We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff but lousy place...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Islazul Hotel Camaguey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camaguey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Carretera Central Este, Km 4.5, Camaguey, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Camaguey
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Helpful staff but lousy place...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Good:
- Very nice and helpful staff
- Er not
much else....

Bad:
- Super loud AC unit (kept us cool and well awake with varying sounds)
- Bugs in the room and dirty floors
- Smelly washrooms (urine stench)
- Pillows a little past prime (smelt like previous guests)
- Terrible beds (kept sinking in the middle -> backaches in the morning)
- We arrived late to the breakfast buffet the flies had been there for hours by the looks of it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    18
    17
    19
See reviews for
8
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I have stayed there the first 2 nights of my arrival in Cuba.
One thing to consider is that I speak fluently spanish and this is the 3rd time I am visiting Cuba, I am more a backpacker than a lazy tourist, so it was the 1st time I was staying in a hotel in Cuba.
When I arrived to the hotel, first of all, it's quite far from the city centre, so if you stay many days, consider you will have to pay for transportation from the centre to the hotel, which could be at the end quite expensive.
Then, after a long travel by bus, I had been given a room, which I thought was fine...and the worse came after: 2 giant cockroachs (from the side of my hand, I swear)came out of the shower, I thought I was going to have a heart attack. I asked for reception and they gave me instead the royal suite without any charge, which was better and without cockroachs.
Then, the second day I had a friend visiting me, he paid for his entrance to go to the swimming pool - it's 8 CUC but you can spend this money on the bar - fine. But after a while it was raining so we went upstairs at my room, and then the phone rang straight away, it was a lady saying ; Miss, you are not allowed to bring any one in your room.
Really pissed off, as if we were in a dictatorship, where every single movement is calculated....I remember I was on holidays so feeling quite bad.
I also need to mention I was with a cuban friend who stayed in another room on the same hotel.
Then the final touch was when going for breakfast (food is poor, I highly recommend anyone for tasty food and cheap food to go to the local market, much nicer), it's presented as a self service, and I found a grasshopper in the food! no kidding, I couldn't believe it.
After 2 exhausting days, I stayed in a casa where at least I had some peace.
Wouldn't recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

It was a pretty nice hotel. Reception staff were really hospitable and although the facility doesn't have irons, one of the chambermaids was more than happy to iron our stuff for us which was good. She didn't ask for anything but tipped her generously for her trouble - she didn't need to do that for us.
Showering/bathing facilities in the room were good and clean and the view from the balcony was great - you could see locals going about their day and you get to see the real Cuba. I only stayed their several days before going on to santa lucia for the rest of my holiday but i would definetely go back. It had a nice cafe/bar inside the complex which we went to once and had a sandwich and drink. There is also a cadeca to change money within the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

This is a surprisingly charming hotel given that it looks like a giant concrete block with straight lines cut out of it. The rooms are clean and well presented. They have air con and there is a bar and nice pool area. The staff are very helpful and friendly and this is the exception in Cuba where many don't understand how to handle tourists. The bathroom has warm running water and towels supplied. The breakfast is not the most exciting but there is lots of variety. Also, many cubans also stay here which is a pleasant surprise and it is very good for families.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Distance from city centre
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for one night during a trip round Cuba.

The hotel seemed fine for the price but on the morning that we were leaving, they decided to fumigate the place without giving us any warning! The fumes were unbearable, I imagine quite dangerous and we couldn't see a thing on the way out of the hotel, as it was impossible to stay in there while this was happening. It was also extremely noisy over night, I think though in fairness, that there was the baseball final that night but in the morning there were loud banging noises starting at around 5am that continued into the late morning-perhaps that was due to the fumigation but we had no warning or apology for it.

Breakfast was very average and the rooms were basic but clean. I did like the layout of the hotel, I found it to be a little like a tropical hospital!

On the other hand, Camaguey is a lovely city with a really nice atmosphere and an artistic history. I would love to return there, perhaps not to that hotel but if there was no where else, I would go there, just to stay in Camagueyl.

  • Liked — It was central in Camaguey
  • Disliked — no warning about the fumigation! breakfast not wonderful
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2004

Best pool area in town!,cheap rooms,food mostly pizza,burgers,nasty sandwiches.Suggest one bottle of havana club for day depending on how many people drinking!
Sometimes games,normally loud music good fun if busy!
Good place to hire car etc..
Cubans allowed in without a problem for the day
Caberet interesting - only one night a week think Friday?
thats it really - would just say good place for a few days if you need to be in Camaguey

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islazul Hotel Camaguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Camaguey

Address: Carretera Central Este, Km 4.5, Camaguey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islazul Hotel Camaguey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Islazul Hotel Camaguey to your Saves list