We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big no no Bad Neighbourhood” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Basilio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel San Basilio
Save
You added Hotel San Basilio to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Basilio No 403 e/ Ca, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maldon essex
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Big no no Bad Neighbourhood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very disappointed in hotel, not what we expected at all.

Avoid room 4 at all costs. What we are about to say is all true. Wardrobe door kept falling off. No hot water at all in shower in mornings. Toilet cistern handle broke. Air con very very noist. TV never worked.

We were moved to another room which was better, but not much.

One of the main problems was a jazz club situated right behnid the hotel with music till 1pm. We heard other guests complaining about the noise, so beware if you are a light sleeper.

I was mugged with my handbag stolen less than 50 metres from the hotel. I realise this is not the fault of the hotel but guests have to know that the safest way back to the hotel after 10pm is by taxi (we were told that after 10pm it is dangerous to walk around)

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you must stay, otherwise go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We thought this was a great hotel - lovely old colonial building and well situated, but the best thing about it were the very helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked eggs / toasted sandwich, fruit juice, fresh fruit and endless coffee, what more could you want? Nice clean bathroom although the water supply was a little weak. Santiago is a lovely city, but do be warned, the touts were some of the most persistent and at times nasty we have come across in Cuba - they just don't seem to understand no thanks - you have to be VERY firm to get rid of them, and that is a pity as there are so many lovely people in Cuba too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

During our three-night stay here both my husband and I were very ill with D & V. The lovely lady on reception (Magda?), who also cooked breakfast, was endlessly helpful and often asked us if there was anything we needed and offered to call a doctor, make tea or prepare simple food for us. She also helped with phone calls when we could not contact our rep. We were very grateful for her help. As far as the hotel is concerned, it is small - about 8 rooms - and located on what appears to be a back street but is actually only one block from the main drag. We had an L-shaped room as it wrapped round a corner of the patio, but this meant it was a bit small and short of floor space to put our luggage. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. However our main concern was the lack of a safe in the room - the male receptionist who checked us in simply said "the building is safe". In short, a pleasant hotel and, apart from the lack of a safe, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had rated 5 stars for the Hotel Alone, but always When we left the house we had been awaited by touts who wanted to recommend restaurants. It wasn't possible to Walk Even 50 Meters to our rental car without being approched by one tout in Minimum. These guys have been much more aggressive than touts in Havana or Trinidad. The Hotel Management should taken Actions to Protect their guests but I'm Not sure they really are aiming to do this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is close to the city's downtown. It is nice inside though you have to watch out for the people that work here. I visited family in Santiago with one of my friends and we had to stay at a hotel because my friend couldn't stay with my family due to the government silliness. I came across this hotel online through a travel agents' website that deals with the Cuban hotel companies and the price was 11 CUC per night. I arrived to the hotel and asked the front desk how much was per night and the guy seemed like he was trying to fool me and said 85 CUC per night. I could tell just by looking at his face he was trying to rip me off. I left the hotel immediately, I dislike dishonest people and unfortunately that's how Cuba has made most of its people. They don't get pay well so the best way is to rip off the tourists. As a cuban my advise is to be careful in the island. There is no customer service and if you encounter a problem it will be your worst nightmare because they will try to make you responsible at all costs. If you visit, you are better off staying at Casas Particulares, they offer more security and the food is way better than this government run hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Truly the best place in Santiago to stay-- colonial charm but best of all very peaceful. Right around the corner from the main square but away from all the noise and chaos... The gentleman who worked at the front desk was extremely helpful and courteous. Very nice breakfast included in the price as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Hotel Basilo is great place to stay in Santiago if you are looking for good value accommodation in a central location. The building is beautiful and has original features everywhere. The rooms are small but they come with good air conditioning units, a TV with american channels and a mini fridge with soft drinks in. For us it was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Basilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Basilio

Address: Calle San Basilio No 403 e/ Ca, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Basilio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
San Basilio Hotel
Hotel San Basilio Santiago De Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Basilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.