We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“music wherever you go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Musica

Casa de la Musica
Ave. 20 No. 3308 esq. a 35, Miramar, Havana, Cuba
53 7 204 0447
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 28 Nightlife in Havana
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Clubs
Attraction details
Beesands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“music wherever you go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything in Havana inspires dance. There is music wherever you go. Always music. That's why people say that even when Cubans walk, they walk as if we are dancing. One of the best ways to listen to music is simply to find it on the streets. You'll hear all kinds, especially salsa and son [a combination of Spanish and African rhythms] and son montuno, which is real country music. Look out for the musicians (treseros) playing the Cuban tres guitar, a rhythm instrument which has three double strings.

If you want to dance, head for La Casa de la Música, which has two branches - one in Central Havana (Calle Galiano, entre Neptuno y Concordia, 0053 860 8296) and one in the Miramar district (Calle 20, esquina 35, Playa, +204 0447). They have live concerts most days, pack a lot of people in and the atmosphere's great. One thing you can be sure of, whether you're a beginner or if you know how to dance, is that you're never going to be left out. There's always someone who's going to pull you on to the floor and be your partner. And that's important because that's how you learn.

Where to Refuel
Try paladares, small family-owned restaurants. A famous one is La Guarida (Calle Concordia 418, entre Gervasio y Escobar, +861 0023, laguarida.com, booking essential), which was the setting for the film Strawberry and Chocolate, nominated for an Oscar. Also very nice is La Divina Pastora (Parque Historico Morro y Cabaña, Carretera de La Cabana) a restaurant on the other side of Havana Bay - not very touristy, there's music playing and it gives you a fantastic view of the city.

Take a dip
one of the wonderful white sandy beaches to the east of the city. Out of town is Macumba Habana (Complejo La Giraldilla, Calle 222, esquina 37) a magnificent outdoor venue with gardens and a swimming pool that attracts a young crowd. People go there in the afternoon and dance and sing throughout the evening. Best to check ahead to see who's playing.


Stretch your legs
One of the best places to go for a stroll is El Prado, a nice avenue linking the centre with the Malecón. The Malecón is the seafront promenade where you go if you want to mix with the locals and people-watch. If you want a bit of peace, go to Parque Lenin on the outskirts where you can picnic and also fish.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    24
    24
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“If You Go Here After 10:30pm Be Warned.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just before the matinee ends at around 10:30 you will notice that there are an increasing number of young - perhaps late teen to early 20s - girls wearing very skimpy clothing arriving.and hanging out together. These are las chicas or prostitutes who are generally very attractive but soon you will feel them prodding you in the back and stroking your shoulder. There's no call to be rude but do be warned.

Oh yes, as has been said before, the quality of the shows very hugely as does the price of entry; if you look gormless expect to pay 15CUC. As with taxis be reasonable but negotiate; after a while you'll get used to it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casa de la Musica Havana Central”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to Casa de la Musica in Havana Central with a Cuban friend. We were told the show started at 11pm so we arrived at 9.45 and queued outside until 11.15. We were asked if we had a reservation which would have fast tracked the process. Lots of young girls on the make pushed into the line in front of us which was annoying. When we finally got in it was quite smokey but after all the petrol fumes I's been breathing in the last week it didn't really matter.
We found a table and there was Reggaeton music playing off CD's so we danced and had a drink until 1.00am when the famous Cuban Pupy y Los Q finally came on stage.
I love salsa and dancing and I was really looking forward to this. But the music mix was so bad that I couldn't stand it. It seemed to me that the other patrons were much more interested in picking each other up that in good quality music...... A big disappointment for me. My Cuban friend was not impressed either.
The bathrooms were relatively clean and the price of drinks reasonable. When we came out my friend asked the price of a taxi for me from the waiting taxi drivers who quoted 10 CUC to get to Vedado. My friend was really angry as a taxi anywhere around Havana should only cost 5 CUC. So we walked off and a taxi driver came after us and offered to take me for 5 CUC.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gotta do this at least once while in Havana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

With two shows a day and something different each time, Casa de la Musica seems to offer something for everyone at least once. The night we went there was a band of guys with 3-4 singers/rappers playing some Reggaeton all night. It was a real party atmosphere there that night and was a lot of fun. Each show is different so I'd expect a wide range of music styles including traditional cuban music and salsa dancing etc on other nights. Best find out what's happening each night if you're picky. We were told by some canadians that we met that the matinee show (5-9pm) was better as it was more locals and less tourists. If you're a couple of dudes prepare yourself to have a bunch of cuban women throw themselves at you when you walk in in the hopes of getting some free drinks and in most cases sex for a fee. If you're not interested it'll take about 10 minutes to fend them all off which can get annoying but after that they pretty much leave you alone

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velenje, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“bad timing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I would go for NinjaNinaOslo's advice, don't go there at any random night, we did that in Casa de la Musica in Habana Central and ended up very disappointed. There was some music at the beginning, followed by uninteresting show and house music for the end (all the time 'musica grabada' and not live music), fee was 10 CUC. So not what I expected. But it was extremly hard to get some info where to go on specific night, everybody just said Casa de la Musica, that's why we tried our luck.
Some other night we heard the music from inside (didn't enter) and it sounded amazing! So definitely go for live music if you like salsa, entrance fee is around 20 - 25 CUC.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de la Musica also viewed

 

Been to Casa de la Musica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Musica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.