We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only great food, great rooms great people - They connected us with Cuba.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarita and Orlando's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita and Orlando's House
Save
You added Clarita and Orlando's House to your Saves list
Marina # 61 Apto 35 Entre Horno y Vapor. Centro Habana, Havana 10300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 434 Havana B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not only great food, great rooms great people - They connected us with Cuba.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Clarita and Orlando in early December, 2012.
Food was great, interesting selection of other tourists, 24/7 service. very clean, etc.

But what really set them apart was their ability to connect us with Cuba. Lots of great conversations about what to do and why, but they also arranged for us to spend a day with a fellow who teaches at one of the local Colleges. He showed us the Havana of Cubans. He explained current politics, how things got to be the way they are, how most Cubans survive, etc. They he took us to a great restaurant which is really just for locals.

We were interested in a few days at the beach and they made reservations with another casa in Playa Larga.

Good cheer, good times. (great location).

What more can I say?

Room Tip: (oops. no fitness center). Don't let the outside of the building fool you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
70
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Clarita&Orlando's was the first place I stayed in when arriving in Cuba (and the one I stayed the last night before my departure).

It was truly a great experience: The place has a perfect location (30 secs walk to the Malecon, 10 minutes to the Hotel Nacional, ocean view from the rooms), Clarita is a great cook and an excellent guide (she planned out my trip through Cuba in no time and set me up with other casas).

I'd stay at her place any time again and can recommend it to anybody who goes to La Habana!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My friend and I spent just over five weeks visiting Cuba. We stayed in Havana on two occasions and the second time in Clarita and Orlando's House! I cannot find enough warm words about our experience here. Clarita and Orlando made us feel extremely welcome and even invited us to bring in the New Year with their family! The casa itself is lovely, comfortable, spacious, clean, in a great location, the food was excellent and stood out from the rest (fresh and delicious!) but it was the extra touches that really made the difference - for instance cooking eggs as we liked them, giving us some english magazines (we had been on the road for three months and this was most exciting!). And the best part is that the experience wasn't intrusive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The reason for chosing Clarita and Orlando's place as our first stop in Cuba was the high rating in TripAdvisor. After we spent 5 days in their Casa in the end of December I can confirm that the rating is highly deserved - the place is very clean; excellent hosts and service; friendly atmosphere and the best breakfasts we were served in Cuba.
I can fully recommend Clarita nad Orlando's casa to anyone visiting Havana!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I found Clarita and Orlando's casa particular on TripAdvisor and I was very glad to follow those recommendations.
During our stay in Cuba we have been staying at their casa 2 nights and both times we have received very warm welcome.
Clarita and Orlando are fantastic hosts: always cheerful and ready to help. Clarita has organised our taxi arrangements, arranged our stay in Vinales, which was absolutely fantastic, and also let us to leave our winter clothes in their house, so we didn't have to drag it all over the country.
The house is kept very clean and it is in a good location. The breakfast great, no matter how early it has been served.
I would highly recommend staying in Clarita and Orlando's house, it is a great place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place's got it all.
1) Convenient location in front of the Malecon, 20-minute walk from Habana Vieja.
2) Welcoming hosts that DO make you feel like you are home.
3) Amazing breakfast, with anything you can ask for.
4) Even better dinner. In a city in which dining out is a gamble, here you can have wonderfully prepared meals for cheap. Only one problem: you won't be able finish all the food! :-)
5) Clean beautiful rooms impeccably kept.
I was just here with my girlfriend for a total of 5 nights during the past holiday season, and had a blast. Next time I return to Cuba, this will be the first place I'll come back. Priceless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Clarita and Orlando's house is a very good place to stay in Habana, the location is very confortable to reach and it is somewhere in the middle between Old Havana and the newer areas, giving the chance to explore easily the two. All perfectly clean and confortable. The food is ...too much :-)) and excellent! Clarita and orlando are a very fine couple, kind, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarita and Orlando's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita and Orlando's House

Address: Marina # 61 Apto 35 Entre Horno y Vapor. Centro Habana, Havana 10300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 434 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarita and Orlando's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.