We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Islazul Hotel Colon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camaguey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islazul Hotel Colon
Republica 472, Camaguey, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Camaguey
Whiteley
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Okay for the one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed in Rm 214, one of the rooms off of the hotel's courtyard. Room was small with two single beds, en-suite, TV and air conditioning. No space to unpack our cases but as we were only staying one night this was not too much of an inconvenience. Although small it had an very high ceiling. The window overlooked the walkway around the atrium so if the shutters were open other guests could look in, though not many guests passed due to our room location.
Buffet style evening meal and breakfast, food was okay although some of our group found the choice limiting. On the ground floor of the courtyard was a sitting area with the bar alongside. Noise did travel up to our room but did not disturb us as much as the cockrel did at three in the morning, (nothing to do with the hotel though). No lifts were at this hotel so porters carried our cases to the relevant rooms, very helpful.
As a one night stay this hotel was okay but I would think twice about a long stay.

Room Tip: No tips for a better room although the ones along the corridor might be slighty quieter but cannot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    32
    47
    18
    11
See reviews for
10
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A real colonial style with a beautiful courtyard and good bar service. I was so glad I wasn't sharing a room, they were so tiny, but clean. However the rest of the hotel certainly made up for this. Good location too. Ample for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Colon three times over the last couple of years and it has always been delightful.
It feels like you have traveled back in time staying there.
They have a wonderful courtyard colonial style which offers shade in daytime. One can enjoy expertly mixed drinks from the bar and quite good meals from the restaurant. And all this at very reasonable prices.
And they seem to remember you too and their happiness to see you again seems genuine.
My friend the bar tender at the coutyard bar (they also have one in the lobby) last time remembered me instantly and without asking prepared my favourite Daiquiri .
Excellent customer service- the only little negative are the extremely small rooms. They do have two honeymoon suites which are bigger and one just has to ask for them, if they are available. Not a big deal, since I never spend much time other than for sleeping in the room.
The hotel is located right on the busy Avenida Republica and most interesting places, like the cathedral, Plaza de los Trabajadores, the pedestrian zone and the Galeria Colonial with my beloved cigar shop, Restaurante Don Ronquilo and the nighly shows.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the honeymoon suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful colonial building with a nice backyard. The rockingchairs around the backyard, which are happily used by many guests, create a funny cuban-colonial atmosphere which is really nice. The staff is exeptionaly friendly and the rooms VERY small but one of the cleanest we have encountered in three weeks cuba (cleaner thant the 4* crappy Trinidad del Mar…). The biggest downside is the AC, which is so loud that we could hardly sleep, without AC however, it is too hot to sleep. So basically you can decide: Sweating or no sleeping. But after all, more we could ever hope to get for 2*.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What are other reviewers expecting? This is a one star hotel in the back streets of a small town in Cuba. Yes the rooms are tiny and you probably wouldn't want a week there, but the whole place exudes old world charm. Colourful tiling, stained glass windows, real wood and mirrors in the lobby/dining area and a charming shaded courtyard with bar at the back. The food was fine too for this standard of hotel. Handy location for walking round the town and an interesting crumbling railway station just up the road with loads of photo opportunities. Don't be put off by other reviews, give it a go, you might just be charmed too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The rooms were tiny, very basic but adequate if you just need a place to sleep. Avoid the restaurant, we ordered omlettes and they came out raw, we sent them back and they came out raw again and at breakfast the food was covered in flies. Also while I sat at the bar waiting for a drink a cockroach walked along the bar top.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

As said by previous reviewers, rooms were small with very noisy air conditioning. The choice was roast in the heat and try to sleep or be cooler but unable to sleep because of the noise from the air conditioning. The hotel is dramatically different to the 2008 pictures posted here. The restaurant was being refurbished so we had our meals in the front "area/reception" fronting onto the street with the windows and doors open. All the food and tables were covered with flies. We were told this was the best option in Colon by our tour guide! Avoid at all costs!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Islazul Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Colon

Address: Republica 472, Camaguey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Colon Cuba/Camaguey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Islazul Hotel Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Islazul Hotel Colon to your Saves list