We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best salsa dancing night in Havana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1830

1830
Malecon, Havana, Cuba
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 466 Restaurants in Havana
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best salsa dancing night in Havana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our first night in Havana we danced under the stars at 1830. We didn't eat at the restaurant. However we had a blast dancing the Rueda but first got the history of the dance from local dancers. When I took a break from dancing, it was great to have a great view of the water. I'll never forget 1830.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Salsa under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The location can't be beat. I didn't eat here, but I enjoyed dancing salsa outside by the sea. Loved it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“An excellent find especially when staying at the Melia Cohiba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were staying at the Melia and I had seen there was a restaurant nearby. We stopped here for a meal and it was amazing. It was an odd place, in that you felt you were in someone's dining room, the staff were quiet, but good service and the food was excellent. Very good choices of wines and reasonably priced. When we first walked in we thought it would be out of our price range. Probably a bit more than other restaurants but definetely one not to miss if you get the chance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A Fave From the First Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We came upon this fab and bizarre restaurant on our honeymoon 10 years ago. We forgot it's name and vowed to search it out on our 10th anniversary trip. On a walk down the Malecon we fancied a drink and spied a place that might be open. As we approached I skirted around the side excitedly saying to Sal "I think its it!". Sure enough the weird and wonderful rock garden was there. We entered and asked to go out to the garden for a look round, we were just as enchanted as before. This place is mad, mini canals, tidal pools, a multitude of eclectic seating areas and a majestic dome pergola. All for no apparent reason at the back of the building. The sea here was unfortunately absolutely filthy, there is a task for some Cuban government department waiting here.
We decided to get changed and return for dinner when we got back there was a salsa dancing class in full swing. We ordered excellent mojitos and then went through to the main restaurant.
An excellent wine list was still there as before. I had garlic shrimp for the main and Sal had Chicken marinated in honey and some other interesting flavours. Both were delicious.
We returned to the bar and here was the let down. We had asked what time the bar shut before we ate and were told 12.00. We even pointed out that she had billed us only half what she should have for the earlier drinks for which she seemed grateful. We had confirmed the 12.00 close with our excellent waiter and we had tipped generously both for the earlier drinks and for the meal. Now it was only 11.00 and she refused us a night cap and told us the bar was closed. We did not argue but you can see this is unfair and bad form-I've dropped a whacking 2 points off the service section because of this. It may seem harsh but it did seem to me to be lazy and unreasonable.
Do go to this place it is superb we reminisced whilst there and had a good evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1830 also viewed

 

Been to 1830? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1830, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.