We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeep tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour

Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour
Avenida 1ra /Calles 26 y 27 Playa de Varadero Cuba, Varadero, Cuba
045-614884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 activities in Varadero
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Armstrong, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jeep tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Too much driving. Loved the cave. Not a bad lunch. Tour guide was great very funny. The boats were allot of fun. Enjoyed watching people hold the alligator and snake.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    20
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“FUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have taken this tour twice now. The first time we went was in December a few years ago and our second time was just at the beginning of their spring.

You drive the jeep and it is a standard. We also got to a motor boat.

Some comments and tips:
The first time we went, we found out too late that we should have paid extra to have a jeep to ourselves. The backseat has very little to no leg room. You have a much more comfortable ride by just going with one other person vs the standard 4 people per jeep.

In December, you run the risk of not being able to go snorkelling to see the coral or driving a motorboat due to weather conditions. Our trip in December resulted in us only being able to enjoy snorkelling in a cave and a larger boat ride on the river. The one restaurant they take the tour to for lunch in a local park was also closed so we went to a farm close by to enjoy horse back riding (in a circle) and paddle boating.

In April, we got to experience everything. The snorkelling site was busy so we went to the caves first, which were quiet and went back to the snorkelling area after. I wanted to go diving where we snorkelled as it was so pretty and lots of things to see. Driving the motorboat in the jungle was lots of fun. Due to us driving back and forth between the caves and Playa de Coral we missed the crowds at lunch and at the boating area. We did get back fairly late though so I recommend if you are booking restaurants at your hotel to pick a later time 7:30 or 8:00 to be safe on the day you do this trip.

The trip is very busy and does book up quickly. We went on a day that did not have a lot of people booking on - not sure why - they had at least two jeep tours going and I got the impression there are usually more. Our guide didn't want us to line up so made a quick decision at Coral Beach.

Also be prepared for driving through a couple of town sites; one you go through twice. Kids stand by the side of the road looking for coins from tourists. I took some toys but at least one of the young boy did not look impressed with getting a toy and his mom looked angry at him. He was not school age yet and it may be that his parents rely on the money he can get by waving at the side of the road to tourists. My recommendation is either give nothing, or have toys and some coins so you can give 1 or 2 pesos to a few of them. You do need to consider everyone in Cuba makes the same amount of money - around 15 pesos a month. The staff in the all inclusive hotels make more due to the tips and gifts tourists give. The people in these towns are looking also to participate in this extra income.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We saw some country that we would never had seen, so this was a wonderful experience for that reason alone!
They have everything perfectly planned and they make sure everyone is comfortable and having fun. (1 of the girls in our car isnt a strong swimmer, so when we were snorkelling, her hand was held the entire time so she could enjoy it too!)
It wasnt the offroading we were expecting (being from Canada, we were expecting trails in the forest, but it was more like backroads between farms!) We arent complaining though, we saw some beautiful country!
The lunch they provided was wonderful!
All around, it was a great day!
Hint: Spend the 25 pecos on the DVD at the end! It is great!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Just good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The weather was not favorable that day.

Quality price was very good. See the wild side of Varadero, see the villages was extremely nice. We were unable to appreciate the Corals because of the weather . Saturno cave was panoramic but not ok to dive. The aboriginal dance after the boat ride was extremely nice. The farm was good but the food was at most average.

Overall all it would be a very good opportunity to do this excursion in a sunny and lovely day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too Many People!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our tour guide Juan Carlos was great! The experience was good and we don't regret having went, however I just felt as though there were too many people... Too many tours all going to the same place at the same time. The caves were very cool and I was really looking forward to swimming in them but by the time that the huge line of tourists reached the bottom of the cave, most of the time allotted for our stay at the caves was gone, and there were so many people trying to jump in and get out at the same time that it would have taken several more minutes to get in the water, then there were so many people in the water that there would barely have been room to explore. We only had half an hour at this stop and it wasn't enough time if you actually wanted to swim because of the huge line-up and everyone jammed together into way small of a space!
Our jeep ran great and was in very good condition. Since we were in a group of two we had to share our jeep with two other people which was fine because then we didn't have to drive and we could better absorb our surroundings. I liked seeing the way that the Cubans live and the country side. The food was good and the waitresses were awesome. Nowhere on the tour had toilet seats so just prepare haha, also, bring your own toilet paper.. although you can buy it before you get in at most places.
Snorkeling on the reef was so much fun and the guys who took us out were really good at what the do. The reef was beautiful and the only complaint I have is again, soo many people! In the water it was better because the ocean is a big place (unlike the caves that everyone was squished into). There were lots of shops around the ocean to buy souvenirs but once we were out of the water we had to immediately get going to the next place. It would have been nice to have a little more time to check things out!
The only place that we weren't rushed was at the ranch, but in my opinion we had TOO much time there, I live on a ranch and found that there really wasn't much to do except play with the goats, which I had fun doing anyway.
The catamaran was nice and relaxing and we got some sun sitting on the top. The river was very pretty. Bring small money for tips and bring candy or small toys etc for all of the cute kids that run out to the tour to wave as your drive past!
My sister and I had fun on this tour and enjoyed the day. Everything was all in all quite good and we definitely don't regret having gone. i wouldn't go again if I were to return to Varadero but it is a good one time experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jeep Safari Yumuri day tour to your Saves list