We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience at Reina's & Paco's couldn't have been any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Particular Reina y Paco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Particular Reina y Paco
Save
You added Casa Particular Reina y Paco to your Saves list
Carcel 101 e/Morro y Prado, Apto 5B | Edificio Bolivar - Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our experience at Reina's & Paco's couldn't have been any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My girlfriend Barbara and I had such an amazing time staying at Reina's & Paco's. In all honesty we wished that we had allocated more time from our trip of Cuba for Havana. Reina, Paco and their son in law Jose were so incredible friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. When we first arrived they welcomed us with cuban coffee and we relaxed on the patio which over looked the malecon, la fortaleza and a beautiful park. Really the location was perfect. It is right on the water, walking distance to Habana vieja as well as centro and the other side of the malecon. Jose was so nice, he drove us down to exchange money (waited for us which we went in side) and then took us to the partigas cigar factory. Our room was very spacious, with our own balcony as well as bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, clean and I slept like a baby after spending the day walking around the city. The best part aside from conversation with Reina and Paco was the breakfast! I guess I am a sucker for good food and wow was it good. They had freshly squeezed mango, pineapple or papaya juice. Fresh fruit, delicious scrambled eggs with peppers, sausage, onions, etc. (I seriously was asking what they put in the eggs because they were so good! hah) They also had beer, water, freshly made lemonade, etc. on request and in the afternoons surprised us with fried bananas. They help us get a rental car, as well as really give us an amazing insight into what it is like living in Havana which really is huge in my opinion. I like really experiencing the culture which you really can't get when you stay at a hotel. Reina and Paco were amazing and would absolutely recommend to stay at their casa particular.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Google Translation
Hola jóvenes ! qué linda opinión! , gracias, sé que es sincera y que realmente sienten lo que expusieron en esas líneas, gracias a ustedes también porque charlamos, reímos, compartimos opiniones, intercabiamos de muchos temas, tenerlos acá también fue bueno, pues conocí detalles que nos conmovieron, hechos de su familia que con gran confianza nos transmitieron, gracias, me quedo contenta porque sé que volveran algún día, Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
97
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Absolutely amazing stay, best casa particular in Cuba! Warm welcoming family that really put a lot of effort in making our stay the best possible. After a few nights it already felt like coming home! The rooms are clean and tidy with all you could need (fridge, a/c, hot water, cool breeze) and very comfortable beds (we stayed in both rooms as we were coming and going from different parts of the island and they are both great). Breakfast with Paco's special scrambled eggs with ham and pepper overlooking the Malecon was definitely something I will remember forever.
Muchisimas gracias por todo familia!
Alicia & James, May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias Alicia, gracias por el comentario sobre nuestra casa y nuestras atenciones, es cierto, siempre nos esforzamos más para que nuestros huéspedes hagan de sus vacaciones una estancia felíz, no solo en casa sino en Cuba, hago de mi hogar la casa de quienes me visitan y a cada uno entrego los detalles que solo una Casa particular como esta puede brindar. Gracias por estar aquí, por volver, por respirar como si estuvieras en casa, no lo pienses mucho regresa porque otros lindos lugares nececsitan de tu presencia.
Un abrazo para esa pareja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was the perfect location for my two nights in La Habana - the view from the balcony is spectacular and the location in general is close to many of the sights. Reina and Paco were amazing hosts - the house is very nice, everything is very clean, and they have all of the necessary amenities (a/c, refrigerator with water and beverages, hair dryer, etc). I would highly recommend this Casa to anyone planning to spend time in La Habana - staying in Casas rather than a hotel is definitely the way to go!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias chicos, gracias por acordarse de nosotros y dedicarnos un lindo comentario en este sitio que visitan los futuros huésped, fueron ustedes muy atentos, respetuoso y ciertamente disfrutamos también de su visita e intercambio, siempre que deseen regresar, aquí estamos también para sus familiares y amigos, nosotros encantados con su vista.Volevran algún día, pues lo recibiremos siempre con cariño.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed with Reina and Paco for 3 nights (2 nights at the beginning of our trip and 1 night at the end of our trip) and it was absolutely wonderful! Our flight was delayed 2 hours and instead of arriving at 10pm, we did not make it to the casa until after midnight and Reina was sitting in front of her porch waiting for us! Reina and Paco made arrangements for us at other casas and helped us change it last minute when we decided to visit other cities on our trip. They served great breakfasts on the balcony every morning - which had a beautiful view. It is close to Prado and Malecon - great location. We felt safe. The casa is small and on the 5th floor (elevators were not working until the day we left!), which was tough but good exercise. Our room was very comfortable and clean, we had our own bathroom, refrigerator and A/C! We spoke some Spanish and it was great being able to practice with them as they speak limited English. We stayed at 5 casas on this trip and casa de Reina y Paco was our favorite!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello friends, thank you for finding me and trust prpuesta, grcias you for taking the time for this post nececsario so cute and cuddly, thanks for the compliments, and I hope people continue to travel as ustdes as all guests who visit me in my house always tendrám these attentions. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights with Reina and Paco and loved it! They were very accomodating hosts and served us up beuatiful breakfasts every morning. Our roast chicken dinner was one of our favorites of the trip! Chilling out on the balcony and watching the world come and go was wonderful. The casa is in a great location to explore the old part of Havana.
We didn't speak much Spanish but still managed to communicate just fine with Reina and Paco.
The room was lovely and we had our own ensuite with a nice shower.
The stairs were a challenge that helped us get in shape for our cycle tour. The elevator was being reconstructed while we were there.
Thank you Reina and Paco, we had great time!
Naomi and Jess

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you Jessica, Thank you Naomi, very ambles girls they behaved with great respect, certainly different language was not essential to every need of you knew satisfy eachother for them to enjoy a happy stay at home, gracais for choosing us for your stay in Havana, this place gave them a lot of energy to continue their journey on bicycles, is what we always provide a nuestos guests. Thank you, we are also here for your friends and family. A hug from this island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the casa of Reina and Paco just one night, I wish we could stay longer. Reina and Paco are very nice hosts. We enjoyed staying with their family. When we arrived Paco welcomed us with some fresh juice and made us feel at home. The casa has a great view on el Morro and Malecon, it is very close to boulevard Prado and to all main attractions. Reina recommended us some places to visit and gave us a guide book that helped us a lot to discover the city. It was a great advantage that I could speak a little bit of Spanish and it is always fun to stay with Cuban people and to see the way of their living and to be able to communicate and be introduced to other members of the family. Reina and Paco are very nice and intelligent people. We travelled a lot in Cuba and stayed in different casas on the way, but this casa was one of the best and definitely on our trip back to Havana I will arrange accommodation here again. The casa is clean, everything is in good order. Reina provided us with great breakfast (fruits, eggs, potatoes, tomatoes, fresh juice, tea or coffee, bread and butter) even too much for my taste:) but I didn’t feel hunger till the rest of the day;). They arranged for my friend transfer to Trinidad and transfer for me to Havana airport. They let me stay longer and use shower etc because my flight was in the evening. That is a really very nice place to stay. We enjoyed it there and it was very relaxing on our last day in Cuba in Havana. We will definitely come back one day. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks Irina, thank you for your beautiful lines written for such an important site, was very positive empathy between you and us, I always try my guests feel oriented, served, satisfied by the chosen place, our work is always based on the guests to make your stay more pleasant, my house facilities will always be available, of course this can be when you get back home again, I hope that one happen again. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

When booking a casa particular in Cuba you know that things couldn't be perfect. Nevertheless it's still embarrassing when promises aren't held or you're suddenly confronted with claims for extra payment etc. This was the case here and it diminished the positive impression of Casa Reina y Paco.
The cons:
• 5th floor = 6 stairs. When we arrived after a 24 hours journey at 10 pm we realized that the elevator didn't work, obviously for months. Reina never told us about it although we exchanged at least 5 emails in the months before. Fortunately she had hired someone to carry up our luggage all the stairs.
• No independence; you live with the family when having breakfast or sitting on the balcony
• Old shower system, with very little and not very hot water
• 30 $ per night were agreed for the room incl. breakfast. The morning we left, Reina suddenly claimed 5 $ for each breakfast extra. We told her that something else was agreed and eventually she backtracked.
• Neither Reina nor her husband nor anybody else in the house speaks English. So communication is difficult for non Spanish speaking people.
The pros:
• Really beautiful view from the balcony towards the Morro citadel and the harbor entrance (Bahia). Nice sitting there for breakfast or a drink in the late afternoon.
• Excellent breakfast
• Reina offers juices and drinks in the afternoon if you like.
• The room is not very spacey but fine. The bed is good.
• Everything very clean.
So if you don't have a problem to climb the stairs nor to discuss again former agreements Casa Reina might be just fine for you. Our joy, however, was negatively affected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review, but you identify whether a person who has actually been in my house seems to know the characteristics of this form of accommodation; I'm surprised that much time has booked a private home in Havana to find on arrival that her family lives , this is a form of rent in Cuba and most travelers who use it do so decisively to live with families Cuban , every comment or opinion on this familiarity identifies my house that my husband and I serve our huépedes . In his commentary there incongruity that do not correspond with the reality of my house , the photos on TRIPADVISOR my house all are contributed by guests , are graphic testimonies attest to the conditions of the bathroom in my room , are what they need a host, are modern and stylish , even though they may be improved or perfected, that 's what we do every day to make guests feel at home in the chosen location .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Particular Reina y Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Particular Reina y Paco

Address: Carcel 101 e/Morro y Prado, Apto 5B | Edificio Bolivar - Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of the Cuban capital, Havana Vieja find particularly Queen and Paco House.Suitable front overlooking the Malecón Habanero, the Morro and Cabaña, the left side the famous and emblematic Paseo del Prado and right view of the Bay Tunnel, the Embassy of Spain, the Museum of the Revolution and the port , you can enjoy the tranquility or the Atlantic Ocean overwhelmed. Spacious room, very airy and light with large windows and private balcony, maintains a modern simple style, ideal for relaxing, reading oceanfront or romance extended in the light of the camera and one personal luna.Cama YTV make the room with other furniture needed to stay independent agradable.Baño, hot water and other amenities.We offer delicious breakfasts on the terrace full quality beachfront Caribbean style, it includes room service and laundry service.Attention only to you, personalized, professional guidance and suggestions with safe and detail present 24 hours a day."Queen and Paco Casa Particular is what you are looking for your vacation in the Caribbean. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Particular Reina y Paco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.