We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite case in Cuba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Amador

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa Amador
Save
You added La Casa Amador to your Saves list
Calle 18 #113, apto 2 | Entre 11 y 13, Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 484 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nicaragua
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite case in Cuba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Everything you read on here is true, the food is excellent (we ate breakfast and dinner in the casa every day) and the service is faultless. Brian and his team make everything as comfortable as possible. The room was cleaned daily and was the best room we had our entire trip, with plenty of space and privacy but still nice and quiet. Brian organised our other two casas in Vinales and Trinidad and both of those were perfect also. He will assist you with taxis and buses and suggest things to see and do, places to eat, etc. He really cares about his guests and tries his best. We loved the location as you have the Malecon at the end of the street for a beer at sunset, the Hop On/Hop Off tourist bus is within walking distance and there's plenty of cool places nearby (a theatre, an art space/gallery, a cool cafe/book shop called 'Cuba Libro' and a lovely restaurant 'Juana Cubana' - do a cooking lesson with the chef!) You can also simply stroll around and marvel at the architecture as we often did. Thank you so much Brian for making two world-weary travellers feel so at home, we will definitely recommend you to everyone who goes to Havana!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you Amanda for your comment! It was delightful to have you over for few days. We are very happy that you and Alan enjoyed the stay so much. We hope to see you again :-)
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
49
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

PRICELESS, GREAT, EXCELLENT, BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!
This was my first stay at CASA AMADOR, highly recommended, is a luxurious place with an excellent services, Brian was very helpful and friendly, very special and delicious food, is a perfect place to stay, CASA AMADOR is the best in Havana and definitely will stay there again with my family,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks a lot Yomiranda :-)
It was great to meet you. From now on, you are permanently welcome here. I am glad you that you enjoyed our company, food and place. Please come back.
Best regards from all us.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

highly recommended ..
no matter how well decorated and luxurious is a site if u don't feel like home........but....if there is there someone like Brian who knows how to convert a few days in an ancient city on the best vacation ever.......then you've found the perfect place to stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much Johann for your comment. That is our mission: to make every guest to feel like home. I am glad to hear that you are one of them.
See you again? :-)
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

i stayed with my girlfriend for 5 nights. Brian was very helpful and friendly. i have stayed in other houses and this is by far my favorite and its the service that Brian gives that makes it. i wished i had dine there, the food always smelled really good. breakfast was good and the location was also good. i definitely will stay there again. he also was very helpful for my wedding with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Ery for your comment. It was great to have you over for few days. Happy stay, happy wedding, happy life. I hope to see you both in a near future.
Best wishes from all us!!!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was my second stay at Casa Amador, and I have to say that there’s something about the atmosphere at Casa Amador that makes it so special. The staff is very friendly and helpful; I love the welcome drink of Cuba-Libre it has a special taste that I have never tasted before, they do everything to make your stay something to remember. I have recommended this place to others, and will continue to do so, and I will absolutely stay there the next time! We enjoyed our 7 day stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much Marcela for your comment. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at casa amador twice during our 4 week long stay i cuba.
The rooms are clean and nice, the food (we are vegetarians an Brian really putted effort in cooking nice veggyfood) were excellent. the Cuba-libre we got as a welcome drink tasted like heaven. We stayed in total 8 nights and we would definitly stay at casa amador if we went back to cuba!
When one of us catched a cold, Brian maid us warm tea with honey and fixed aspirin, he always did the little extra things that made us feel extra welcome and comfortable!
U can ask Brian or Ernest anything and they always try to help!
The location is great, close to the malecon and in a quiet nice area, its a bit far to the old town, but with a taxi colectivo it only costs 1CUC!

We can gladly recomend this place to anyone!!!

Muchas gracias por todo Brian y Ernesto!
besos de
Hanna y Linda!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks a lot Hanna and Linda for your comment. We enjoyed your visit as much as you did. You are always welcome here. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at Casa Amador for 4 days and had the best experience ever. Brian is very friendly and hospitable. Practiced my poor spanish with Brian a lot! The room is spacious and super clean. The breakfast is the best! Homemade Jam and Juice. Do have breakfast there, it will last for the whole day. We arrived at late night, and Brian was waiting for us. When he knew we were hungry, he cooked the cuban sandwiches for us, our first cuban food taste which was great. We asked Brian to pack the same sandwiches again to eat on the bus for Varadero. Will definitely go back again.
The location of the casa is great to salsa dance lovers. The famous dance spot 1830 is just 5 mins by walking from the house. As of mid-March 2014 I can confirm that 1830 plays salsa on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday form 17:00~24:00.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian Reinaldo R, Manager at La Casa Amador, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much Shuyang for your comment. It is good to know we made a good impression on your first visit to Cuba. I will give you my recipe for the Cuban Sandwiches next time. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Amador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amador

Address: Calle 18 #113, apto 2 | Entre 11 y 13, Vedado, Plaza, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airy 1940's apartment, just 2 blocks from El Malecon and the restaurant 1830. Two bedrooms share one bathroom and one bedroom has an en-suite bathroom. The host of the apartment, Brian Rangel, is also the chef, should you decide to dine there. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Amador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.