
Simcoe, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night, February 3, 2013 because we had given Casa Betty y Jorge a wrong reservation dates. Jorge y Betty emailed us saying that they had contacted Mary y Angel and they had room for us there! The casa network is amazing!!
Anyway, we had a lovely comfortable room for the night with a hot shower, wonderful after the trip from Toronto. In the morning, we had a lovely breakfast and met Alex (trained for 5 years as a dancer in Havana!), who looked after us and ensured we had what we needed.
Our brief stay was lovely and a great introduction to the casas in Cuba!
You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My Wife and I have had the privilege of staying with Mary and Angel in March of 2012 and again this past February. I could not think of staying anywhere else. From our first meeting they have enriched our lives. Not only with their friendship but also the amazing food dishes that they prepare. One of the biggest complaints that you continually here about Cuba is about the food in many of the resorts, you will not be disappointed in this home. The rooms are impeccably clean!!! Their home is only a block from the beach where you can purchase a lawn bed for $2.00 per day from one of the locals. Their location is very central but away from the hustle and bustle of resort life. In the area there are several great restaurants should you choose to dine out(our favorite is Nonna Tina). My wife and I are big fans of dining at the house and dine out usually only a couple of times during our stay. In the past year they have included in their staff an amazing individual named “Alex” who speaks several languages and is well versed in English. Our lives have been truly enriched with the friendship of Mary, Angel , their daughter Giselle and Isidro their Son and of course “Alex”. We Love you all and miss you daily. Your Friend Mango Man.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the home of Mary and Angel in January 2013. Their home is located a short distance from a lovely beach. We enjoyed the separation from the main tourist area with large resorts. Their inner courtyard was an oasis providing a relaxing space after a long day on the beach. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The meals were generous and delicious. We are grateful for their hospitality and support when we learned that our furnace in our New York home stopped working and required frequent communication with our house sitters. We had seriously considered ending our vacation and returning home. Angel, spoke to us in a manner as one might an old, dear friend and encouraged us to continue with our vacation, reminding us that vacations boost our well-being. We did continue our vacation in Cuba and have many lasting and memorable stories. Thank you Angel, Mary, Alex and their family - Henri Speilman & Rosland Waller

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are experienced world travelers who have stayed in hostels across the globe. Mary, Angel and Alex really go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. I would rank it up in the top 10% of places we have stayed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the showers are hot, the courtyard is cool and inviting, and the food is better than the local restaurants. The hostel is central to everything, and the beach is only a block away. If and when we go back to Cuba, we will definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dear traveller,

It is a great pleasure for me to share my opinion about Mary and Angel's wonderful home in Varadero, Cuba. I spent 2 weeks in May and 11 days in December of 2012 at this lovely and homey place.

The conditions are excellent in every possible way. Loving, safe and friendly environment. We enjoyed the exquisite food, especially the typical Cuban food they will cook for you if you feel adventurous to try new flavours. Vibrant people, colorful decor, positive energy surrounding every part of the home.

You will not want to leave this place ever. It is a great experience.

Yuleisy Ojeda.

Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We loved staying Mary and Angel, they are so very warm and friendly! We felt like family. Alex was terrific, always smiling and taking such wonderful care of us. The rooms very amazingly clean,and the shower the best in Cuba. We spend many an hour relaxing and enjoying the courtyard. The food was delicious, Mary is an excellent cook .

We found Veradero a little too touristy for our tastes, but the beach was very beautiful. We were rather shocked to be cheated at the grocery store in the commercial center, watch out for the staff using a calculator rather than the cash register, not scanning items and no price tags on the shelves. It will mean they are overcharging you! Mary suggested asking for a receipt with each purchase and they were very upset about this scam. Other than this we really enjoyed our stay with Mary and Angel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this casa a couple of nights. The room was large and clean. Nice place. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. We travelled by bike around cuba and we could store our boxes there for over three weeks until we returned. What a service.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Mary y Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mary y Angel

Address: Calle 44 entre 2da y 3ra Avenida, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Mary y Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa de Mary y Angel to your Saves list