We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make a booking now and GO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivan Chef Justo

Ivan Chef Justo
Aguacate 9, Esquina Chacon | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
078639697
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 466 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“make a booking now and GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just got back from Havana,and after doing some research on Havana A Good time App we discovered that Ivan had a great palladore but had moved.Thanks to Tripadvisor we tracked him down to this location and loved the place so much came back a second time. Its only been open a few months but is already very popular so you might want to book, or turn up as we did on the first night at 930 and manage to grab a table.

Pumpkin soup was amazing - if you are veggie ask for it without the pancetta on the side. The fish and the tacos are also amazing.

its near the museum of the revolution, if you fnid a doorway wiht a mat that says welcome in spanish you are there. there is no sign

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    62
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We ate there upon a recommendation of a Swedish/English couple we met in the casa de cigars and we were so pleases with the food and the passion of the owner / chef and the excellent service from staff . We had pasta con fruit a del mare lobster was juicy and fresh and the pasta was home made and for desert we had the leche layers was delicious and sardines for entree all were magnificently presented and cooked with a passion which I did not find anywhere in Cuba
All that Cuba lacks is cuisine but if you try food from Ivan chefs gusto you will see a different side of Cuba

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“Amazing food and wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went to this up-scale and beautiful restaurant the other night. It had outstanding guest service, the food was exceptional and the decor was amazing. I really enjoyed my self. I recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I visited Ivan Chefs Justo with two friends in November, we were in Havana for the ballet festival.
A small narrow staircase led up to the bright and cheerful restaurant, with an interesting mix of pictures around the walls and up another staircase to a small intimate bar and balcony. The service was excellent with our waiter speaking good English. The menu was on a board with an interesting choice of food but not extensive which meant the food was cooked to perfection. Although it was not busy on our first visit the restaurant atmosphere was warm and inviting.

We loved it so much we returned the following night, and although the staff were different we had another thoroughly enjoyable meal. I can certainly recommend if you are in Havana, to visit this restaurant where food and wine were excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivan Chef Justo also viewed

 

Been to Ivan Chef Justo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivan Chef Justo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.