We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous service and marvellous panorama view !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza de Manolo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Terrazza de Manolo
Save
You added La Terrazza de Manolo to your Saves list
Calle Cuba edificio no 611 | Apartemento no 7 e/ Luz y Sta Clara, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 484 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous service and marvellous panorama view !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

When visiting Havana, I strongly recommend all visitors/back packers to stay some nights at Manolo and his Casas Particulares. Manolo is an extraordinary serviceminded host. He and his wife and little daughter makes you feel warmly welcome. Manolo offers two comfortable rooms, both quiet and both with private bathrooms. And as you also will highly appreciate, Manolo has one of the best rooftop terrase downtown Havana.The large terrase is magnificant with a marwellous panorama view ! A nice grill place on the terrase is often in use. La Terrazza de Manolo is situated in the lovely Habana Vieja (old Havana), which is the original heart of the Cuban capital. Havana Vieja is dedicated as a UNESCO World Heritage site. And note: Lonely Planet describes Havana Vieja as the finest colonial complex in the Americas. Best regards, Arne Johan Gjerstad, Oslo, Norway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    33
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
75
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

On the crossroads of Cuba and Sol, just nearby Plaza Vieja, that's exactly where this casa is to be found. Ringing the bell, a scene from the movie 'La vita e bella' pops up when the key is thrown from above (and - in our case - gently catched by a helpful Cuban downstairs). A staircase (no elevator available!) leads you all up to the fourth floor, where Manolo welcomes you with a big smile. And a few seconds later - arriving at the terrace - you are just overwhelmed by the panoramic view over Havana. In one word: splendid !!
The rooms are clean (incl towels) and can accommodate three persons each (bunk bed-type). One of the rooms having a separate bathroom, whereas another bathroom can be found just around the corner (just a showerhead behind the curtain, hence the entire bathroomfloor is wet after the shower - slippery!).
Breakfast is delicious with a fruit plate per visitor, eggs/tortillas, bread, coffee, juice etc. All of it freshly made no matter at what time you intend to start the day.
In case assistance is needed, Manolo and his wife (being a doctor) will always be glad to help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

What a view over Havana Viega from the rooftop terras, where Manolo and his wife presented to us a Sunset BBQ diner. Fantastic! AGUA!

We have enjoyed every minute at the casa terras. Lots of space to chill in comfortable chairs. Every morning a fresh breakfast was prepared and served to the table.

Which we needed for our Salsa Bootcamp holiday with Viadanza.
Daily 3 hours danceclass and every evening bailar at a Casa de la Musica or a Club.
2 weeks was to short, next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: You need to be fit to be able to walk the stairs to the 4th floor, for at least ones a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Manolo offers 2 rooms with space for 3 persons in each room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms. Each room costs 25-30 CUC per night. Breakfast and dinner is available with a small addition to the price. The casa is on the rooftop of a 4 story building that has a fantastic 360 degree view over Habana vieja (old town of Habana). There is lots of space on the roof for sun-bathing, relaxing and other activities (Mojito!) and it is quite there! There is also a big grill for BBQing.
The casa is close to the mainstreet Obispo and only 1 block from the touristic square Plaza Vieja where one can find lots of places to eat and drink.
For me that was the best casa in Havanna!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

A must seen place in havanna.
the breakfast on the terrazza is an adventure and is served with delicious fresh juices, fruits, bread, eggs/tortilla, honey, coffee & milk..
you'll have a look all over Havana
Manolo is a very friendly, helpfull man and his wife too.
They helped me to get my on the fleight loosed baggague back and telefoned a lot for me.
They speak also english very well and are goog connected..

Frank (01.11.-06.11.2011)

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MinouCastricum, Guest Relations Manager at La Terrazza de Manolo, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for writing a review. We hope to see you in our Casa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terrazza de Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza de Manolo

Address: Calle Cuba edificio no 611 | Apartemento no 7 e/ Luz y Sta Clara, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama view over Cuba city from a huge terrace at seven floors. Exeptional service minded owner and staff! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrazza de Manolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.