We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best meal in Cuba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paladar Los Mercaderes

Paladar Los Mercaderes
Calle Mercaderes #207 | e/ Lamparilla y Amargura, Havana, Cuba
+53 7 8612437
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 464 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant is located in the center of OLD HAVANA in a beautifully renovated colonial house built circa 1890. It has 3 salons, each with unique decorations, fabulous furnishings and signature tiles. There are also frescos from 1905 on all of the walls which brings an added facet to the style of the restaurant. Our beautiful interior hanging garden adds an enticing and pleasant ambience to your dining experience. Please join us and enjoy fabulous food, friendly service, great beverages and all the best of old Havana.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My best meal in Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Amazing food and inexpensive (for US standards). Even though it is more expensive than other places, this is well worth it. I had my best meal there during the 9 days I was there. Don't miss this place, it is around the corner from the cathedral. I had the mix seafood grill, couldn't be fresher and perfectly cooked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    139
    39
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant run by motivated stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Great Paladar with exceptional food, service and fair prices. Huge international wine card, though prices are also on international level. If you want to have one of the 3 romantic tables on the balcony, reserve them at least one day in advance. A great example of what a motivated team can do!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was a highlight of our trip. Everything was perfect. Ambiance, service, food and drinks were all excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal, lovely surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The restaurant was a joy to sit in, very elegant. The food was amazing and beautifully presented and the wine excellent. The staff were very attentive and friendly. This was by far our best meal in Havana.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Exceptional Food, Exceptional Service, Exceptional Setting !!!

> Exceptional Food: imagine that in Cuba the variety of available produce is scarce and actually this is when exceptional food can be best recognized: magic on a plate, prepared with only a few fresh ingredients. We had Grilled Lobster with a delicate coffee cream sauce - which worked magically! - and beautifully smoked pork tenderloin glazed with a prune sauce. I can honestly say that as a fanatic amateur cook who appreciates simple yet beautifully prepared dishes "Los Mercadores" is a feast.

Note to myself: industrial food has not yet arrived in Cuba and I wish we could turn back time in our parts of the world...

> Exceptional Service: I am simply impressed with the talent, knowledge, language skills and attentiveness (while respecting your privacy) of the people who work here. I would not be surprised if the young lady who appears to be in the hostess ("maître d'hôtel") actually is a cardiologist or aerospace engineer, and whatever that would be she would also excel!

> Exceptional Setting: Simply trust the young man downstairs that your evening will be wonderful, it will!

We have eaten in many places throughout Europe, Asia,US and Central America, from street food to *** Michelin stars and never ever thought about sharing our experiences....this time it had to be done! ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paladar Los Mercaderes also viewed

 

Been to Paladar Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paladar Los Mercaderes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.