We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Havana and great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Colonial 1861

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colonial 1861
Save
You added La Colonial 1861 to your Saves list
Street 10 #60 Between/ 3st y 5st, Vedado | Street 10 #60 Between/ 3st y 5st, Vedado, Havana 02000, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 484 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great stay in Havana and great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Cuba in January 2013 and stayed 4 nights here. Armando was terrific, as well as a very comfortable spot to stay he acted as our guide during the visit since we spoke only a little Spanish. The casa was very beautiful and we had lots of space to enjoy and relax after a busy day touring Havana. It was a great opportunity to see the real city and talk to a local. We learned so much, really glad we chose Armando. He took excellent care of us recommending restaurants, calling ahead to the next casa, letting our kids know we arrived by email. I am very confident in saying that Armando will be very successful in his new venture. By the end he was our new friend, not just our host!

We enjoyed our breakfasts prepared by Thaymare and also had a lovely Cuban meal prepared by her mom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Bill

Thank you so much for your opinion. We feel very good with all of you in La Colonial 1861 and walking around La Habana. I enjoy sharing with you, Frank and with the frames!!!!

You always have a good friend in Cuba.

All my love for you!!!

Armando & Thaymara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
101
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Armando's place last December as solo traveller and I loved the house even at first look. Although I am always sceptic about the pictures of places to stay since the pictures are always kind of liars this time, I got really surprised that the reality and pictures match that much!
First of all, Armando is really helpful about everything in La Habana and Cuba in general and doing his best to make you feel confortable and make you very good suggestions about city such as restaurants (la Guerida) and bars (Amarillo Submarino). It was very nice to chat with him especially at night by enjoying our glass of roms of leganderio and meeting his local friends.
On the other hand, the house has really got a colonial style and you feel the artistic taste of the host even from the furniture which are kept in very good condition. Although the location is a bit far from the downtown and main tourist attractions, I really loved the neigbourhood since it is not as noisy and crowded as the downtown and it is very easy and cheap to get to downtown by shared cap like 15 minutes.
I should also mention that I was very proud to be his first Turkish guest since he has been to Istanbul many times and got Turkish friends too. Therefore, I would definitely recommend you to stay in my friend Armando's place and I hope I can come back again.
Have a nice trip
Eren

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Erenalp

Nos alegra mucho que te hayas sentido bien en La Colonial 1861 y te aseguro que si vuelvo a Estambul tendrás que ayudarme a conocer un poco mejor esa increíble ciudad de la que tengo muy buenos recuerdos. Fue un placer tenerte unos días en La Habana y saber que fuimos útiles en cuanto a las recomendaciones. Esperamos que algún día puedas volver (está vez en compañia de tu chica) y que podamos seguir charlando y compartiendo un buen Legendario en la terraza.

Un fuerte abrazo

Armando & Thaymara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our stay with Thay and Armando could not have been better. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom clean, and the whole house very welcoming. Thay and Armando went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and were always willing and available to assist with phone calls, car service and local reservations. Thay prepared us a wonderful breakfast every morning, and a highlight of our trip was a delicious Paella dinner prepared by Armando and Thay with help from Thay's mom. Location is close to central Havana, but just far enough away from the hustle to allow for a quiet and peaceful night. I would definitely stay with Thay and Armando again, and openly recommend their casa to any traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Google Translation
Querida Regina

Te respondo en castellano porque se que lo hablas muy bien y para mi me es mucho más fácil expresarme. Ojalá pronto podamos volver a vernos y compartir más tiempo juntos. Thaymara y yo guardamos un bonito recuerdo de todos, porque se portaron muy bien con nosotros y son unas personas maravillosas.

Muchos besos desde La Habana

Thaymara & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Armando's English is perfect and he was extremely helpful, accommodating our every need. Thaymara is charming and sweet and made a delicious breakfast for us each morning. They both went out of their way to ensure that we had a wonderful stay. This casa is tidy and clean, bedrooms are decent sized, well lit and air conditioned, bathroom is clean and modern, bedding and towels are changed a few times per week, there are two living rooms plus a front porch area with seating, Vedado neighborhood is safe. If we return to the Havana area in the future, we will surely stay at La Colonial again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear friend

Thank you so much for your opinion about La Colonial 1861. It was a big pleasure for us to recibe you here and share with you a few days. You always have a cuban home in Habana.

All our best wishes

Thaymara & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited La Havana last Christmas and stayed at La Colonial 1861, a very special house in Vedado. We also had the chance to meet the owners: Armando and Thay. They made us feel at home from the very beginning. Armando is always willing to help, to give the best advices in order to visit the city. He also knows everything about the country and its history. Thay would offer us the best breakfast in the morning served in the beautiful patio or the unique living room. Thank you again for a wonderful experience. Hasta pronto.

Room Tip: All of them are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Esther

Muchas gracias a vosotros por compartir con nosotros estas navidades tan especiales. Esperamos volver a veros muy pronto y ya sabeis que en La Habana siempre tendreís vuestra casa y dos amigos. Hasta pronto!!!

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Armando and his wife Thaymara are the best hosts one can have! they were both very helpful with our travel arrangements for the rest of our trip, and with recommendations on things to see and do, including cigar selection and restaurant reservations. we enjoy the neighborhood, with enough things to do further from the touristy traps, yet short ride away to the attractions.
many thanks to you from the czech girls!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Veronika

Thank you so much foy your opinion. We are happy to know that we are a nice hostest for you. And we hope that you are happy to know that you are a veryyyyyy nice client for us.

Muchos besos desde La Habana hasta Estados Unidos para OUR CHECAS GIRLS!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First time in Habana,
Landed to homey feeling house with pleasant and welcoming atmosphere from Armando and Thaymara
Spacy Casa with comfortable rooms, indoor patio, dining room, big living room, small chillout living room and outside patio
As English speaker, Armando's English was very helpful for me, as well as helpful knowledge for what to do where, places and activities, Habana and around
Location is successful, relaxed and quiet, away from the too touristic scene, close to lively nightlife, walking distance from other parts in town

Great hospitality,
Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Ehud

Muchas gracias por tu opinión. Fue un placer tenerte con nosotros durante tu estancia en La Habana y nos hace sentirnos muy bien saber que te fueron útiles nuestrso consejos....y mi mal ingles, je, jeeeee
Espero que nos podamos volver a ver algún día.

Un abrazo muy fuerte y besos

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Colonial 1861? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonial 1861

Address: Street 10 #60 Between/ 3st y 5st, Vedado | Street 10 #60 Between/ 3st y 5st, Vedado, Havana 02000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colonial 1861 offers our guests the experience of staying in an authentic colonial house. Our house is located in the central neighborhood of El Vedado with the amenities of a boutique hotel and the charm of a private home. La Colonial was built in 1861 and maintains its original structure and mosaic floors. The roof was built with French tiles and our rooms have high ceilings with exposed wooden beams. Beautiful wrought-iron trellis sorround the well in the patio. The decoration includes furniture from different ages and styles as well as pieces of art by Cuban artists. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colonial 1861, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.