We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and accomodation in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Autopista Sur Final, Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Blau Cayo Libertad Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent service and accomodation in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at this resort.It is simply wonderful.Very well maintained,quiet and very secure.All our requests were meet without exception.We were made to feel very comfortable.
Rudens the manager was wonderful and very helpful.We unfortunately had to leave early due to a family illness and Rudens went out of his way and refunded the remaining days we had paid for in advance which we thought was not only outstanding.We have travelled a lot and never have we had such kind consideration with regards to a matter such as this.
We will definitely return to the resort in the future for a quiet relaxing get away in a safe very well maintained resort in a gorgeous setting.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the second floor and we found it to be very nice and a great view .As well we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel purely because it seemed the quietest of the Varadero hotels on offer. At this time of year it is particularly quiet - often only one or two couples by the pool. We decided to 'go for broke' and booked the Grand Suite Palace...it was worth it! I would recommend it to anyone celebrating something special. 'Smiley_face 2013' has pretty much covered everything I would wish to say about Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad. The pool, garden, cleaning, bar and waiting staff are absolutely wonderful. We tended to tip every day i.e. in the restaurant, the bar, to our cleaner etc. Tipping didn't seem to be expected, but was always gratefully received. Mozzies abound, so take creams, sprays, anti-histamines etc. I would have given a 5/5 rating but for the fact that our check-in was a nightmare. Having booked the most expensive accommodation and tired from our first week of touring Havana and Santiago de Cuba, we were looking forward to getting on with unpacking and relaxing. The receptionist had other ideas and refused to believe that we were the rightful occupants of the Grand Suite. Firstly we were told 'this is not possible' and then that someone else was already there. Even upon producing the paperwork, we were not believed and rather abruptly told to go and have lunch; there would be an answer upon our return. Fortunately there had been an error and Raul, the manager, could not have been more apologetic, but by then the damage had been done. Make sure you take all paperwork! Lastly, I left my camera behind in the reception area when I left the hotel. Totally, totally my fault - no excuses. The camera I can do without, but I would love to get the memory card back if at all possible. I have emailed management twice, but no reply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I have just spent 11 days at the Cayo Libertad. It was 'off- season' and quiet but we had a wonderful stay.

Raul the manager was very helpful, always on hand and nothing was too much trouble. He is rightly proud of his hotel and is very conscious that you are there to have a good holiday. There are always certain shortages in Cuba and sometimes basic commodities which we as Europeans take for granted are simply unavailable, even to the hotels. There was for example a problem with flies in the restaurant and the management was aware of this but were unable for the moment to get hold of the insect spray (or 'zapper' machine) which would have solved the problem immediately. It must be very frustrating but as I've said 'that is Cuba'. Keep this in mind and 'go with the flow'; if you make a few allowances you cannot fail to be impressed by both the hotel generally and the overall effort that the staff put in to making guests welcome and comfortable.

Our room was very well equipped and spacious. The balcony/terrace was huge and a good place to sit and enjoy the view. The fridge was kept supplied with water, soft drinks, and beer. Blocks 46 - 48 are the best situated with good views and are conveniently placed with regard to the pool and restaurant. An upstairs room (two storey blocks) is the best option since the ground floor rooms have a view restricted by dense vegetation on the shoreline.

The food is delicious. The chefs appear to be 'rotated' which means that the same dish can change in both appearance and taste from one day to the next - not actually a bad thing since the menu does not change and if you are staying for any length of time the choice of food could easily become a little repetitive. We also enjoyed the complimentary room service which can be a change from the restaurant, you can order light snacks if you are not particularly hungry.

The hotel gardens are lovely, the gardeners do a wonderful job and ask for no recognition. The pool setting is amazing, very restful with beautiful views of the sea, the palm trees, and the fisherman. You can order your lunch and it will be served at the pool. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

The beach and the sea were stunning. Given that there appeared to be plenty of staff on hand it would have been good to have had seen the beach hut utilised to serve drinks which would allow guests to spend time at the beach without having to trek back to the hotel room for cold water. The sea was a little shallow but completely safe. We were keen to snorkel but were unable to find any spots at the Cayo for this activity.

As a resident at the Cayo Libertad you are entitled to visit and use the facilities at the adjoining Blau Marina Valadero Resort. We did visit one evening; we went to the self-service restaurant and watched one of the nightly shows. Only once! The difference between the two hotels was enormous. The BMVR was huge and not a little grim, the food was of poor quality and tepid, the drinks watery. Yes there is quite a big difference in price between the two hotels but they simply do not compare in quality. Frankly I do not believe that we would have enjoyed ourselves at the BMVR whereas the BPCL experience was little short of wonderful.

The only time we were made to feel uncomfortable was by the heavy handed yet cleverly subtle solicitation of tips particularly towards the end of our stay. This took the form of loaded compliments (don't you smell nice, that is a really nice dress/wrap), or sad statements that 'we in Cuba cannot get/afford such things', repeated 'goodbyes', and even notes. It is of course understandable given the undeniable hardships faced by ordinary working Cubans but as I have said it did make me feel uncomfortable. The management would do well to try to curb this activity if it is able. That said the service was undeniably excellent. We DID tip but made sure that it was directed at those staff who gave us the best service and who did not try the forceful tactics.

Special mention and thanks goes to the waiting team led by Maitai, the pool bar staff particularly Yudier and Merlin, and of course Raul the manager.

Varadero is reached by a hop-on, hop-off shuttle bus. It is an uninteresting ride past a succession of hotels to a frankly drab and uninteresting town. Watch out for 'scams' with the horse drawn carriages. The drivers are going to charge you whatever they can get away with. Agree a fare before you get into the carriage, make sure it's not 'per person', not time dependent, and that there will be no extras. Really there is very little to do in the town itself which makes your choice of hotel very important.
I would recommend the Cayo Libertad in an instant for a peaceful, care-free and re-vitalising holiday.

Room Tip: Any 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, ON,
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This beautiful extension of the Marina Resort is worth considering. We stayed one week in low season: less than ten guests on the property which gave us such peace and quiet, full attention of the staff (meals, pool, smoking bar, golf cart transportation...). We played tennis each day at Marina accepting the golf cart service to get there. We walked home on the long beach enjoying the sand and warm water. There were over a dozen sailboats to ride; pool was very clean and in a lovely setting. There was always something to find at the a la carte sit down meals and if we ordered room service. The deep balconies facing the ocean give you respite from the hot sun or the occasional storm. This resort boasts friendly and helpful management and staff. The property is refreshingly a different shape from the norm which makes for interesting walks and discoveries. A fantastic Cuban getaway for a couple who want rest (no Wi-Fi yet, therefore, no neighbours yakking at the pool about "who cares what!"). Will return soon.

Room Tip: Try the two bedroom end suites looking out to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Nederland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel is part of the Blau Marina Varadero. The Cayo Libertad part is for adults only (18 years and older). You can also use the facilities of the Blau Marina Varadero. Great view of the Sea from every room! Really a place to relax.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view of the Sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not a huge fan of all inclusive ,but of it's kind this was great. On the tip of the peninsular and very exclusive with much better food than the main resort.
Choice of 3 beaches by the lagoon and piano bar by the main lagoon or the Caribbean ,lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds as everyone spread between private balconies and various beaches.
Restaurant very good for all inclusive Cuba , a la carte and cooked to request (only place where lobster served every night if you want it).
Good cocktails in fact the pina colada with or without rum much better than the puddings generally. had breakfast serves in our room each morning overlooking the palm trees, geckos and herons by the sea.
Only criticism was the music was dull for Cuba (they seem to think luxury means less salsa and more (excellent but dull) piano playing and violins. Sadly for conservatoire class musicians this was tedious as the guests would have preferred a livelier salsa band and all the dance classes and fun was elsewhere.
.As others have said .it is a long way from anywhere and really 3 nights would have been enough, regretted not exploring a bit more of Cuba which is a fantastic place .Not the resorts fault a perfect beach but ultimately there are lots of those closer to home. Cuba is the main attraction explore it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This review is long overdue... Cayo Libertad is, in my thinking, the best in all inclusive in Varadero. I have been going to Cuba since I was 14, and am now over 50, and needless to say have seen many many changes. If you are looking for a quiet, higher end place to stay, with incredible service.... this is THE PLACE!! Also the best food I have ever eaten at a resort in Cuba... it was actually excellent, much to my surprise! The new management has surpassed themselves in the running of this resort... the manager, as you have probably already read, apart from being absolutely charming, drops around daily at the pool or restaurant to check with all guests that their stay is going well. From front desk staff to the restaurant servers, cart drivers to musicians... all are absolutely excellent. My loved one and I both celebrated our birthdays while there, and the extra attention and wishes were so very unexpected and made our days. If you want a little excitement, you can also go over to the Marina side and find the normal, busy action at an all inclusive... I really can't list a single fault with this resort and recommend it highly. Am about to book again for another stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

Address: Autopista Sur Final, Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Blau Cayo Libertad Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning 5-star hotel on the tip of the Varadero peninsula, Cuba's most famous tourist destination, is set on a small and exclusive island surrounded by the most beautiful and seductive fine white sandy beach and crystal-clear waters, offering guests luxury, privacy and rest. Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium***** offers a total of 85 stunning Junior Suites and Suites in buildings over 2 floors noted for their incredible sea views and possibility of enjoying a personalised service. This romantic hotel set in beautiful gardens offers its guests a gourmet restaurant, cigar bar with piano during the evenings and an exclusive swimming pool, the edges of which seem to melt into the Caribbean. Guests can also enjoy the services and facilities as well as the "Barceló All-Inclusive" program of the hotel Barcelo Marina Palace, for which they will have preference. Welcome to the Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium*****, a new concept in personalised and exclusive service for Adults Only ideal for couples, weddings, honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, conferences, groups and incentive and business trips. Enjoy this stunning setting of the Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium*****, the perfect choice for your holiday in this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel to your Saves list