We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible week, and a beautiful wedding!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Peninsula Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Save
You added Melia Peninsula Varadero to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Saskatoon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An incredible week, and a beautiful wedding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I were married at the Tryp Peninsula in Varadero, Cuba on February 12th, 2010. We had picked this resort upon the recommendation of our travel agent.....we had both been on a few trips (not together) and prefer an all inclusive resort like this one. We wanted a wedding where everything was handled by the wedding co-ordinator.....and we were very glad we went with her recommendation. The resort is incredible....you will read bad reviews and good reviews....when we read them ourselves prior to our trip, we were a little worried that we had picked a resort for us and all our guests, that wouldn't meet our requirements. Knowing that everyone was spending quite a bit of money to fly all the way over there to see us get married, we were concerned we had made a bad choice when we read a few reviews that complained. However, we had not one single complaint about the Tryp. The resort itself was one of the nicest ones we had seen out there....the vegetation was unbelievable. This resort is spread out....plantation style. If you have a hard time walking, physical wise, this may not be the resort for you. There are numerous golf carts running around that will pick you up.....but it's still quite a bit of walking to do. The food was very good....we never had anything that we didn't like. You will find there are things you have never seen before....if you don't like to try different things, there are many other choices there to appease your appetite. As for the complaint of people not getting good service without having to tip, we never once found that. The Cuban people are very friendly, happy, eager to serve you and to keep you happy there. We ended up tipping well because of the service. Being a bride and groom, you are treated literally like a king and queen. They even had a beautiful catered dinner just for honeymooners, and us (we were the only couple getting married on the resort that week), were we had THE best lobster I have ever had. As for our wedding....wow! I could not have asked for anything to be any different....they let us choose where we wanted to be wed....we chose a courtyard outside our room, with a large metal birdcage...they decorated it exactly how we wanted it....played beautiful music....and Deneb, our wedding co-ordinator ended up marrying us do to a delay to the magistrate coming. It was perfect!!!! We had the horse drawn carriage....we hired the photographer (you will see some pics on here), we picked the International A-La-Carte restaurant for our wedding dinner. They had it closed to everyone else for 2 hours and we had the complete attention of the staff as well as a 3 man band playing music for our reception dinner. I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed the wedding....the week, everything. It was colder than we had thought it would be....in fact my husband and I wished we had taken more than just a sweater. The days were nicer, but it cooled down considerably at night. Out of 1 week, there was probably 3 hot days....the rest were mild, with one being down right cold. That was the day we took the tour into Havana....highly recommended. As for the bites....yes, we got them too. We never saw anything that we attributed the bites too, but once we got back to Canada, one of our guests went to the doctor. They were sandflea bites....they took weeks to go away. One way to avoid these was to spray bug spray on, which we hadn't done, considering we never saw any? Don't be like us...spray. We are glad we chose this way of getting married...however, our travel agent made a few mistakes that frustrated us in the end. Prior to leaving for Cuba, she asked if either of us had been married before...I had. She said there would be a 'little' bit of homework ahead of time...in fact, there was 3 seperate trips to a notary public to get the proper paperwork to appease the Cuban Consulate in Canada (including $768.00 instead of the original $350.00 mentioned) before they sent all the translated documents required to be wed there. She had also told us our marriage certificate would be delayed.....4 - 6 weeks after the wedding. We figured that was nothing. THAT was wrong however...we now know it will be at least 6 months. Had we known that, we may have considered getting married in Canada and honeymooning there..... All in all though....it was worth it. The Tryp is beautiful, the country is incredible......and the people are so friendly. We would highly recommend this!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    1,070
    546
    279
    150
See reviews for
1,100
958
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I dont know whyyyyyyyyyy people complain so much
almost made me cancell my trip
but let me put it thes way i JUST LOVE IT
you go in a cottage up north in toronto i'm saing for the long weekend first you need a full tank to go second you spend 350.00.-400.00cad for the cattage only per two day nothing included plus up noth mosquitso eat you alive and no complaint
but for a 700.00-800.00CAD 1WEEK ALL INCLUSIVE WITH AIRFARE TO .....to many complains
wat's wrong with you people

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

If you have some valuables or items you value, DO NOT leave them in the room. We had our prescription eyeglass with the prescription sunglasses in them dissapear from our room, another couple had a $40 hat stolen from the room, another one had his camera and ipod stolen from their room. We had black mold in our bathroom and the buffet had the same food every day. One night one of the maids was even seen handing a bag of beer over the fence to the construction workers working on a resort next door. You could not even take a walk at night or early in the morning without the construction workers asking you for shampoo, soap, etc...
For a five star resort I would not rate it any higher than a two or three at best.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

None of the reviews prepared me for the torture of insect and mosquito bites that I endured on our one week stay in late May.
I was not alone and hope that others also make the effort to post this warning.
The insect bites aggravation appeared to be prevelant only at this hotel but the mosquitoes graze far and wide!! See posted photos which don't do justice to the severity... My husband escaped fairly unscathed, but I and many others definitely did not. This despite liberal application of the advised lotions and potions!
The nudges and stares of others, I can sympathise with The Elephant Man.

Regarding the hotel itself...
The gardens really are gorgeous and the staff generally super attentive and friendly.
The pools are excellent. Also this is probably the best tended beach amongst those hotels around. We were unable to sample the available watersports due to the windy weather and roughish seas, however there was plenty on offer.
The gym is fine. There are even staff to help and advise with the equipment. However, some equipment is out of action.
Our room was somewhat tired and would have been very spacious if they'd removed the redundant spare bed.
It was always cleaned well but the mini bar was not always restocked and it's only 1 bottle of water, 2 soft drinks and 1 beer to do..........
I did account for a couple of cockroaches though....
We found the food fine enough. Many others didn't and there was often shortages or a total lack of. The Early Bird was the way to go. There could also be problems with flies about the buffet and a few people were on anti-diarrhoeal medication.
We were not told at any stage of our booking that the Main Buffet Restaurant was closed for refurbishment.....I wonder why????
The food at the 2 a la carte restaurants was a disappointment. The staff though were brilliant and you have to smile and say the food was good.....Thankfully these restaurants were air conditioned.

The Havana overnight was a "must do" trip and at the Tryp Habana Libre hotel we had a fantastic view fom the 18th of 24 floors. The food here was also better too.
None of the trips are cheap...Try checking ahead on line......
Varedero is not the real Cuba. Havana is clearly more about Cuba than tourism, but a bit of a shock too.

We did however have a good holiday, largely thanks to meeting some lovely people of all nationalities.
However based on us being an "all inclusive fare" for mozzies and bugs we cannot recommend this hotel.
Based upon some reviews you can hardly credit that the same hotel is being described!!
Some people will whinge about anything, so read with an open mind. Most people are too apathetic to bother leaving any review at all. There are elements of truth in most of the reviews. We chose to travel to this hotel based on the positive reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean and the staff, with very few exceptions are just so nice and happy in their work. Some of the receptionists need to be a lot more friendly and polite. Customer services were fine unless you complained! A bad case of stomach upset from the a la carte italian restaurant was treated with complete disregard and I am still awaiting a reply to my compalint! The food hygiene standards were very poor once the main buffet restaurant closed for major refurbishment and only after massive amounts of complaints for 3 days was anything done about it. The 24 hour snack bar closed without notice several times; had no chips for 3 days and no brandy for 2. Extremely hot but no umbrellas round pool area for shade.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at the Tryp Peninsula Varadero from 4 September 2009 for two weeks. My fiance and I had an absolutely wonderful time at the hotel. Please do ignore the bad reviews - some people are never happy. The hotel is set in beautiful, lush gardens - do tip the gardeners as they work incredibly hard out in the hot sun all day. We were given a room close to the beach which was a great location - the beach was gorgeous, silky white sand. The sea is turquoise and completely clear. The accommodation buildings are plantation style, not a block of concrete in sight, unlike all of the other hotels along the peninsula! The rooms were spacious and clean - the maid left a fantastic towel arrangement every day for us, making it a pleasure to go back to the room! The amenities at the hotel were great; lovely pool area, although I can't comment on the children's pool as I didn't venture to that end of the resort. There is a nightclub at the hotel, although it was empty when we were there - the resort was very quiet in September which we loved! We would have liked a bit more going on in the nightclub. They do a lot of shows, although unfortunately we never went to watch any of them. With hindsight I wish we had! We paid extra for the couples dinner which we had on the bridge behind the lobby area which was fabulous. Highly recommended as you can pick wherever you would like to have the meal just the two of you.

There was some construction work happening next to the Tryp, but it honestly isn't noticeable at all. The food is good, just what you would expect from an all inclusive resort, although was a little repetitive, as expected. The staff at the hotel are all wonderful - incredibly friendly and helpful.

There are a number of day trips that can be booked - I would recommend Cayo Blanco. It is so beautiful, so much so that my partner chose the island to propose. The Havana trip was worthwhile, great to see the city and wasn't too long a day. The party at Al Capone's house was also a lot of fun. We did the three cities trip (Cienfuegos, Santa Clara and Trinidad) - it was brilliant to see all three cities, particularly Santa Clara, although it was an extremely long and tiring day, leaving at 6am and not arriving back at the hotel until 9.30pm. Most of the day was spent on the coach.

Overall we had a fabulous time in Cuba at the Tryp Peninsula. We booked the holiday and flew with Thomas Cook. The rep was great.

Feel free to email me on emma_864@msn.com if you have any questions.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe NB
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Just arrived yesterday stayed at the Tryp May 6 to 13 2010. I've travelled to over 12 different all inclusives in Cuba, DR, Mexico and Jamaica ranging from 3 to 5 stars. This resort by far was the worst for food and drinks.The room was nice, but found two dead cockroach. I know that it's not all about food and drinks, but when there nothing much to choose from to eat, it's pretty disappointing. The main buffet was closed, so we only had a make shift buffet that had very little choices. And we only had two a la carte reservation in the week. My husband was sick after eating at one of the a la carte restaurant. The drinks were very bad.

Explorerdan from Dieppe NB

The grounds were nice and the beach was nice also. Bring your own toilet paper and you don't always get some in your room. Also, you're supposed to get water, beer and soft drinks in your fridge. We got water, but for the rest, the maid would take some out of our fridge instead of putting some in, weird!!!!

Staff are very friendly, grounds and beach are very nice. But if you book this resort and expect a 4.5 you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Peninsula Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.