We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but $$$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Miglis

Casa Miglis
Lealtad 120 | Between Animas and Lagunas, Centro Havana, Havana, Cuba
+53 7 8641486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 497 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Cuban, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The first scandinavian restaurant in Cuba - Casa Miglis. We also have a bar - "Miglis Bar" and a art gallery with different cuban artists in a lounge area at our backyard. More we offer catering service and special private reservacions for bigger companies. Open 12pm till 00am every day.
usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good but $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing setting but food was just ok and a bit pricey. Call ahead for resevations. The owner was very pleasant and charming.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    36
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A welcome break from rice and beans...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of the best meals that I ate at in Havana.. On the evening that we visited there were a couple of dishes on the menu that they could not do - but that is understandable, given how difficult it is to get ingredients in Cuba. As a vegetarian travelling round Cuba, having two very different vegetarian options to chose from was really welcome.

The interior of the restaurant was really stylish and the food was excellent. We LOVED the banana desert so much that after sharing one we had to order another.

My only concern is that the only people in the restaurant during the busy Christmas break were foreigners.. It seems to have isolated Cubans. This aside we really loved it and would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Unquestionably the best of the dozen or so meals my wife and I had in Havana. Superb food by any standard, cool venue, nice staff. Worth the short trip away from the main touristy area of the old town - it's not far off the Malecon drive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“You Won't be Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I were delighted to find Casa Miglis <http://www.casamiglis.com/>, a jewel of a restaurant, so near our casa particular a few blocks from the Malecón in the Vedado section of Havana. Offering a unique combination of Swedish/Cuban fare, we were intrigued and elated by the menu items which on our visits all proved delectable.
The atmosphere is tasteful and comfortable; the waitstaff attentive and attractive: young students working to support their studies. The owner, Michel Miglis, personally orchestrates this gourmet experience and insures that each patron has a memorable meal.
Our favorite dish was Filét Oscar: Pork filét with herb fried potatoes. Miglis describes this as a classical Swedish dish, named after a king: "You enjoy this plate as a royalty!".
Miglis is a man of many talents -- this Swedish/Greek filmdirector's documentary "El Medico: The Cubaton Story" won awards in the 2012 One World International Human Rights Documentary Film Festival in Brussels, New York Latino Film Festival, the Philadelphia Film Society and others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casa Miglis and Michel is the greatest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well, what can I say? Everybody says that the food in Havana sucks - but not here I can tell you!
Great staff, great service, great food, great drinks! Here they will serve you the best Mojitos ever....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Miglis also viewed

 

Been to Casa Miglis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Miglis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.