We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best restaurant in Havana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paladar Los Mercaderes

Paladar Los Mercaderes
Calle Mercaderes #207 | e/ Lamparilla y Amargura, Havana, Cuba
+53 7 8612437
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 357 restaurants in Havana
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant is located in the center of OLD HAVANA in a beautifully renovated colonial house built circa 1890. It has 3 salons, each with unique decorations, fabulous furnishings and signature tiles. There are also frescos from 1905 on all of the walls which brings an added facet to the style of the restaurant. Our beautiful interior hanging garden adds an enticing and pleasant ambience to your dining experience. Please join us and enjoy fabulous food, friendly service, great beverages and all the best of old Havana.
Copenhagen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great food, great location, professional and friendly service, fantastic rum and passionate Yamil.
Cuba is not known for its food, but Paladar Los Mercaderes strives to change that fact.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    398
    88
    31
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent choice in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting this fine restaurant last night and after a few nights of indifferent service and poor food we were VERY pleased with this place. Yamil, one of the owners represents the new breed of Cuban businessman that now can rightfully go on and be millionaires in their own right. He deserves all he gets/has, as he is running a fine establishment and training his staff well. Estelle who served us spoke excellent English, although she said "my English - it is a disaster" :-) and was always on hand to assist us - a rarity in Cuba. To add to this the food was excellent, also another rarity here. I strongly recommend the place and will be returning tonight!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lois and Yamil deserve to make a huge success of this great paladar. Located in the old town with lots of atmosphere, the guests dine in a converted house with original tiles and features. The welcome was friendly and the service professional. My lobster was delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paladar Los Mercaderes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have no criticisms of this restaurant, which I would recommend without hesitation. It was the best we ate at in Havana by a wide margin. Ambiance, comfort & location were excellent. Service was excellent - well informed, attentive & tri-lingual. The menu was nicely varied & the six dishes we tasted were all well above par in terms of cooking quality & presentation. Overall it was very good value, & only a little more expensive than other "high-end" Cuban restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Walking around this area, there are plenty of places to eat and this one caught my eye. the food is definitely more expensive than the rest but if you feel like splashing out a little bit more for your best meal in Cuba (fantastic taste, quality and portion size), then you will not be disappointed. Good live music, which wasn't too loud, unlike most restaurants in Cuba.
Astounding level of service, Esther, our waitress, took time to explain the decor that she had noticed we were appreciating, ran over with a larger ashtray to suit the size of my cigar amongst other small details during the meal.

Also we were most impressed by the fact that after we finished our huge starter we were asked how long we would like to wait for our main course and we needed at least 30 mins before we were ready and weren't made to feel rushed in any way what so ever.

This restaurant is the whole package, setting, food and service and I would consider it a crime for anyone who visited Havana, to not visit at least once during their stay.

pepper mill on my first visit wasn't very efficient is the only negative thing I can say ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paladar Los Mercaderes also viewed

 

Been to Paladar Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paladar Los Mercaderes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.