We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience of the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Santiago de Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Save
You added Melia Santiago de Cuba to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our experience of the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. which is situated on the edge of the city. Unfortunately, we had a bad start as our luggage never arrived in our room.We spoke to reception and one hour later, it still could not be located. The service at this time was really poor and it seemed as if the staff were not really concerned. After a lot of shoulder shrugging, it turned out that at the last minute, our room had been changed and the luggage was sitting in an empty room. This took a long time to resolve.The room was clean and large. The buffet evening meal was very average with a poor choice of food. Breakfast was slightly better but was spoilt by the lack of glasses and crockery. There was a lot of waiting around for china and glasses which were always really hot..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We would like in the first place to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your luggage. We would like as well to point out that these kinds of incidents are not frequent in our hotel. The concierge department is very serious and takes excellent care of our clients’ belongings.
We have addressed the lack of crockery and glasses taking into account the actual number of guests staying in our hotel.
We certainly appreciate your review and found it very useful.
Many thanks,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    267
    80
    24
    5
See reviews for
71
263
46
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The main issue I have with this hotel is it's ridiculous five star status.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. To get five stars hotels have to provide coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. The Melia gets round this by providing the electrical equipment but not the tea or coffee.

The bathrooms have baths too. Marvellous, but they are so small that you need to be a contortionist to fit in one. They don't supply plugs. A men's Nivea roll on deodorant is the perfect fit but you could always bring a universal plug.

The buffet is pretty good at 7am and 7pm. Beware that once the food is out is is never topped up. Prawns will be finished by 7.15pm! You need to get your running shoes on and be ready at the kick off 7am and 7pm. After this the food runs out and you won't get a table. In the mornings the coffee and milk are on all the tables but when these run out you have a poor chance of getting any more.

At least 4 out of ten of us developed severe diarrhea which we think we got at this hotel. Some people won't discuss their personal business with others so this is a minimum. At breakfast at 7 am, of course, I saw a man in chef whites and hat carry a plate of cut tomatoes in one hand and a bin in the other to the food servery. If this is what you see, what do you NOT see?

The lift service is not adequate. There can be 10 minute waits for lifts. You can come down the fire escapes into public areas but not get access to the floors again. The system is such that you should wait till the lift is going up or down as necessary. The lift problem is such that people get fed up with this and just get into any blasted lift they can. They then stay there regardless and this clogs the lift system up even more. I tut, tuted the first day and then did exactly the same the second day.

There would appear to have been a beautiful top floor bar in this hotel but this was damaged in Hurricane Sandy and it is still not opened.

There is a bar that is like a town square. This is quite fun to visit. In happy hour you get two drinks for the price of one. The trouble is that it needs to be from a particular menu and they don't actually give you this spontaneously. You need to ask.

This is reputedly the best hotel in Santiago. Maybe it is. Do you really need to visit Santiago? The city is crowded and teaming with beggars. The main square has some impressive and historic buildings including a house where Christopher Columbus and Cortez lived.

First time visitors need to learn a few tricks to survive a stay here. I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Top floors have best views but only book these if you are fit and can run down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
After a very careful reading of your review we can conclude that you were not pleased with some of the services offered in our hotel and probably with Santiago de Cuba city. We are really sorry for that because our intention is always to provide our clients with a comfortable place to relax while enjoying our city treasures. However we respect your opinion and will carefully examine every single detail that you have pointed out.
Concerning the tea and coffee facilities our hotel provides the electrical equipment as well as the information concerning the way to obtain any of them in the room.
The bathrooms have a standard size and there are plugs available in all of them. We apologize you did not find one in yours; the maid probably did not notice that it was missing.
We will keep supervising the buffet service, making sure that there is a correct reposition of food at dinner time and coffee and milk during breakfast.
Regarding the elevators they work properly and the delay has more to do with the amount of guests that use them during the first morning hours in order to get ready for tours, to leave the hotel or just to have breakfast.
We are happy you enjoyed of our Happy Hour, it is a great opportunity to enjoy of our best Cuban cocktails.
Regards,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just loved this place. Location is great and everything just works well. Not an easy task in Cuba! Staff is friendly, rooms and public spaces are spotless and beds are comfortable. I'll keep going back.

Room Tip: Get rooms with a view of the Mecado barracks, kind of cool to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.:
Many thanks for your lovely words to describe our facility. We are very pleased you could enjoy of the comfort that our hotel is able to provide.
Being able to fulfil the expectation of our customers is our priority and first goal. It has turned into a philosophy and a commitment that include an excellent service.
We are as well absolutely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Communicating and establishing sincere relationships with our clients are essential elements in our daily work to achieve our clients’ satisfaction. It will be a pleasure to greet you personally during you next stay with us.
Our best regards and appreciation,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed one Saturday night on an overnight trip from Guardalavaca. On arrival our guide checked us all (4 couples) in, so we had no opportunity to question the room allocations. 3 couples were on higher floors but my wife and I were on the 2nd floor above the main entrance. This meant that we had significant noise in the middle of the night from "guests" departing the nightclub and cars apparently doing wheelies in the adjacent roads/car park! We were pleasantly surprised on reaching our room to find a spa bath, though were soon disappointed when we discovered that there was no plug for the bath so were had to shower or nothing. Having arrived at sunset, after a long day, 4 of us managed a quick swim as the pool was closing, which was great as we had it to ourselves. Nice to see several different pools at different levels. We missed out on the 2for1 cocktails because the downstairs bar had finished by the time we had swum and changed and the rooftop bar, despite being advertised in the lobby, never opened!
Dinner was OK, but as other reviewers have reported, there is a locust-like atmosphere in the restaurant with many empty dishes that were not re-filled. I have never before had to pay for each bottle as I order it when in a hotel restaurant, and having been told we were entitled to an inclusive glass of house wine it was surprising (?) that the wine waiter did not understand or know of this! We had planned to visit the nightclub, but having sat in the lobby for coffee after dinner and seen some of the "external" clientele arriving (attractive, under-dressed, young ladies and (much) older men), thought better of it. Breakfast would appear to have been good but we once again followed the locusts. Many empty platters, which were only just being filled as we left, having scanged enough to keep us going. This was our first experience of a Melia hotel - and probably our last.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible if you have the chance to avoid some of the night noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms.
We are very glad you had the chance to write this review for the Meliá Santiago de Cuba, which, once more gives us the opportunity we always need to improve our services and to make our follow ups more than intensive.
We regret very much not to have known at the time about your discontent with the room; regarding the fact, we are everyday ready to assist all the clients' requests at the Customer Service Office for 24 hours and, of course, we could have changed your room, to give you a different view of our services and that we can do magic to satisfy our clients once the Hotel door opens.
We are taking notes concerning the food replacement and the empty platters in the Buffet Restaurant and the rest of the issues you have mentioned. We are very consistent with what needs to be done when offering an efficient service to our clients in all areas of the hotel.
The fact that you loved the pool and that you had a great time there gave us the confidence that you will think it over and will give us the pleasure to enjoy the Meliá Santiago de Cuba Hotel for more than one night. You will taste our excellent service and will repeat many times in our hotel.
We will be glad to listen from you anytime.
Kind Regards,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is located on the relative outskirts of town and thus a walk or taxi may be required to get to the "action". however entertainment is provided in the hotel. The toom was large and the beds were very comfortable. The view from the room was excellent ranging all over the town. Unusually there was a coffee making facility in the room (the only one we had in Cuba) but there were no coffee filters. More unusual was a fridge and mini-bar list but no items corresponding to the list. Indeed the fridge was completely empty. Another quirk was the need to have a hotel credit to ensure that anything is charged to the room. This should have happened at check-in but did not occur to us although it was rectified. WiFi and internet are available but patchy. TV with international channels and credit cards accepted.

The breakfast buffet offered the best choice available. It ranged from the "usual suspects" of egg station, jucies etc to more local offerings, including a leg of roast pork, chicken, beans etc. The large numbers ebing catered for and theor locust-like tendencies meant that sometimes the food ran out onbut it was replaced. Efficient service meant that it was wise to keep an eye to prevent plates being whisked away before the food was finished.

We ate at the Italian restaurant choice in the evening as lunch menat that we did not want too much to eat. Good quality al dente pasta and Italians ate there with approval. Pizzas were offered in small and large sizes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ms. / Mr.:
We appreciate very much your interesting review and we are very sorry you did not receive all the information regarding our services at your arrival to the hotel. It is exactly during the check- in where all the hotel information is provided to our guests, it is the opportunity to request the mini-bar to be filled up, to know about the advantages of the use of the credit card, among other details.
Through the Customer Assistance Line our guests can order coffee filters as it is suggested in the information near the coffee maker. There is a quick response to any kind of requests or room service in a professional way and available 24 hours.
We are taking note concerning the food replacement in the Buffet and agree with you regarding what needs to be done when offering an efficient service in a five stars facility.
We loved to hear you had a delicious meal in La Fontana.
Sincerely,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Room 824, a large, clean room with a great view of Santiago de Cuba from the floor- to-ceiling windows. TV w/ international channels, AC, clock radio, free in-room safe, big bathroom with complimentary toiletries. As other reviewers have noted, the building and furnishings are a bit dated. But the 2-for-1 mojitos and live music at happy hour by the pool were excellent, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were both very good with a wide variety of items.

Room Tip: Many large tour groups stay here so don't be surprised if you have to wait a long time for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ms. / Mr.:
It is indeed amazing the view from the 8th floor. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay in our hotel and enjoyed of a nice room with the necessary equipment and amenities.
It is great as well to hear that the happy hour was fun and that the cocktails were really tasty, together with the live Cuban music around the pool. It is truly one of the hotel entertainment activities that our clients like the most. And once the happy hour by the pool is done, a second 2 for 1 Mojitos takes place in our Santiago Café night club, where the dancing lessons await to amuse our guests.
We are very grateful for your comments and believe there are very good reasons for you to visit us again.
Regards,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Highlight was the entertainment in the bars and in the restaurant. Some very good musicians. Buffet restaurant better than most and the food was HOT! Service excellent and staff very helpful. Very nice pool and terrace, including bar areas with outside terraces. Downside is modern not-very-Cuban building with relatively ugly architecture; also on outskirts of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ms. / Mr.:
We are very glad you enjoyed of our different entertainment options during your stay. It is a fact that the artists of the hotel are considered to be part of the best ones in town. They have a wide repertoire and can display any kind of music for the pleasure of our guests.
We loved to hear that the staff was very helpful and that the service was outstanding. Those are essential aspects to gain the respect and the admiration of those who visit us. It is precisely the reason why we are considered by many as the best among other options in Santiago de Cuba city.
We appreciate your candid comments about our hotel and wish you to be back pretty soon.
Best regards,
Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Santiago de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.