We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Save
You added Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trocadero 55 e Prado y Zulueta Habana, Havana 260, Cuba (Formerly Sofitel Sevilla La Habana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here on two occasions during our visit. The first room smelled musty, but the second was fine. All clean and well air conditioned. The hotel lobby has loads of photos of the history of the hotel and people who have stayed there which is interesting. Location is great for exploring on foot which is a real plus. I actually found the service to be really good and very friendly, so I guess it just depends who you get on the day. I'd stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to avoid street noise and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    707
    492
    204
    72
See reviews for
271
879
126
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good location, very central, nice colonial feel with lots of history. Staff pleasant and courteous. Easy to change money. Good pool and poolside bar - welcome after walking around Havana for a few hours! Good breakfast. Nice courtyard bar with food and good music. Our room overlooked ballet school next door which was nice to wake up to in the morning.

Bit tatty in places and electrics a bit suspect. Restaurant on top floor looked lovely, beautiful views but we didn’t use it as it was empty and had no atmosphere.

In summary - Parque Central probably more luxurious but could be anywhere in the world. This hotel is a great balance between location, history and knowing you are in Havana at the expense of some quality. We loved it.

We also stayed at, and have reviewed, the following hotels, if of interest:
Hotel La Ermita - Vinales
La Ronda -Trinidad
Melia Buenavista - Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Nacionale de Cuba - Havana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is a faded gem from yesteryear. The lobby and 9th floor bar/restaurant are well maintained. Rooms very average - plumbing from the 1930s, A/C doesn't work, often no hot water, pillows and bedding pretty uncomfortable. The breakfast, mojitos and food are decent.

What is really BAD is the attitude of the staff - especially at the front desk. They do NOT care about clients. Dismissive, make you wait forever while they chitchat or do other things.

I know Accor downgraded this from a Sofitel to a Mercure. It is not up to even Ibis standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is situated by the Prado in Central Habana where you can access most of the city by walking. But the service is below average: No help from reception for any question, you enter the hotel but nobody tries to help with your luggage, a drink at the lobby takes too much time waiting (may be normal for Cuba but as it is a chain hotel you expect more). When you ask a taxi or bici-taxi the price is 3 times more than you can find at the corner of the hotel. Room service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful exterior and lobby and is in a good location. However the rooms do indeed smell damp although they are of a good size with decent air con. The food was very average and the wi fi unreliable. Overall this is a rather tired looking hotel. Head for the iberostar as an alternative - nothing special here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lots of minor problems with this hotel- but that's what Cuba is like. I've stayed here twice - on the last stay the TV didn't work (a problem with the cable) but as the staff couldn't give a **** I fixed it myself. Bathroom had leaking water from the WC flush handle and also from the room upstairs. They did eventually fix the flush handle leak. Faded glory really, but a very convenient location and decent value for money. Pool is good.

Room Tip: I wish I knew....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked this hotel the night before our flight back to the UK after travelling around Cuba for two weeks. Although the room was large, we had three single beds for some reason, with sheets that had clearly been stored in a damp place - they smelled so bad. The room also reeked of damp. The TV, hair dryer and fridge failed to work, not that the staff cared when we told them about this. There wasn't so much as a bottle of water in the room for our arrival, so we had to buy some in their bar for an extortionate price.
We were hugely disappointed by the hotel itself, and the staff, though the location is extremely central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane

Address: Trocadero 55 e Prado y Zulueta Habana, Havana 260, Cuba (Formerly Sofitel Sevilla La Habana)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of world heritage listed historic Havana, the hotel stands out thanks to its Moorish architecture, its unique and spectacular view over the city as well as by the prestigious personalities that have stayed in the hotel since 1908. 178 rooms,2 restaurants, 3 bars, a meeting room for up to 50 people and a swimming pool. 24hr dining available. N.B. in Cuba the EUR to CUC (cuban pesos) exchange rate is subject to a fluctuating gouvernment tax. American credit cards are not accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mercure Sevilla Havane
Mercure Hotel Havana
Havana Hotel Sevilla
Mercure Havana
Hotel Sevilla Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.