We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the Orient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Santiago de Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the Orient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very efficient hotel with excellent rooms , good service and good food.
Expensive Wi Fi though as everywhere in Cuba. The hotel is not architectural gem but you find everything you expect from an international hotel in Cuba (where nothing is perfect).
Actually is the best option anyway in Santiago area.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.
We are thankful for your review and are very satisfied you could find in our care the efficiency and good service that you were looking for.
Our challenge everyday is to accommodate our clients as comfortable as they can be and to pay close attention to their requests and suggestions. Every detail is important and with a 24 hour service, there is an exclusive line where our specialists in Customer Service are ready to answer.
Best regards,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    230
    64
    21
    5
See reviews for
60
232
39
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the only modern hotel we've stayed at in Cuba, and we thought it might turn out to be garish and horrible. Actually, we had a delightful time. It was a luxury, for a change, to have a modern, well-equipped room where everything works. The service is generally good, and the reception, concierge, housekeeping staff, etc., were very helpful. The hotel complex also includes a useful selection of shops: chemist, money changer, sportswear, gift shop, etc.
The pool area has two restaurants and some lovely shaded tables where you can relax for most of the day if you're over sightseeing, moving gently from coffee to beer to lunch to coffee...
Breakfast is not a high point: the coffee is lamentable, the service is grumpy, and there's a strange and erratic range of food, scattered around the large dining room in a way that makes it difficult to find what you're looking for. But in Cuba you have to remember that supply is a problem, and hotels have to make the best of whatever is available at the time.
In looking for a hotel in Santiago, we were initially dubious about the Melia because it was described as being "outside the town", and the photographs of the building itself looked hideous. Don't be put off: it's a four-minute taxi ride from anywhere, the grounds are lovely, and you don't see the architecture when you're inside! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.:
Many thanks for writing about the delightful days you spent among us. It is a great pleasure to know that you found extreme comfort all around and a well equipped modern room where everything worked.
It was great to hear as well that the pool area was really pleasant and you could enjoy of its amazing gastronomic services, fresh air and nice shadows to relax.
We are sorry to read your experience in the buffet restaurant was not as good as you deserved, and we will make sure we improve the service paying close attention to your point of view and suggestions.
We would like to appreciate the fact that you decided for us when planning your trip to Santiago de Cuba. We are happy you end up satisfied and recommending us. Thousand thanks for your review.
Best regards,
Manuel Martínez - Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having stayed overnight at this hotel during a visit to Cuba, I found this hotel to be typical of this Group. Very posh and attentive and a lovely cocktail bar with sitting area. Rooms are pleasant and well cared for. Food lovely and large selection at buffet style restaurant that we used. Bar at top of the hotel must be seen at night. Encased in glass the view is stunning.

Room Tip: All of us on this trip had equally good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs.:

Your review has been received with so much joy by the management and staff. It is the perfect reward to our every day work and effort. Always doing our best to please our clients and surprise them with a service beyond their expectations.

We loved to hear you visited the Bello Bar at the top of the hotel. It is one of our greatest attractions due to the marvellous view of the city and the delicious Cuban cocktails that you may enjoy there. And the Happy hours while watching the sunset could be the romantic touch for those who celebrate their honeymoons, wedding anniversaries or simply love.

We hope you have found among us enough reasons to come back. We will be awaiting the occasion.

Kind regards,

Manuel Martínez- Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great service, great fun and very comfortable room! Slept like a baby and the views looking over the mountains were so soothing - even when the rain came pouring down. Thanks to the staff at Santiago for the hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ms. Brigitte,
Thank you very much for sharing your feelings again with us. No one ever cares more of our clients than all the personnel and management of the Melia Santiago Hotel. In fact, this is the only chance we do have to show our hospitality and to extend our friendship beyond borders. It´s all in our hands to make our clients feel like at home and so they will always keep the memory of how comforting and irreplaceable was to stay in this hotel.
Remember that the Melia Santiago de Cuba Hotel will always welcome you every time you decide to visit us.
We will be very glad to hearing from you many, many times.
Sincerely,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a Cuba tour. It is clear that this is pne of the better hotels in this area. On arrival our roomkeys refused to work three times. One of the rooms had a leakage in the bathroom. As a result we were upgraded to a very nice corner room with huge bath.
The swimming pool is perfect and the service is great. The restaurant serves very decent food and has a good range of food. The only bummer is the piano in the restaurant making way to much noise. The pizza place in the courtyard also serves good pizza's.
The lobby has wifi but has to bought with a minimum of 12 CUC per card.
The hotel is located outside the citycenter. In hindsight I would have preferred a hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We are very happy we were able to address very fast the initial problems and you could finally enjoy of a very nice stay in our hotel. Anyhow we would like to apologize for the inconveniences. We will keep supervising all the details in the rooms to be able to receive our guests in perfectly clean rooms with all the equipment working properly.
We are very pleased the swimming pool was really nice and the service was perfect. Thanks for your comments related to the excellent quality of the food, specially the pizzas in La Fontana restaurant.
Concerning the location of the hotel we would say it is the best one, taking into account that even though it is not in the very heart of the city, it is closed to many interesting places, beautiful surroundings of a quiet residential area and away from the noises and normal centre pollution. In fact, an amazing opportunity to relax and find comfort after the usual long journeys through the city.
One more time, thanks for your review and we hope you visit us again very soon to surprise you.
Sincerely,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Melia Santiago claims it is a 5 star hotel but offers less than 3 star conditions.
My hotel room cost in excess of $120 per night (a high price for Cuba) but when I went to use the swimming pool, I found out that they sell these privileges to people off the street for $10. The result is large groups of loud people drinking in the pool, leaving garbage in and around the pool, and occupying all of the shaded loungers. It looked like a trashed community center pool!
The Italian restaurant offers relatively high priced food of poor quality. The spaghetti Bolognese had bones and other ground up animal parts in it. I was told that the kitchen staff replace the hotel supplies with meat purchased on the street! The hotel is still missing windows from the last hurricane and the lobby still leaks badly when it rains. Customer service was unavailable for 5 days and the front desk staff couldn't care less.
I have been to this hotel 4 times but this was my last. Better to rent somewhere else for less and pay $10 to use the pool. The front desk insisted on a credit card imprint upon check in to cover charges to the room which is normal. But upon checking out, they charge you the 3% transaction fee. This is against Visa policy as I have contacted them (Visa) about it. Unbelievable that a company the size of Melia International would expect me to cover their Visa handeling costs! Five star status requires more than painting 5 stars above the entrance. This hotel is in dire need of a complete makeover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We are very sorry your stay in our hotel was not as expected. We would like to apologize for every single detail you consider we need to improve, with the compromise of taking the necessary steps to make sure we are following the right direction towards a better level of service and comfort.
Concerning the operation with credit cards we would like to clarify that we are only following the normal procedures that are carried out in the whole country. It is not a system that Meliá Hotels International introduced and it is applicable not only to Visa card holders. It is clearly explained in the reception of the hotel that in the case of payments with credit cards the charge is in American dollars. For this reason the amount of the guests invoice in CUC is converted into USD, once the correspondent rate has been applied and adding the financial mediation.
Concerning what you were told about our staff from the kitchen we consider it is a very delicate issue which is completely uncertain and against all internal regulations, security dispositions, control and respect. The same happens with the pool area, in which we limit the access and pay special attention to all details, especially its pacific atmosphere and clean spaces, so much praised by our clients. On the other side Customer Service has been always available and ready to assist our guests with the usual interest and efficiency.
We would like you to give us a second chance to show you the hotel is not going down the hill, on the contrary, it is doing the best to be the first one to get to the top. We hope you give us a second chance and keep the confidence in our hotel chain. We are positive about changing your perception and hope you give us the opportunity.
Best regards,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

the hotel was great. Everything was fine. Only the possibilities of internet were below the expectations. The rooms were clean ans spacy. The restaurant ( breakfast and diner ) was very good with a huge variety.Across the street from the hotel there is a bar/restaurant where water can be bought at reasonable prices, and there is a small refrigerator in the room. The safe in the room was free.

Room Tip: boek een kamer met goede A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We are thankful for your excellent punctuation which encourages us to work harder and serve better. We provide a great deal of attention to our guests and their opinions are always analyzed. Many of our guests’ ideas have helped designing new options and improving many of our services.
We are really sorry the Internet possibilities were below your expectations and we are positive this service will improve in the coming future. It is really pleasant to know you found a huge variety in the restaurants as well as a very clean and spacious room.
We would like, one more time, to appreciate your review, hoping you include us in your next vacations plans some time in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 4*
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Santiago de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Melia Santiago de Cuba to your Saves list