We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Laguna Azul

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Laguna Azul
Save
You added Iberostar Laguna Azul to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went for the second time at the same Hotel Iberostar Laguna Azul: beautiful resort, amazing beach, great cocktails, animation very friendly, very sweet with the children. The Lobby is stunning as well as the pools (the one with the falls). The terrace area is somptuous and very pleasant when at night you drink a Pina Colada and listen to the real Cuban Musicians. You'll love your vacations...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    1,540
    778
    303
    164
See reviews for
1,401
1,896
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This resort was too large and busy for our taste but overall it was a nice place - good service, decent food, and a beautiful beach. There were a lot of children and it could be very noisy at times. With all the activities, it seemed well suited to families but isn't the best choice for a couple looking for peace and quiet.

The best part of this vacation was the music. There were many talented musicians at the resort but we especially enjoyed the pianist, Gloria, and looked forward to attending her performances.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great pool with swim up bar and terrace area. We tended to park ourselves near the garden bar side of pool away from the activity area for convenience as closest to our room.Pool waitress service excellent.
Tipping appreciated but not essential.Staff always pleasant and helpful.
Hotel has good facilities.Gym small but functional.
Rooms have all the basic essentials with separate bath and shower.
Good beach
Food quality good although lacking variety at times particularly with supply of fresh fruit particularly Mango.Did get a bit monotonous at times but as Cuba has US emargo still inforce hotels have central purchasing contracts with govt controlled distribution not all produce plentiful especially beef. Coffee and cakes brilliant.
Took the Red open top bus trip into varadero which is located outside hotel security barrier.Had a night out in town at live music venue returning at midnight in a 1930 Argie cabriolet which looked Like Chitty Bang Bang ...fantastic.
Took a private taxi for day trip to Havana just over an hour away cost around £30pp.... Ernest ex Thomson Rep what a guy knew his history and guided tour of the city second to none.
Kids and wife Skydived out of a helicopter onto hotel beach for £120 pp what an experience!
Did the speedboats thing around the bay.

Good hotel in decent location at end of Varadero strip.

Travelled June 2012

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned on Sept 5th 2013 after two weeks.Unfortunately for the first week both my husband and I were seriously ill.Violent diarrhea and generally unwell.Went to the pharmacy and was sold antibiotics which thankfully were effective.We followed all precautions as I am a nurse and I'm aware of what to avoid but being educated did not help either of us.The resort itself is amazing.Very clean with curtious staff.We found the food so salty that it would burn our tongues.It's unfortunate because if the food had been prepared properly it would have been quite palable.We heard of many other travellers not necessarily from this resort who had similar symptoms.

Room Tip: Would advise caution when travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights - my experience with this hotel began before our trip to Cuba - when i did not recieve any responses to my emails - despite writing on their website as well as to the email id given. We were checked in not a minute before check in time and were given a room right next to the main lobby next to the stairs. Please avoid 18302 if you need a quiet room. They said they had no availability to change rooms.

A conversation with Laura - their Guest Services person regarding babysitting/kids club activities did not go too well either - she seemed rather rude and patronizing - which is not the best attitude for a Guest Services person.

The restaurant and housekeeping staff on the other hand was fantastic - hardworking and great attitude. The pools were well maintained and the beach was lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was my very first trip to Cuba and I was so glad my sister picked Iberostar Laguna Azul as our resort. We went on our trip on June 22nd 2013. The staff on the resort were very friendly and courteous. There were lots of activities around the pools and on the beach. My teenage daughter and my sisters participated in some games but I chose to be a spectator and it was just fine :) The room we stayed in was a bit musty (my sisters' room was fine). The front desk switched us to a different room without hesitation. The buffets were pretty standard. The formal dinners were pretty good. We dined at the Cuban, Italian and Japanese (I wish they had chopsticks). The Japanese food didn't agree with me but the rest of my family members didn't have any problems in case you are wondering about the cleanliness of the resort. The entertainments were awesome! We were out every night to watch the shows. I highly recommended this resort, especially if this is your first trip to Cuba.

Room Tip: If you like to be close to the beach, ask for building #18 or 19. If you want to be closer to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited iberostar on December 2012 and was immediately impressed by the resort. It features an open air lobby that opens out to a fabulous terrace that overlooks the main pool. We spent most of our evenings between the terrace and lobby as they were the social hubs of the resort

The staff was very friendly and hospitable. When the wait staff had found out I wasn't feeling well (a result of far too many mojitos and rum shots the night before) they immediately came back with a secret tonic blend that they said would ease my upset stomach and a package of tea in case it was needed. While it didn't taste the best, it worked.

The grounds are beautiful and worth walking around on. Well landscaped and maintained.

The rooms are airily new and smell a little musty. I would recommend bringing a febreeze candle or something similar. But the rooms are clean, jr suites that are in good condition.

I highly recommend this place as I would definely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Laguna Azul

Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#7 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#15 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero's Beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min. from downtown Varadero. 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchón near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Laguna Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.