We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Templete Havana 7th March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ave. del Puerto esq. Narciso Lopez | Old Havana, Havana, Cuba
+53 7 8668807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 466 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“El Templete Havana 7th March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a late lunch so we had the restaurant more or less to ourselves, in the evening it’s probably safer to book. We ate inside because it was windy, the decor was oldie worlde, spotlessly clean with nice tables covered with white linen tablecloths, decent wine glasses and good service. My wife had lobster tail served on top of the shell, the presentation was lovely as was the taste, I had two huge pieces of the most delicious tuna stuffed with cheese and tomato both came with mixed veg and potatoes washed down with a couple of glasses of very drinkable house white, we finished with ice-cream and coffee. The cost was 70CUC's fairly expensive for Havana but worth it for the quality and service.This is still cheap compared to UK prices. If you like fish don't hesitate just go you won't be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Customer
Thanks for posting your comments on the site and help us with others visitors who can learn more about our restaurant. We are pleased and happy to have made ​​your stay a pleasant one at our house. Thanks for commenting on our offer, the decor of the place and the quality of service. All positive reviews and pleased customers greatly motivates our staff to work in order to keep the customer satisfaction. You will be always welcome and we hope you decide to come back and visit us when you return to Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    146
    46
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated on a noisy street overlooking the harbor, the El Templete serves really great seafood. We, being a party of 20, had a set menu lunch. Prawn starter, tuna wrapped in red pepper, a potato roll, maui maui with egg plant and some variety of potato that we did not recognise, a brownie with ice cream and coffee.
Really good tasty food

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear customer:
The restaurant manager wishes to thank your comments posted on the site to share with other visitors. Our restaurant gets a lot of client that are part of groups that visit us through travel agencies and we received very few reviews of tourists who consume a fixed supply. That's why, we are very grateful for this opinion and you recommend it as a good option. We hope you return to visit us always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gemm of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best restaurant we came acrooss in Cuba. Good menu/wine list, reasonably priced and good service. As good as any international restaurant of its type. Great location if staying in Old Havana.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear customer:
We feel very happy with your opinions. Thank you for considering and recommending a good restaurant to live up to any international restaurant. For us it is a great pleasure to make customers feel at home in our place and are really pleased with our offer. See you back forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had heard good things about El Templete, but found that dinner there was nothing special. We had the paella which was more than edible, but certainly not memorable. Service was good. The night we went the restauant was surprisingly quiet so the atmosphere was quite subdued. Overall just of for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Customer
Thanks for posting your comments on the site. For us it is always very important to know the opinions of our visitors. We regret that we not exceeded your expectations and have dinner at our house only have seemed acceptable. However, we will endeavor to find alternatives on future occasions to delight our customers. We hope to always you return to visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A good experience ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We ate here on a windy evening, so decided to have a table inside. Liked the decoration which was very attractive.

Unlike some reviewers, we had smiling and very helpful staff and good service. Also fantastic wine and very good fish. No complaints at all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear customer:
Thank you for your comments posted. We are pleaced that you felt comfortable in our restaurant with food and service. Thank you for choosing our wine and our fish. Hope you always decide to return and become a loyal customer of the house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Templete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.