We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Varadero!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Las Americas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Las Americas
Save
You added Melia Las Americas to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Rockland, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best place in Varadero!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was my fourth time in Varadero and this is the best resort I have seen! Romantic, relaxing and very quiet! A romantic getaway for sure!!! The place was spotless, great and spacious rooms. The restaurants a la carte were excellent! The beach very quiet and just beautiful! We were going to recharge the batteries and that is exactely what we did! The manager is walking the resort all the time to greet the guests and making sure that everything is perfect! Maybe 2 things that can be looked at: The variety in the buffet and the fist 2 days we had difficulty to have good service. But definetely a spot that we will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Caroline GQ1828WO,
Reading the title of your review where you identify Meliá Las Americas as the best place in Varadero, we could know that you enjoyed our hotel and services. Thank you very much for sharing your sincere opinions on Trip Advisor.
I am so glad to read that you had a romantic and relaxing vacation. Regarding our Buffet restaurant, we appreciate your comments; we work every day for continue improving our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay.
I really hope to have the pleasure to see you soon back.
Warmest regards from Cuba.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    837
    244
    103
    42
See reviews for
272
1,642
214
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was my first time to Cuba and we chose Melia since it was an adult only property. I could not have been more surprised. The property and gardens were beautiful thanks to Riccardo our gardener. The room was very clean and comfortable. I can only suggest to expand your experience while you are here, find Julio the show man. He's hard to miss since he walks the property daily in different costumes. He can help you find anything you need and point you in the direction of anything that he can't. The property manager walks the grounds and restaurants daily so if you need anything, just ask. We had no issues while we were there except for some slow service one day at the barbacoa restaurant but it was an easy fix since there is 3 other restaurants within a short walk to get food. It was all delicious. We were allowed to book 3 a-la-carte restaurants and the only one we did not get was the Sakura japanese restaurant but the beauty of that restaurant, is that between 6-8 you can drop by anytime at the front bar and enjoy a drink and a plate of suishi so it wasn't so bad not having dinner there. In hind sight, I would book there for a nice dinner and skipped the Cuban Robleza. We went to the shows at night and then followed that up with some fun times at the Cascada bar which became our second home. The bartenders are so nice and accomodating in there and a special shout out to Ariel who found my camera that I left in the buffet one night and returned it to the front desk. When does that ever happen?? I was so lucky and thankful to him for that. I am sure if you decide on the Melia you will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a villa which was at the opposite end of the property from the lobby but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Shelley H,
It is nice to read that you felt in love with this wonderful island. Thank you for selecting Meliá Las Américas for your first visit to Cuba. We appreciate sincerely that you have shared your positive comments on Trip advisor. They will be informed to all our personnel because that is the best prize they could receive: the recognition and gratitude of our clients.
Regarding the incident that you referred with your forgotten camera, I wish to comment you that Cuba is a safe destination and I am proud to say that Meliá Las Américas is one of the safest hotels in Cuba. We have a wonderful staff (many of them have worked in our hotel for many years) and often they have refunded many objects of great value, even different sums of money that have been forgotten or lost by our clients.
Thank you for bring to our attention your opinion about the service in our Barbacoa Restaurant. I assure you that the information you have provided will allow us to identify opportunities for improvement in the services we offer. Your remarks will be analyzed carefully by the Heads of our departments and their staff and based on them, we will be working to guarantee with more efficiency our guests´ expectations.
I am looking forward to greeting you soon in Meliá Las Américas.
Warmest regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our trip last night and I thought I would write a review while the memories were fresh in my mind. I chose this resort based on the generally good reviews here on TA and on other forums. Our expectations weren't very high, but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised at the 'bang for your buck' that this resort offers.

We arrived around 6:30pm and greeted right on off the bus by porters who took our bags to reception. We were quickly checked in and taken to our bungalow suite at the far end of the hotel. It was a bit of a walk, but the grounds are so beautiful that it never bothered us. The room was clean and didn't have the damp mildew smell that some other reviewers complained about. My wife's nose is quite sensitive to odor as well. The fridge had 2 beers and 2 cans of pop that would be regularly stocked. Our suite was near the far pool with the swim-up bar so we were pretty happy about that. The bathroom wasn't 5-star quality by any stretch, but it wasn't gross by our standards. We put our stuff away and headed straight for the buffet as we were very hungry.

We've read very mixed opinions about the buffet, but we found it not too bad at all. The lack of leafy greens was noticeable, but the salad bar was better than we expected. The buffet food was hit and miss - sometimes the chicken was undercooked so be sure to check. The grill was a big plus though. Select your cuts of meat and fish (salmon, mahi mahi, ahi tuna), kebabs, etc and the cook would grill it for you. The serving staff were always very friendly and we found a spot to the right of the entrance that we preferred. It was cozier and the servers were the best.

Breakfast was always quite good we found. The grill served up custom omelettes or eggs the way you want. Lots of sausage, bacon, pancakes and french toast. Lunch was probably the least favourite of the meals for us based on their entree selections. Definitely hit up La Robleza Grill for a la carte lunches whenever possible. Much, much better food.

We really enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants. The Gourmet La Arcada was pretty posh and the food was delicious. We didn't feel like we got the best service there though. Sakura was lots of fun and tons of food. The beef was too tough, however. La Robleza offered fantastic steaks and Il Limoncello had the best ambiance in our opinion. Great live piano music and the food was delicious. Definitely our favourite.

The pools were gorgeous as were the beaches. For drinks, definitely go see Raul at the La Robleza bar. If it's not too busy, he'll do some neat tricks while preparing your drinks. The bar staff at the far pool weren't particularly friendly or enthusiastic, but we hung out there often because it wasn't busy and our room was close. The ladies at the main lobby bar were great. It's always busy there though. Only visited La Cascada bar once for live singers, but the staff were very friendly. Our favourite drink was the Banana Mama, basically a Pina Colada with some banana liqueur and a fresh banana if they had some. SO tasty. Bring your own large drink container and they'll fill it to the top!

We booked with Westjet Vacations and felt like we were taken care of every step of the way. The day after we arrived, we met with our rep, Rigo, and he gave us the rundown of the hotel and the excursions you could book through him. Definitely do some excursions if you can. Great way to see more of Cuba and get out of the hotel for a day or two. We did the Seafari Cayo Blanco with the dolphin interaction and the Discover Tour (Jeep Safari). Both were fantastic and highly recommend doing both of those. We've heard the Havana tour is great as well, but we didn't get around to doing that one.

This is one of the few resorts that offer internet access and WIFI, but we weren't able to get a WIFI card until 4 days into our vacation. Don't go to Cuba expecting to stay plugged in. It's a great opportunity to break away from your phone and the internet. The only reason we wanted access was to check up on our girls. We weren't able to get any kind of video call done, just email. They're still in the dark ages when it comes to internet speeds, but it's better than nothing.

We would definitely recommend Melia Las Americas to anyone as long as you manage your expectations. It's no 5-star by North American standards, but we do hear that it's one of the best in Varadero. We talked to some fellow Canadians that stayed at 4-stars and it sounds like they're dining experiences were far worse in terms of food quality. Spend the little bit extra and go for the 5-star. I think it's worth it. We will consider going back to this resort for sure. We loved every minute and look forward to returning to Cuba in the future. Maybe we'd bring the kids next time. Or maybe not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear CT-Raider01,
We are sincerely grateful for recommending our resort to other travelers on Trip Advisor. I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was as relaxing as you expected and you felt like in paradise. We thank you sincerely for giving your feed back to us so soon after arriving home.
We work every day to improve our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay. That is why we appreciated deeply your detailed comments about our food offer and our services that allow us identify opportunities for advancement.
Also, we are pleased to notify you that we are carrying out some renovations to update the image and improve the whole product to meet all our guests´s expectations.
We will gladly let our staff know about your comments as they will encourage them to continue improving the service they provide.
Thank you for letting us knows that you loved every minute of your vacation. We hope you will choose Melia Las Americas again when you come back to Cuba.
Best regards from Varadero,

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from the Melia Las Americas. We are seasoned travellers to the Caribbean islands making our annual pilgrimage every January. So it was that we both arrived with high expectations that your 5 star resort would help to recharge our batteries after a hectic working schedule over the Christmas period. We were under no illusions that the advertised 5 stars would bring us the same level of service that one would receive in a European 5 star hotel. So please understand we were not expecting the Savoy or the Ritz (we are not that naïve!)

We arrived late in the evening after an exhausting two and a half transfer from Havana airport looking forward to settling in to our room, a quick change and then grabbing a bite to eat in the buffet. We were not greeted in the lobby, we had to carry our own cases from the taxi (5*****?) but on the positive side were checked in very speedily and shown to our room (108). On entry to this duplex junior suite we were shocked; it stunk of mildew and damp, there were damp patches on the wall and the net decoration above the bed was covered in dead beasties. My wife nearly in tears by now phoned guest assistance who promptly told us to bring our cases back to reception and they would allocate a new room. Back at reception my wife was then taken up to a room on the second floor (2208) and shown this as an alternative. This was a much smaller twin room (not a suite) that still smelt damp but on the positive side there were no dead beasties to contend with. We decided since it was now nearly 10pm that we would except this room on the understanding that a new suite would be available the following day. The receptionist, Nelson, who dealt with us on this occasion was sympathetic to our needs and tried his hardest to solve the issue.

The following day we returned to reception at 10.30am and explained our situation to the receptionist Boris. Again he tried to be as helpful as possible and showed us a bungalow suite down near the main gate. This room also smelt damp and was severely dated in appearance. He then informed us that another suite on the top floor would become available in the late afternoon. He highly recommended this suite and so we accepted it on his recommendation. Eventually we were able to check into out latest room (4408) at 4.45pm and finally unpack our luggage. The suite itself was spacious and clean although a little dated in appearance. Unfortunately it had twin beds but on the grounds that it did not smell damp or have any dead beasties in it we decided to let this lie as all we wanted to do now was relax and enjoy our holiday and not move again. I would also like to mention here that chambermaid for our room, Texa, was excellent and the sculptures she created with the towels every day always put a smile on our faces.

Positives of the hotel:

The Beach - Beautiful golden sand and plenty of beds. However maybe you could clear some of the dried seaweed and rubbish from it - perfect breeding ground for biting sand flies.

The Lobby - Always clean and tidy and a cool calm place to sit when the wind was howling on the terrace.

The Staff - Always friendly and polite and greeted you with a smile especially the entertainment staff.

The Limoncello restaurant - Before coming to the hotel we had read horror stories about this restaurant but on the whole we were pleasantly surprised - good service and food. Maybe it was because we were seated next to the General Manager?


The Negatives:

The Buffet Restaurant - Let me lay my cards on the table here: I am a chef with many years of experience of running fine dinning restaurants. This restaurant was a disgrace. To start with breakfast, there was no organisation among the staff to the extent that most of the tables were dirty and not relayed and the ones that were we found ourselves being turned away from so they could be saved for another guest who would be arriving later but who had obviously left a tip for the waitress. I am not averse to tipping myself and will always tip for service seeing it as the life blood for the staff in our industry. But when it comes to having to tip to get a clean table in a self service buffet I draw the line. Maybe a visible restaurant manager to direct the staff and manage the flow of guests might be better? As for the food it was poor and tasteless. The pastries in the morning were dry, all covered in a sickly sugar glaze (not apricot jam I note) and on more than one occasion still FROZEN!.
There did seem to be one chap who we can only presume was the F&B manager who seemed to spend all his time at breakfast straightening plates and restocking the glasses (with his fingers in the glass) for the watered down juices. We also noticed this same management chap pouring juice from the glasses back into the juice jugs for other people then to drink. The company it seems must really be trying to squeeze every last penny out of the resort if it has come to this. Also I would query the general hygiene standards of the restaurants if members of management resort to such practices!
As for lunch and dinner they were not much better. Dried up food, raw and cooked meat and fish being handled by the same tongs and fish slices and a salad bar that seemed to consist of cold Brussels sprouts and cauliflower, dirty lettuce and lots of pulses. Staples such as cucumber, tomato and onion were not always present? As for the dessert buffet it was always empty and rarely restocked especially if you liked to eat late. I would have eaten ice-cream but was put off when seeing other people lick the scoop.

La Arcada Restaurant - The staff were friendly enough but please tell the wine waiter to allow the wine to breath before insisting on coming over and refilling the last sip you took from the glass. As for the food it was under-seasoned and pretty average. Inedible croutons on the plates, tasteless humus, potatoes that tasted of the lemon juice they had been stored in and overcooked mushy asparagus. As for the crème caramel, why serve it with chocolate sauce? Maybe your chef should return to the basics of classical cooking and concentrate on simplicity.

The Sekura Restaurant - The food itself was ok. On the whole if it wasn't for the sushi I would have felt it was a Chinese restaurant and not Japanese. Also tempura batter is suppose to be light and crisp and not heavy and stodgy - again its the basics.

The Drinks - I realise that this is personal taste but they were all far too strong. If I ask for a gin and tonic I expect at least twice as much tonic as gin and not less. Classic cocktails have prescribed measurements so they taste a certain way and not just of raw spirits. On more than one occasion we found ourselves having to pour the drinks away as they were disgusting. Again its the basics and you will probably find you save money!
Because of your bar staffs inability to make proper cocktails we found ourselves spending many afternoons and evenings in the Xanadu Mansion just so we could have a pleasurable experience.

Prostitutes - Older gentlemen from Europe turning up to stay at the hotel with young Cuban girls.
Although not prudish by nature we found this not acceptable in a five star hotel. These girls were not sneaked into the room at night they were registered as guests. On the grounds that we all have to show our passports on arrival would mean that you know this is going on. This is not acceptable.

Your Star rating - People when they book holidays have to trust the information they are given both by yourselves and the tour companies that sell the vacations. In my opinion this trust has been breached in this event. You have oversold yourselves to the extent where a lot of visitors who come to your hotel are immediately let down that you do not offer the level of service and standards expected. Although form reading other reviews on this web site it would appear you do have a loyal band of followers and repeat visitors, but I should inform you that having spoken to many other fellow guests over the last few weeks there are many out there who also feel let down. Sadly this experience at your hotel will mean that my wife and myself will never return to Cuba.

I am most upset that this experience has forced me for the first time to write such a review. I do not enjoy doing it and on many occasions have despaired at the naïve and stupid comments that people write on this web site. I hope I am never forced to write such a review again.

Yours Sincerely
Kevin

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your vacation in Meliá Las Américas. We appreciate that you have taken the time to bring to our attention your point of view about the quality of the services we provide. It will have an impact on any improvements, which may be necessary to maintain the level of quality.
We are genuinely sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us, even when you identify some positive points, the most important our staff that you found always friendly and polite and greeted you with a smile, especially the entertainment staff.
There is a 24 hours Customer Service Office at your disposal at the hotel and it would have been very useful for us to know about your dissatisfaction during your stay so we could have had the opportunity of help you in order you could have a pleasant stay.
Receive our sincere and cordial greetings.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Spent 10 nights there. Its very clean, food is ok, normal all inclusive food. Branded drinks at no extra cost.
Right on a sandy beach. I would not bother with the Italian or the fish restraunts, but would HIGHLY recommend that you book the Al Carte restraunt, it is wonderful. The Food, atmosphere in the al carte was brilliant.
Rooms very clean, staff are ok, quite friendly. Breakfast was plentiful. Pool areas had plenty of beds. Pools where cold, but sea was lovely and warm.
The evening entaintment was very good, the shows where mainly good. I would definately recommend this hotel. Only ventured into Varadero, but not much there. The taxis where cheap to go into Varadero (10 CUC) so worth it.
Would recommend this hotel if you are thinking of going to Cuba.

Room Tip: Try the boat hire, its free for 30mins. We had a room over the front enterance, good views of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Chelseablue-11,
It is with satisfaction that we read your review. We appreciate very much that you take the time to share your kind opinions with others on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed Meliá Las Américas and our services, particularly our Adults Only condition.
We are doing our best to offer a better service to our clients every day.
Thank you for letting us knows that you found our staff quite friendly. We will be glad to inform them about your comment, because it encourages them to maintain the quality of the services we provide.
We are deeply grateful for recommending our resort to other people.
We will be very happy to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We recently returned from our fourth stay at Melia las Americas, (Jan. 3-10) and this was by far the best vacation we have ever had. We were treated like royalty. We were given the room we have had previously, which was amazing, clean and big; a bedroom with a flat screen tv and walk in closet, and a separate sitting area with another flat screen tv and table and chairs. A bottle of rum was waiting for us when we arrived. The grounds are very well kept by the caring gardeners who work so hard. The gardener near our bungalow was the first person we saw every morning and he always had a big smile and a “Good Morning” for us every day. The waiters and waitresses in the buffet restaurant were always happy and very attentive to our every need. The cooking staff, that made the omelettes for breakfast and pasta for lunch and dinner, were always so friendly. You could tell they loved what they were doing. The food was also amazing. So much choice. Great salad bar! Lovely desserts! Also the bartenders at the lobby bar were always very cheerful.
I also must mention a few people from the Entertainment team that are very special to us. Luisma was always there to make sure we were having a good time and always took the time to talk to us. Also, Frankie, Joanna and Ariel were very kind every time they passed by ; they would stop to say hi and make sure everything was ok. Also Julio, who was the first person we saw when we arrived, is such a great person to have on staff to brighten up everyone’s day. The nightly shows were always very entertaining, especially the show titled « Caberet ». Raul, the pool and beach attendant,/waiter,trainee was so happy to see us again. He took such pride in his job and always made a point to say hi. He made sure our needs were met at the pool and beach every day he was there.
We saw Bernard Meyer, the General Manager, at least once a day and he always stopped to talk to us. It is wonderful to see a General Manager making his presence known and showing an interest in all the guests and always making a point of saying hello to all of his staff. This kind of caring made our stay so enjoyable and we are really looking forward to returning to such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Sueh29,
What a wonderful and lovely review! Comments like yours are definitely enjoyable to read, so nice about our resort, and the service we provide. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed so much your 4th visit to our resort and you are still remembering the good times spent here that made it so unforgettable. We are sincerely grateful for your time spent in sharing your experience with other traverles.
I appreciate that the most important value for you are the affability, kindness and courtesy of the staff, outstanding features that distinguish Cubans, and specially Melia Las Americas’ employees. We will gladly let our staff know about your kind comments as they give confidence to them for continue offering the best of themselves to our clients. Thank you very much for your predilection and loyalty.
We look forward to welcome you soon in your Cuban home!
Warm regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ont. Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was the 3rd time my wife and I have stayed at the Melia Las Americas. We were there this past November and our daughter was there about 4 weeks before us. With Christmas time and some recent health problems I was not able to write a review. Once again we found everyone conected to this trip fantastic. Starting with our travel agency I Travel 2000 in Canada and Rose our agent and the flight crew from Sunquest and Signature Tours. Now to the Hotel and the things you can look forward to when you arrive. From the airport it is about 15 minute drive by bus depending on the number of people going to the resorts your bus is scheduled to stop at. Once at the front desk make sure you have your papers in order and within minutes you are on your way to your room. First thing is you can either switch your Canadian dollars for Cuban CUC's at the airport or the hotel, don't worry it is the same exchange rate (government controlled). I always recomend that if you want good service do a little tipping at the start. It goes a long way. These people at the hotel work very hard to begin with but it is just like at home a little extra money shows their service is appreciated. We have always stayed in the bungalows so I can only speak about how roomy they are and you are away from the hotel but they have a pool close by, restaurants close by and a very short walk to the beach from either the hotel or bungalow, short being 2 or 3 minutes. All the restaurants are great but this year the Italian was our favourite supper location since their new Head Chef has made some fantastic changes to the menu. I still love the food and the great service at the BBQ restaurant with Irmita and the bartender Raul, what a great couple. Now to the beach and the grounds around the hotel. The people that take care of the beach, pool and the grounds keeping show a lot of pride in their work. Carlos, Nelson and others make sure your every need is looked after on the beach or sitting around the pool. Great guys, take a few minutes to say hello to these guys. Back to our room, our maid Irasema made sure our room was spotless and the towel art every day was a pleasure to see after a day on the beach. While we were there I had the pleasure of meeting the new General Manager for the hotel Bernard. This guy was there at breakfast time, afternoon, supper and usually catching the show at night. He is new to Cuba in the last few months but after talking with the staff he is what we would call a "Workers Boss" He has so much respect for the employees at the resort and alwayslooking out for their needs. If they are sick at home he phones them to make sure they are ok. The most favourite person we have met there is in Customer Relations and that is Ana Rosa, she works so hard to make sure your stay here is the best and you will have some great memories for life. As you can see my wife and I love this place and lookforward to return again in November. Sorry for the length of the review but after you go you will understand why it is so long. If you go say "Jim from Ontario Canada says Hi" Have FUN

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Jim,
We loved your comments. We are sincerely happy to know that once again you enjoyed a fantastic vacation in our hotel! Thank you very much for your preference for our resort. We truly appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.
I am also delighted to read that you benefited from the constant changes we are always carrying out to upgrade the product as to fulfill our guests´ expectations and ensure their satisfaction, particularly the change in Il Limoncello’s menu.
We will also be very happy to inform regarding your kind opinions to all and especially to Ana Rosa and other members of our Staff who excelled in the service offered to you, as they will motivate them to maintain the quality of the services they offer.
I am sure your health will continue improving and you will be able to visit Meliá Las Américas once again in November. It will be my pleasure to greeting you in our special dinner for faithful guest than we organize on Wednesday.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Las Americas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Las Americas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.