We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GOOD BAD ABD UGLY....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naviti Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naviti Varadero
Save
You added Naviti Varadero to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, km 11, Varadero, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Allegro Varadero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE GOOD BAD ABD UGLY....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just got back from Cuba at 4am this morning. We had a wonderful time except that the rooms need to be updated. If you can get by this part it was great.. The entertainment was the worst we seen comparing to other resorts the last 3 years. We went on the Jeep excursion it was a blast.. BUT we bought the video PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY... they let you believe that you are in the video well you are NOT.. it is a video of cuba and the other is music.. there is NO pictures of you at all..... I AM NOT PLEASED by this as they charge you 25cuc for the video ...the beach was VERY dirty ...but we stayed by the pool.. I really think that the staff should really try and clean the grounds a bit more..the food was good bland but good. the al a cartes were ok.. not the best.. so the only one i would recommend would be the italian. and dont get the beef it is raw...chicken is the best...
Be CAREFUL with your safe.. ours did not open the 3rd day and we had all of our stuff in there not good.. took forever for the maintenance man to come to fix it.. please feel free to contact me for more..

Room Tip: ask for the club + you are away from everything but very close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    517
    415
    334
    329
See reviews for
396
544
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Travelled with my Son(16) .Was there April 16 to the 23. Booked beach club but hotel was over booked first night.Moved to club after and room was better.
Beach--Great
a la carte---awful
Food---runny scrambled eggs,no bacon,,,,,if early to meals lots of fresh fruit (thats what keep us going) Service most of the time in buffet not very good.Had to clean off own tables and find cutlery to use.dinner no one took drink orders.
Bars--- felt like i was imposing on there party time. The drinks where either to strong or really weak. I stuck to beer. I would not stay here again. It could be a great place if management cared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my first trip to Cuba, I therefore left with very few expectations to this « 4 stars » hotel knowing that I should not expect the same type of commodities as a Mexico, Dominican Republic (etc) 4 stars hotel. This being said, after spending a week there and speaking with A LOT of people on the resort, everybody agreed ; this might have been a 4 star hotel at some point in the past but not anymore. This is at best a 3.5, more like a 3 stars hotel (in Cuba, so 2-2.5 elsewhere in the Caribbean). <br>

Let’s start with the FOOD : central buffet is very repetitive, food not identified properly (you literally do not know what you’re eating most of the time), bad stench, if you go at the end of the lunch/dinner no clean plates/utensils/tables left, very slow service in general (although people do smile and are generally kind). There is a 2nd buffet available to ONLY people in the “Club+ / VIP” (or Beach+, can’t remember but people with a room in the 6000+) that is apparently better but I did not have access so can’t say. The 2 à la cartes that we tried out of 3 available (Italian and seafood) sucked, period. Cold, disgusting food, poor service, we had to go to the buffet afterwards to actually eat something both times. We also both ended up having turista on day 5 and 7 respectively (but I guess that might not be related necessarily). No sauce/vinaigrette/ketchup/mustard/mayo/dressing/jelly/peanut butter/etc (you get the picture) for your food except some very weird ketchup that has no taste whatsoever, bring your own. <br>

As for the BARS : there are several with good service generally speaking, sometimes very slow if you never tip though. There is bar in one of the 3 pools (one of which was closed for repairs when we went) but again, only available to those “Club+/Beach/VIP/whatever” customers that have a room in the 6000. You can stay around and in that pool but won’t get served at the bar if you don’t have the different colored bracelet that you get with these rooms. We had picked this hotel over 2 others specifically because there was a bar in the pool and were never made aware that it was only for specific clients, which quite frankly is ridiculous and sucks. <br>

The ROOMS now : OK room on the 4th floor, main building (4000-4200s). We were greated by a cuccaracha on our first day but never saw any for the rest of the week, a lot of other people complained that they had some or saw other creatures in their room. We had a king size bed but I’m 6’3” and at least 6 inches of my body not in the bed when I lay down. More like a queen size turned sideways (fairly wide, not long enough). Bring your matteress cover, ours dated from before the Cuban revolution (1959) I think and we were VERY happy to have one (cover). Intermitent hot water but overall flow/temperature was OK/tolerable. Rooms in poor condition overall (cracked/missing tiles, mold around A/C vent, no 120V outlet except the one for the TV that we had to unplug to have one outlet). Intense humidity smell in all rooms (confirmed with 10+ people in the main building area) . Again, apart for some room in the 6000 (outside the main building) everybody seemed to agree that there was obvious neglect in the maintenance. <br>

BEACHES : very, very few negative items to mention here. Good maintenance, beach is sort of “private” (in a bay, surrounded by rocks so no annoying Cuban selling you gadgets and gizmos all the time). 1 km long at least, with white sand, almost no seaweed, hot water, only some very random small white fishes. There could be more palapas (get yours early). 2 bars very close to the beach (less than 2 minute walk no matter where you are on the beach). <br>
à
Regarding STAFF / SERVICE overall : a lot of employees, yet many more would be needed as service is average at best no matter where you are (bar, buffet, especially worse at the reception). Overall we got a lot of smiles, pleasant service with the random annoying/crappy barman or waiteress (you would get something similar in Canada). The reception was the only place where the service really was sub-par. Tip you maid or else you will be lacking some towels, water bottle, etc… Shows at night were quite a bore but the Mango Disco was OK. <br>

Overall, I liked my experience as it was a first for me. Awesome weather, lot of relaxation, great beach, lot of alcohol… As for the hotel itself, I would NOT recommend it to anyone and will never go back, 100% sure. It was a tolerable week given the actual state of the hotel but it was borderline unacceptable for a 4 star or even a 3 star hotel in Cuba. Go there expecting a 3 star and do not pay more than we payed (650) for a week there. Some people had paid 800 ; not worth it. Some had paid 490 when booking 24 hours prior to departure ; probably more worth it but again, I am certain there are other 4 stars that are much better than this for a few dollars more. If you’re used to 5 stars hotel, do NOT book here. If you are just looking for a cheap place to spend a week on the beach period, then you’re probably OK.

Room Tip: Apparently rooms in the 6000 (beach/club+ rooms) are much nicer than the 1000-5000 (main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not sure what happened or what is happening but we felt that the Owners of the Allegro are not putting any money into this place. I think they are just trying to keep operational but are failing miserably. Food standard.... Below resort acceptability, pool drinks are very watered down and juice were just mixes of crystals. You cannot blame the staff, but the owners are at blame. Rooms were sub standard and in need of constant repair. In fact the whole hotel was like that. The entertainment was good and staff tried their best. Service in the restaurant was poor, But remember it is a third world country but they are n the service industry and should really cater to the guests. We paid very little for this trip and would be highly disappointed if I paid more. The beach area was nice and the waters beautiful, but the snack bar food was terrible . French fries was a staple. Overall not recommended, and would never go back until Allegro owners start doing massive upgrades...

Room Tip: Do not chose Allegro
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

we arrived late in the evening, and were sent to a "[--]" for a room. No phone...no safe...no running water for 3 days!! When asked to have this rectified, all you get is " NO PROBLEM!!!" Yah it's a problem, when your hotel doesn't give a crap of how you feel, your expectations, services not provided, or the stench that comes from most of this hotels rooms. Not being able to bath for 3 days except with bottled water and a sink is not my idea of a bath. The over-powering smell of mold & mildew is so bad that one has to keep the balcony door open all night, allowing little frogs,iguana's & other critters to roam around your room. NOT a good thing in Cuba. Ants are really bad...even up as far as our room on the 3rd floor...not fixed! They tell you that you must be in your room to have issues fixed, so after 5 an a half hours of waiting, we left...didn't pay to sit in my room and wait for someone to show up, even when they say they called maintenance...keep on them or they will not fix anything!! As for being in your room...A LIE!!! Our phone cord got replaced on day 5 while we were out on the Jeep trip...Hmmm and I am only left to assume that thats where my bottle of perfume went that day!! They don't care though...that's the hardest thing to accept...they loveee us Canadians, except when things break or staff helps themselves to our belongings. We treat them fairly with gifts they can't get, or candy & toys for their kids, or even something as simple as a few pesos for a job well done. Some steal from us!!! WOW!! an get away with it...management is a gong show...they speak in spanish making the situation worse due to their ignorances. The food...well as other's have stated, there is something for everyone...just not an abundance of it...flies around food areas, unrecognizable items, so use caution here...lol Had to be said : ) If all you want is drinks, beach with a possibility of red flags everyday, an a decent enough bed...then think before you stay here. Lowest end of the scale this resort is...families not having enough beds in rms, to kids waking to staff in there rm in the middle of the nite...BEWARE!!!! Not at all as it protrays. In bad situations one needs to make their own fun...rent scooters from the palmeras for the week an drive around Cuba...we did an it made for a better holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

To qualify my review, this was my 9th stay in Cuba, and 3rd in 3 years along the Varadero strip. There is nothing horribly wrong with the Allegro, it's pretty average as far as Cuban resorts go. I've stayed at better, (now Memories Varadero), and worse, (too many to list).

The shockers to newbie or pampered travelers will be:
not all toilets have seats;
the buildings aren't impeccable, although they are in good condition and there is constantly work being done;
5 minutes means 2 hours if you're waiting for someone to fix something in your room;
late night snack bar.... enough said but at least there is one;
Cuban food doesn't come close to North American expectations.

The pleasant surprises are:
hottest water I've EVER had on vacation, even in peak shower time;
drinks are fabulous and liquor selection vast for Cuba;
freshly grilled mussels and calamari at the buffet more nights than not!;
all service staff very friendly;
tons of activities and entertainment.

Other notes - it's over a 2-hour walk to town. We were told everything between 3 and 10km. It's 10km, and you have to get up to the road to get around the golf course.
Best place for cheap lobster in town is across the street from the second last double decker bus stop. The place had "Chef" in it's name and a long painted concrete mural. $14.50 for 3 course meal, boasting 3 huge lobster tails and dessert. (Number of tails varies depending on the size.)
The closer you get to the end of the bus route, the cheaper the wares. The same earrings were $14, then $20 as closer to center town, then $25 in center of shopping. $45 at airport. Don't forget to barter!
And lastly - the airport. Alcohol was cheaper at our resort gift shop than at the "Duty Free"! Everything was crazy overpriced. T-shirts were $18. If possible, bring a sandwich with you, or pay $4.50 for a ham and cheese. You can pay with any currency at the airport.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach Club + side - rooms were huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

SERIOUSLY I cannot begin to describe this place that nightmares are made of!!!! We had been staying at the Riu and had a wonderful experience until Sunwing had cancelled our flight ( which is another story in itself). and then chose to send 120 of us to this disgusting place for the night!!!! We had no Sunwing Rep to tell us what was happening but we were told by Cubans not Sunwing Reps!!!! to pick up our luggage, and get on busses that were waiting outside. We all wondered what hotel would have rooms available for all these people and it wasn't long after our arrival at the Allegro Resort ( and I use Resort with a big UGGGG!!!) that our question was answered !!!! We were placed in a section 6 which was a good 12 minutes by golf cart, it was down a dark and rocky road with no lights. The room was intolerable and reaked of mold/ mildew and we r not fussy people!!! The bed was on the floor, and the room was sooooo dirty and unkempt!!! Bathroom was absolutely disgusting, rust everywhere, trash can was totally rusted!!!! We decided there was no way we were going to stay in the room, and on our way out there were cockroaches and many cats that were wondering around the property,so we took the cart back to the main lobby and that is where ourselves and 24 others spent the night!!!!!!!! The next morning there were nothing but complaints about how disgusting the rooms in the main hotel rooms were, No lights in stair cases , dirty restrooms, paint chipped wall everywhere ect... people had pics of bed bugs and other insects they found in their rooms!!! My son and his wife had a room in the main hotel. They turned on the AC to c if that would help with the stench of mold and mildew, they shook out the sheets ect.. and slept on top of the sheets ect fully clothed!!!! Did not shower as the room was so awful especially the bathroom!!!!The staff were extremely, extremely, ignorant whom decided they couldn't speak any english when we started to complain. They double booked many of the rooms and there were constant complaints of people entering their rooms only to find someone else in there!!!!!! Why Sunwing would think so little of their customers that they would send us to this disgusting place is beyond me!!!! I bet u the flight crew didn't spend their night there!!!!!!! As i said we are not fussy people by a long shot and realized we were in Cuba but in my opinion there is no excuse as to why this resort has remained open!!!!!! The pics on line must have been from MANY years ago because I reviewed them and they do not resemble the Allegro we spent the night at!!!!!DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naviti Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naviti Varadero

Address: Autopista Sur, km 11, Varadero, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Allegro Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naviti Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 534

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naviti Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.