We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More "modern" part of Havana” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vedado

Vedado
Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 108 Attractions in Havana
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More "modern" part of Havana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It's a location away from the buzz of old Havana. Building are more modern, wide streets and beautiful architechture everywhere. We stayed there for a few days but ended up going back to old Havana as it was better for activities during the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It´s Closed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took the walk across from Plaza de Revolucion to the Vedado. After walking all the way up to the entrance there was a nice panoramic view of the plaza de revolucion which made the walk worth it. However the idea was to go up to the top and get a view of all of Habana. Unfortunately they are remodeling and will be closed for over a year. Make sure you check before heading out there. Though again I will say the picture of the panoramic view is worth it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Well worth the walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Although you don't find as much about Vedado as you do Old Havana, thats not to say it doesn't have its own personality and charm. It's also less "tidied up" for the tourists too, so you will see a more unvarnished side of Havana. Enjoy, but make sure you have a comfy pair of shoes on!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Very nice neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

On the first leg of my trip I spent 6 nights in La Habana Vieja and after traveling for 2 weeks along the west coast returned to Habana and spent 3 nights in Vedado. It is a quiet, beautiful, tree-lined and picturesque neighborhood and low key from a tourist perspective. It was very refreshing to take a walk and not hear "lady, lady, lady". There are many private paladars and casas as well as local pizza parlors where you can get a 12" pizza and a pop for less than $2CUC. Vedado is also the home of the Universidad de la Habana and to many monuments and sculptures. If I have the opportunity to return to Habana I would stay in Vedado instead of La Habana Vieja which is easily accessible by taxi or by walking if you don't mind a bit of a walk. Including stopping to take pictures, having a refreshment break, and checking out vendors it took me a little over an hour to walk to Parque Central. I really enjoyed the peace and alternative vibe of Vedado.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“full of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my boyfriend payed for a ride with an old car around havana for 2 hours, and one of the places we most enjoyed was vedado, nice neighborhood full of history and interesting places and facts, also lot of bars, restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vedado also viewed

 

Been to Vedado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.