We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hotel near Habana Vieja” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Miguel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel San Miguel
Save
You added Hotel San Miguel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle de Cuba 2, esquina a Pena Pobre | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 484 Havana B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Small Hotel near Habana Vieja”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This small hotel of 9 rooms managed by the government is well located in la Habana Vieja, close to the main streets and with a view to the fortress. The staff was friendly and helpful, but the beds and air conditioning was a problem in many of its rooms. We had to change 4 times and the problems were more or less the same in all rooms. The building itself is an elegant house of the 19th century with a nice terraza to have a drink.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    27
    8
    12
See reviews for
12
63
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We selected this hostal when telegrafo and parque central were booked. I'm glad we ended up here!! It was our first trip to Cuba and we were not familiar with Havana or the hotel. This hotel is perfectly located between old Havana and the capital district, allowing you to walk to all major landmarks. The staff was wonderful, sans Javee the bartender who was a bit of a jerk. Elizabeth was wonderful and more than made up for it with us. The rooms are good for Cuban standards and the hotel is an old mansion and beautiful. The terrace is picture perfect and allows for great sunsets. Breakfast is eggs and fruit, okay to start the day. Dinner there was unexpectedly good, lobster tails and all. Service like everywhere is a little slow, but that's fine...no rushing in Cuba! I can't imagine being disappointed here. The reviews I see with negatives seem like they were expecting US standards, which other than Parque Central you ain't getting! And this is a true Cuban hotel. Enjoy the view and location. Also, catch the red double decker bus instead of a carriage ride. You'll see 10x as much, can ride all day and it's 5 bucks. Best money I spent I cuba.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a lovely room with tall ceilings overlooking the fort and the river. The only downside was that when you have a room in that position, it also overlooks a noisy road where buses stop to pick up locals from early in the morning. As a result, it felt like we hadn’t slept a wink so we were glad we were only staying one night in that respect. A pity, as apart from the street noise, the hotel has a lot going for it – eg classy feel and a good location for old town sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you could see far enough, you might be able to spot Miami from the third-floor patio and the breakfast room. The views of the ocean and the Cabana are amazing. The staff were extremely helpful. Only about 5-10 minutes walk from most major sights in Vieja.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The title says it all really, this hotel is in a great location; just on the northern edge of Old Havana. Handy for most of the sights. On our first night (of a 3 night stay) the AC in our room (24) didn't work, and staff tried to convice us that this was normal - "just wait a few minutes and it will be OK" - of course it wasn't; that was one HOT night in Old Havana. Our tour rep (Press Tours) got involved next day and we were transferred to another room (33) in which AC worked perfectly. But aside from that the staff were very friendly and helpful (one guy even let me send a text message to Italy on his phone when mine would no longer work).
Breakfast was served in the first floor restaurant, and was very good. Great views were to be had from the terrace on the third floor. Unlike another reviewer I didn't find the room(s) too small although the bathroom was rather on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were unable to get into the hotel we'd booked as there was some problem with the water, so we were moved to San Miguel. We initially thought we'd only stay for one night but then the management offered us the chance to stay for the full three nights we were happy to accept.

This is a beautiful little hotel in a great location between the waterfront and the old town and walking distance from most of Havana's sites. The building itself has recently been restored and is all marble and gilded mirrors. Its a bit over the top in places but it certainly has charm. Our room had a very high ceiling which made it look a little out of proportion and was full of old fashioned Cuban family photos and portraits. I thought this was quirky but my girlfriend found it a bit spooky!

The room wasn't amazingly clean but at least everything worked - particularly the air conditioning which was extremely effective. We had a small, yet functional bathroom but as our room was at the back we had no view. The views from the front of the building, especially from the breakfast room and the terrace bar, are fantastic.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. When our safe didn't work they managed to replace the faulty door within a day and in the meantime kept our valuables in the hotel safe for us.

Breakfast was basically a choice of style of eggs every day with some mixed fruit, bread and marvellous coffee. It was delicious and absolutely perfect for us but I could see how you'd tire of this after more than three nights.

I have only one gripe; avoid changing money at this hotel as the exchange rate was awful and they charged a lot of commission!

Overall this had the feel of a small hotel that had been carefully restored and was well managed. Despite the colonial fittings and décor it felt modern and airy and the staff were very helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here just one night while passing through Havana and liked it a lot. It's a relatively recent refurbishment of a fine old building, done wth tact and fidelity to the original strucure. We were upgraded to a junior suite - a spacious room in the front of the hotel, where everything worked (not always the case in Cuba...). The position gave us good views, though there was a certain amount of traffic/street noise from quite early in the morning. Breakfast average for the Cuban hotels we used. Staff seemed keen and on the ball.

Later in our trip we stayed at the nearby Florida hotel - a place to avoid. Stay here instead.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel

Address: Calle de Cuba 2, esquina a Pena Pobre | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 484 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Miguel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
San Miguel Hostal Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.