We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at corales” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Save
You added Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera de Baconao Km 31, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“stay at corales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at carisol. Sunwing lost our luggage and never found it as promised. We found it about 2 hrs later at the other resort.Guy at the front desk very rude and would only give 1 key. We offered to pay for an extra as this was very inconvenient ,but no go.Nor he would not give us the key but gave it to the rudest person in the resort, a guy in blue coveralls who found a tip not what he wanted so he stared us down and violently slammed the door. We had no luggage and were only 50 ft from the front lobby by the way. The only other bad thing was getting ripped off for 20 bucks by the xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx. Good news! The food was adequate and even better if you go to corales. The pizza and pasta bar was quite good at carisol All of the employees were excellent,from maintenance to bar staff to housekeeping, with a special tip of the hat to Angel (?)
Those who enjoy looking at speedos on 60 year old men will be in for a treat. The pool and adjoining bar were excellent and service was great.The beach could use some chairs as you have to be there by 6 a.m. if you want one.Other than a couple of minor incidents, we had a good time. The day trip to Santiago was a highlight as was the Super Bowl being shown on the tvs.If i returned, it would be to the corales. However, it was our 3rd time to Cuba and 1st bad experience with personnel, as the Cuban people are so polite, I think we will pass on a return to this resort. Good value for the price probably

Room Tip: Go to corales and stay away from the bungalows(water issue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    236
    185
    104
    50
See reviews for
153
231
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel was a really great authentic Cuban experience. The cost was amazing for what we got. Loved seeing all the animals and meeting so many great people. Snorkelling off the beach was lots of fun. The food was average, the pasta/pizza and morning omelettes were delicious. Thanks to some of the great staff. Rosetta (NO CHEESE!!), the lovely nurse, Barbaro the Sunwing rep and the fun bartenders. Loved the different musicians who played at the dinner buffets. Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a very nice vacation . Very clean and well maintained room. Food was adequate . Pools sparkling clean and a good temperature . The clean up from the hurricane was evident around the resort in the past year and the sunshades at the beach are slowly being replaced. Great value for the price we paid !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

For the price it was great. Food was taste, staff were friendly.
My buddy was already there 3 times before and he invited me. He love to scuba dive great for that.
Keep an open mind for the price your paying.
It is a really big place, Lots to see and very safe.

Room Tip: Bring katchup
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I took 12 friends with us this time to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales. Our last visit was in April 2013. We stayed in room 113 on the Corales side. Once again the weather was great, the pool was great and the drinks didn't stop flowing.

Yes, there are farm animals roaming around, but I think it adds excitement to the place. The food continues to be surprisingly good for a 3 star resort. Whoever bakes the bread everyday . . WOW. Amazing fresh bread daily. During my stay I ate eggs, toast and pancakes in the morning, pizza and spaghetti for lunch and rice, cabbage and squash for dinner. Sometime we would get late night sandwiches at the 24 hour bar. Not to bad, very tasty.

The entertainment was better than the last time we were at the resort. I find the rooms comfortable and clean. Our cleaning staff was very nice to us all week. We made lots of friends again this trip on both sides of the resort.

We took the catamaran tour with William (awesome guide), and for the price $65 we got a 3 hour boat trip with snorkling, lunch at the Santiago yacht club followed by a short tour of the city. Good deal.

Yes, we would return, but again only if the price was right. Everyone in our group paid about $548 per person for the week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week in Santiago de Cuba, at the Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales resort. Once again, I wish I was still there. I have travelled to this resort many times and will certainly continue to do so in the future. This time, I have noticed many changes at the hotel. First, they are under new management. This means that staff who were not quite doing their jobs in certain positions were replaced. There is a new P.R. Person and she really gives it her all. The grounds are cleaner, the food was so much better, the service was faster. Second, I have noticed that things "work" better. The shower and water pressure was good, there was a new toilet in our room,. we did not lose electricity once. Third, they have switched a few things around to make it a little easier for staff and visitors. We did not have to wait to exchange money - it was always available. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. I find that they go out of their way to make you happy. They are super friendly and are always smiling. I travelled with 5 other people - all repeat customers with the exception of one. We were all very happy with our stay at Los Corales and personally, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many rooms being a repeat visitor.....have never had an issue. This trip was room 206...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Travel alert: Bring cash to Los Corales. Credit cards are not accepted and you must travel two hours to get a cash advance. That's the bad news about this resort that an employee described as being at "the end of the earth".

Los Corales and its' sister hotel "Carisol" are located on the Caribbean Sea about an hour's drive east of Santiago de Cuba along one of the most scenic shorelines in Cuba. The hotel is about 30 kilometers from the US base in Guantanamo, but you would never know it. The weather in the third week in January was great with lows at night of above 20C and an average daily high well over 30C.
Other reviewers call the food at the resort "repetitive". One visitor during our trip countered that although the choices at the buffet didn't change much from day to day, there is enough variety that you could have something different almost every day. There is always a choice of two meats (usually fish. chicken or pork) and the local fruits and vegetables are fresh and delicious. If you eat ketchup, jam or other condiments bring a small supply. For breakfast there is always fresh made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit and juices, local breads, meats, yogurt and cheeses. At lunch there are excellent pizzas, hamburgers, hotdogs and other treats at the beach and pool bars if you want to take a pass on the buffet. At supper there are two excellent a la carte restaurants which require reservations to compliment the buffet restaurant.

For entertainment there is always a show each night at both hotels. These shows make the entire resort loud for their duration. Luckily the shows end at 11. Trips include a trip into Santiago, a visit up into the mountains to a big rock and a booze cruise with snorkeling and a guided Santiago tour. You can walk to local caves or take a horse and cart ride to the lagoon and a small village. The snorkeling off the beach is great.

There is a free shuttle bus into Santiago once a week. Be aware that Santiago is Cuba's second city. It is busy, crowded, noisy and dirty. Watch out for the touts. Cut off your resort wrist band before you leave or you will be an easy target. Never, ever buy cigars or rum on the streets. Sadly there are many beggars everywhere.

For a bit of peace and quiet try the rooftop bar at the Hotel Casa Granda. The elevator ride costs 3CUC but they give you one free drink to make up for it. We had lunch at Tango not far from the main square. The food and ambiance was great. Sandwiches (panini) seemed to be the specialty. Order a beer and they give you a free snack.

Prostitution has become a problem in Cuba. Some young people see this as an easy way to make cash in a country where a paycheque is often very small. I observed young women hanging around the hotel in the evening. They seemed to disappear when the security guards arrived but expect to be solicited in Santiago.

In reference to my title; animals wander the grounds freely. Cats and dogs silently beg for food with their eyes and it is not unusual to see pigs, goats, cows, horses and mules on the road and in nearby fields. One day a cow did make it into the unused tennis court for a short while.

If I were to have a complaint about the hotel it would not be about the food, service, facilities or employees. They were all excellent and staff tried their best to make my trip pleasant. Instead my complaint would be directed at some clientele. When we travel abroad we become our country's ambassadors. Drunken, loud, rude and boorish behaviour of some guests towards me lessened my enjoyment of this trip. Five stars for the hotel, minus two stars for those lumpen guests.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool. Only the bungalows have real ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

Address: Carretera de Baconao Km 31, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Hotel Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago De Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.