We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delfinario

Delfinario
Carretera Las Morlas, Varadero, Cuba
+53 5 668031
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Attractions in Varadero
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved being able to swim with the Dolphins but like many reviews before I am not sure how well they are kept.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    380
    208
    72
    52
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“shabby scary place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

if you have been to a delfinarium before there is nothing for you here, dolphins don't perform any tricks that will wow you

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sault ste marie
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad.. not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

its pretty small.. there was a dolphin show and also a place for you to go in the water with the dolphins.. they kiss you if you want.. you can buy a photo of that as well

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We originally went because we could NOT opt out for the catamaran tour- we didn't want to support the captivity of the dolphins but were actually surprised at the facility. The dolphins obviously not only enjoyed but loved to preform and the space for the animals was respectable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall the show was very well done. It's easy to get to by bus or taxi. Price was 15 CUC for adults and 5 CUC for kids.

The seating area is covered so you don't have to sit in direct sunlight during the show.

The water was pretty dirty so if you want to swim with dolphins you might want to try the other option mentioned in some of the earlier reviews.

The dolphins did some pretty impressive tricks and there were some pelicans and other birds hanging around looking for scraps that provided some comic relief too. The show was a little shorter than I was anticipating but not to the point where you felt like you were getting ripped off or anything like that.

The only complaint I had was the PA system. During the show I saw it was turned up so loud that I could barely understand the MC most of the time, and I was sitting almost as far from the speaker as you can be.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfinario also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Delfinario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfinario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.