We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lai lai

lai lai
Calle 18, Varadero, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Varadero
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As suggested by our travel agent Lai Lai is amazing for Chinese Food. Travelled to Cuba two years in a row and going back again this year. We always make sure we eat at Lai Lai at least once during our stay.
It is a lovely family run restaurant and they are so accomodating. The food was absolutely delicious and a nice break from the all inclusive at the hotel. Easy to get to by local bus. Can't wati to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    14
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lai lai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the food is absolutely AMAZING! The plates are very big so don't order too much but everything is soo good! My favoourite plate was the chicken in the sweet n' sour sauce! Order it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto NB
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We wanted a little break from the standard Cuban fair so we went to the Lai Lai and had a spicy chicken dish. It was a nice change to have something a little spicy. The service was excellent an the prices were good. We had one dish between us with a plate of white rice and it we were happy.

We would eat at Lai Lai again without hesitation. Lots of good looking food on the menu.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were her a few years back and glad we found it again. Doesnt look like much just a whole in the wall but the food was great and very inexpensive. It is on the beach at the far end of the strip on a small side street forget which number but there is a small sign.

Go and try you will love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Emergency”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

restaurant on the beach, but manager instead of offering service to clean your feet from sand gives you a hard time ... food quite bad even for Cuba ... bad experience ...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed lai lai also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to lai lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lai lai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.