We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Santiago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Santiago de Cuba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Save
You added Melia Santiago de Cuba to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An oasis in Santiago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The girl at the reception was one of the most nice and polite person we met in Cuba. The service was great and she was everytime available for requests and questions. The hotel itself seems to be an oasis in the middle of a caotic city. The room was very good, the food great, the pool nice and the bar at the roof top was every evening an event. We had a very good time and would book the Melia Santiago again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We are grateful for your beautiful words to describe our personnel and services. It is the result of the everyday effort of a team very well focused on the clients’ needs and expectations.

It is an honour for us to know that you would be back in our hotel again in the future. We would like, in that case, that you contact with us in advance to be able to greet one more of our distinguished hotel friends.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    314
    104
    25
    6
See reviews for
81
312
52
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Probably the best big hotel we stayed in while touring Cuba. Rooms, food etc all OK. Liked the magician in the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Mr. /Mrs.

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay in our hotel and our city. It is as well rewarding to hear you had a great time with the magician during the recreation activities.

We would be pleased if you decide to visit us again. In that case do not doubt to contact us.

Best Regards,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Officially a 5 star, this is a european 4 star.
The best hotel of the many I stayed in Cuba, and apparently the best in Santiago.
Not too far from the centre.
Good rooms, higher rooms have a great view.
Excellent breakfast with music too.
Some nice bars but no-one in them!
Good service and no complaints

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs:

We appreciate very much your comments and hope to have the pleasure of a future visit to our facility. As you very well remark we have a great variety in our buffet breakfast while the pianist plays the lyrics of outstanding Cuban and international composers. The terrace, at the end of the restaurant, is as well a nice place to enjoy the sunshine and the fresh early morning breeze while having a cup of coffee.

Best regards,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Melia Santiago is the best of a (frankly undistinguished) bunch of hotels in Cuba's second city and the capital of Cuba's Caribbean coast. Its a tall building, a real landmark in Santiago and visible from afar. Excellent management as one would expect from the Spanish hotel chain Melia. Comfortable rooms, nice lobby bar. There is internet available but only in public areas unless you purchase the more expensive Royal Service. As with other Cuban hotels internet charges are high and the speed of the connection can be maddeningly slow. The hotel is located a fair distance from the old historic centre but one could walk there if exercise was on the menu. Contrary to the views of some other posters Santiago de Cuba is well worth a good 3-4 )day stay. The city itself has fascinating museums (Moncada Barracks Museum and the Carnival Museum are especially good) and the city is a good base for visits to the Basilica de la Virgen del Cobre as well as the Morro castle with its excellent museum displays on corsairs, pirates and privateers as well as fabulous views over the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs.

We appreciate very much your words to describe our city and our hotel. Santiago de Cuba is definitely worth to visit. There are interesting historical and cultural places and the people are friendly and special. However, the best places to relax after the different tours that you have mentioned are our pools, Lobby or any of our comfortable rooms.

One more time thanks for your time to share your experience in our facility and we will be pleased to have you with us in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and relaxing - our junior suite had large windows looking out from the 7th floor - even the bathroom had windows above the tub! The staff is very accomodating, the buffet breakfast has so much to choose from and it's in a large, very lovely dining room with live piano (mostly classical, perfect for early morning listening). Our favorite lunch/dinner meals were at the Italian restaurant just off the lobby. We enjoyed the pool area, and the lobby bar is very comfortable - try to see/hear Nora Mirsy, she is excellent! We especially appreciated the Customer Service Assistance we received from Yadira Forgas - she's an asset to the hotel! Can't wait for a return trip, perhaps this winter.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a sweeping view of the city; suites are roomy, especially the bathrooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Mr./ Mrs.

Delightful way to describe our services!

Many thanks for your kind words and we are the ones who feel pleased to have provided such an excellent attention.

You have, then, our commitment to keep the same line we have followed until the moment, always listening very carefully to our clients’ suggestions and comments.

We will be looking forward to see you this winter in our hotel. It will for sure another “wonderful experience”.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Morcillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

On our 15 day tour of Cuba this hotel was the best hotel we stayed in.
Very comfortable rooms; plenty of seating in the restaurant, with piano accompaniment; great choice and good quality food; really efficient shower; good pool/garden area, where there was shade available; efficient, helpful and friendly staff; 2 different happy hours at 2 bars (so you can have a happy 2 hours). The location is walking distance to the Plaza de la Revolucion and an easy distance to see the sights.
Just have patience with the lifts, which seem to have a memory and take you back to floors you've already visited!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The finest hotel in Santiago, period. Well managed and caters to the needs of travelers through a great customer service department. We stayed in a junior suite which was just right for us with a nice view of the city. Two very nice outdoor pools surrounded by Palm trees make for a great way to relax before or after spending your day sight seeing and visiting friends. Food was decent enough and staff pleasant. Any complaints were professionally and courteously addressed offering customer satisfaction and a smile. Well done, we will be back!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and spend a little more and upgrade to a junior suite over a regular room. Higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thanks for your recommendation and nice words to describe our services. It seems we have gained one more friend and it is a tremendous satisfaction for the whole team. We will work harder not to disappoint people like you who believe in us and hope you can come back again very soon.

The pool area of the hotel is really one of those places our guests enjoy the most, that is why many clients like you call them “the oasis” and we feel proud of it.

Our kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Santiago de Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.