We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location and enjoyable atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Habana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Habana
Save
You added Melia Habana to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar.Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Havana
1 review
“Pleasant location and enjoyable atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel has a relaxing atmosphere. I wish I could spend more time in the hotel. Since my stay in Havana was short, I had to spend most of my time in the Old Town. The distance from the Old Town is the price one has to pay for the pleasant location. However, the free shuttle is very convenient.

Variety of food served in the breakfast is quite satisfactory and the chilled sparkling wine is refreshing.

Good value for money...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear client,

We are very thankful for your taking the time to share your experience with others and for your kind comments about our hotel and Relaxing atmosphere.

I am quite pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Melia Habana . We will gladly inform our staff about your comments regarding the variety of food they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of your visit any time soon.

Kind regards,

Lixandra Escobar Lòpez
Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    663
    235
    58
    35
See reviews for
332
831
85
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Cuba is a very particular country, and I was very excited on finally visiting it. We head to Habana during Christmas holiday, and we had a great positive surprise about this hotel. I heard so bad things about hotels in Cuba, that there's lack of toilet paper, or sheets, but it is all prejudice. It's just as regular as any hotel as expected. They grade themselves as 5 stars; far from being a 5-stars, there are big rooms with all ammenities, regular sheets, courteous recepcionists, renewed and fancy lobby, and a nice pool. I pretty much enjoy my stay there, and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Client,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your nice comments about your positive surprise in our hotel.

I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Habana was a lovely trip and that our courteous staff made you feel better than expected. We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests´ expectations.


I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Habana once more.

Best regards,

Lixandra Escobar Lòpez
Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel was really nice facilities were kept clean and the breakfast was pretty good. There was a good selection of fruits and juices etc...

Room was clean and the maid sure it stayed that way! The view is very nice will all rooms able to see the sea, the air con works well and the staff all seem to want to help.

There is a free shuttle bus to downtown Havana every few hours and the lobby has a schedule. I really enjoyed my stay here and Havana in general.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Client,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your invaluable comments about Really Good, our Hotel.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Habana was as very nice as you expected and you felt so enjoyed and remember among us.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to our staff as comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I hope to have the honour of greeting you in Melia Habana soon.

Best regards,

Lixandra Escobar Lòpez
Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Cuba is poor with average wage USD 10 a month, so hotel must be judged by that. There are ration cards for locals for certain goods so think about that should you want something hard to get in the hotel.

That said the food was good and plentiful. I stayed on the Roysl Service floor (9th) where breakfast could be taken in the VIP room. Loveky crispy bacon, fresh fruit, pastries etc. Excellent.

Rooms are big and this, my 2nd stay, was 9117. A/C was good this time (last time room was too warm). Bathroom had 1 light missing which was reported....but there you go lol.

Pool is the biggest in Havana. Pool bar staff are the best. Would like to mention Leon, Adaya, Tomas as stand out. All the bar staff were brilliant. Lovely fresh coconuts opened and a dash of rum....mmmm.

Opposite is the Miramar centre which is handy for the Virgin Atlantic office and cash machines.

All in all a nice hotel worthy of 3.5 stars cettainly.

Room Tip: 9117 a/c works brilliantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your nice comments about our food good and pentiful resort and the royal service.

I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Havana was a lovely trip and that our all staff bar was brilliant . We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests´ expectations.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all and specially to our bar man ; Leon, Aday and Tomas, because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Havana once more.

Best regards,

Lixandra Escobar López

Jefe de Calidad y CAC/ Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Melia Habana during a people-to-people trip to Cuba, 9/21-9/27/13. The hotel is located in a great location, with excellent ocean views from the balconies. The staff are friendly, helpful and communicate well in English for those of us who aren't bilingual. There is an amazing piano bar in the lobby with great music and staff who are attentive and helpful. The food is outstanding by any hotel standard. I ordered a cheeseburger and fried potatoes one day from room service and it was one of the best cheeseburgers I've had in a longtime, cooked medium exactly the way it should be. The pool and poolside bar are equally incredible, the mojitos mixed there are right every time, what a wonderful place to unwind after a busy day!! Just an all-around great experience and I hope to repeat it!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to tell staff ASAP if A/C is not working right. One member of our party had some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at Wonderful staff an Great service our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Habana was wonderful and you are still dreaming to come back.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all, because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I hope to have the honour of greeting you in Melia Habana soon.
Best regarding
Lixandra Escobar López

Jefe de Calidad y CAC/ Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a real hotel. High quality services and very dedicated and pleasant staff. Professional to the core. Excellent for holidays and business. Don't hesitate twice to choose it.
Location is perfect as a base to visit Havana and its surroundings. Rooms located in the back of the hotel have a fantastic view to the Caribbean Sea and, depending n the specific floor, also to the majestic swimming pool that this hotel has (the biggest of all hotels in Havana)!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at superb and highly recommended our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Habana was as great and relaxing as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.
Looking forward to having the pleasure of your visit any time soon.

Kind regards,
Lixandra Escobar López

Jefe de Calidad y CAC/ Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There are two Melia hotels in Havana. This review is about the one the convention hotel. The hotel is conveniently located and has two large roof top pools - that is the roof of the section that does not include the rooms you would rent. That wing is about 19 stories tall and has zillions of suites. This is a hotel commonly used by politicos and other important stars. There is a nice breakfast buffet which even features smoked salmon, omelets to order, and all the comforts of home. There is a nice bar, cigar lounge, and much more. If you are staying in one of the suites, you can enjoy breakfast and other refreshments in the private concierge club with a view to die for. Even the regular rooms were quite spacious - I would estimate close to 400 square feet. But, remember that this is not a first world country and losses of electricity and air conditioning problems are a reflection of the country and not just one of the best hotels in the entire country. By the Melia is an international chain. There are spa treatments, but I did not use the spa or any of its treatments and do not think any of the people in our group did so, either.

Room Tip: We had problems with the air conditioning, but they moved us to another room which was much more com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar.Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#3 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Habana 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Habana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.