We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE 4 STARS HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 1ra entre 60 y 64, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“VERY NICE 4 STARS HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with my wife last month and I love it,small hotel but very nice a beautiful view from our room #1325.no complain for a 4 stars hotel.I will stay here again,"I LOVE IT" the beach is great. vero and raph.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    325
    211
    127
    109
See reviews for
142
334
82
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hubby and I were here Aug.9-16th for a wedding(which was at another hotel).. The hotel is nice in that it is small.. Small amazing staff.. some not so much..Jesus in the buffet restaurant goes out of his way to give great service..A few othere stood out but dont know their names as he usually served us...Only went to Italian a la carte Food was ok.. Good service..Upgraded to a 3rd floor ocean room I highly recommend it 10 CUC pesos a day Worth the view and it is quiet.. Try NOT to be on the street side.. Others in our party were and couldnt sleep..Beach is great of course... Buffet wa pretty bad in our opinion... wore than other places we have been to in Cuba Ate out a lot as it is right in town..Had fun being with family.. Weddin was great..

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here in December 2011. It was our third time staying at Mercure Cuatro Palmas. It was also the last! We knew from previous travel to Cuba not to have high expectations but this was the lowest of the low. The rooms were disgraceful, rarely cleaned. The majority of the staff were extemely rude and if you caught a smile you were lucky. The lobby bar was probably the worst. The staff were more interested in carrying on their own conversations rather than serving the guests. The front desk could use some PR training as well. And the lobby in general....disgusting. The furniture cushions were so worn and filthy. But on the positive side, the beach here is fantastic; the a la carte restaurants are good; the location in town is excellent. Upon our return home, we contacted Mercure's head office via e-mail outlining our concerns and never received the courtesy of an acknowledgement....nada! This is not what we would have expected from such a large corporate head office. It's a wonder with all the poor reviews that travel agencies and their representatives are still willing to offer Cuatro Palmas in their list of destinations in Cuba.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awful hotel, rude staff. We were shown the room and immediately asked for another as it had rotten walls. The other room for which we had to pay 160 pesos extra was better but lots of cockroaches in the room, my boyfriend killing at least 3 a day, imagime how many we havent seen!!! My friend who travelled with us woke up with one cockroach walking on his chest. Now, we went to Thailand last year and we were ready for all sort of insects as we paid 10 pounds a night.

Moving on, the buffet staff was so rude its beyond belief. Apart for one guy, dark haired in his late 40s or early 50s we were ignored all the way even though we were with 9 month old baby.
The food was boring and the same.

Dont get me wrong, we did see people working very hard for their money, especially sweet staff frying eggs etc but then you look at the ladies at the reception, so lazy and not smiling, you wonder what did you pay for?! To see staff that has no respect to guest? I dont think so.

The beach was nice and lifeguards very nice and friendly.

If I ever came bac, it would be for the location of the hotel. Thats all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a very basic hotel. The room was neat and clean. The bathroom smelled horibbly-probably due to bad ventilation. The food was horrible and not to my North American liking. It rained throughout the 2 days I was there, so I couldn't sample the nightly shows. They had an indoor band perform-but it was just a basic band compared to Cuban standards. There's a semi nightclub across the street-so yes, it gets loud at night. Location was probably the best part about it. Varadero is a shore town. Unlike beach resorts, it's complimented by a local population that sells a lot of souvenirs. It was great to take a walk about town and see the beautiful architecture and buildings. The town was a change of pace from Havana.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Second time in varadero, went back to scout for a good hotel in town. The beach is nice, but at 10 am, the DJ got going and he was LOUD. There was no place in the facility where I could escape that BOOM BOOM BOOM! Thankfully, there is a park just 2 street down the road and I ended up spending my mornings there. Still, it's varadero, the beach is awesome. Food was okay. Service also, with a bit of premium when tipped.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Well let me start by saying with all the reviews we had read on TA we went with an open mind and in the end our Vac was not spoiled. Yes the # 1 c/o is the front desk staff who wear no name tags so to direct a specific concern is nearly impossible as when you ask their name you get a deer in the head light look or a roll of the eyes. Example: We knew that check in was not until 1600h although arriving at 1300h we were only notifying the staff who we were only to be told, " You have no reservation I have to call someone, go sit down." as she pointed to the seating area. Of course this was not a good start fortunately I kept a level head and requested an explanation from a more approachable staff member who had everything sorted out in 2 seconds!! Bell Man Alberto was so helpful during our stay our go to guy. Yes the Hotel is in need of repair although it's Cuba, the rooms were clean and dated no deal breaker. Food edible not a great selection but this is a moderate resort buffet we did not eat at any of the resorts restaurants although we did have a meal at El Rancho which was good and restaurant it's self very clean. We noted that tipping is shared by the wait staff and so many long faces when you are waited on not what we were expecting smiles very far and few between, perhaps if we were repeat guests we would have a different opinion. The beach is absolutely the best we have ever seen, palapas are very close together and no other form of shade. The unfortunate part of the beach experience are those who feel that the beach is their private garbage dump, straws, plastic glassess, cig butts and oh yes dirty baby diapers!! We totally enjoyed going off the resort and walking about and heard more Hellos and Holas from the locals and saw smiles than we did on site. Would we return to this hotel probably not but for a modest budget you may enjoy the Cuarto Palmas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero

Address: Avenida 1ra entre 60 y 64, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful Varadero beach, this colonial style hotel features a courtyard surrounded by patios, red roofs and tropical gardens. Restaurants, bar, pool, daytime entertainment, music and evening shows. 2 room types, standard located on the beach and classic separated from the hotel by a road. Please take note that the EUR CUC exchange rate is subject to a fluctuating goverment tax which is different for buying and selling. Vouchers and American credit cards not accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero Hotel Varadero
Mercure Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mercure Cuatro Palmas Varadero to your Saves list