We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cohiba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cohiba
Save
You added Melia Cohiba to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

if you want to stay in Havana this is a very nice place to stay , the morning brunch is very good , the view from the hotel is nice , the show in the Havana cafe is also good , and it has a nice pool ,

Room Tip: room on the upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Normandcanada,

It is a pleasure to receive positive comments of the guests who visit us. Thank you very much for letting us know.

I would like you to know it will be a real pleasure to welcome you among us in a near future and to have the occasion to thank you personally for all details you mentioned in your review.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    700
    258
    56
    48
See reviews for
308
832
110
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed 3 noches in the Melia Cohiba at the end of june. I was vey pleased with the room in the 20th floor at The Level. The staff and the hotel services were first class. The personnal at the reception desk was very heplful and the same applies for the staff at the pool and the pool restaurant. I stayed with my family of 4 in a very nice room. I recommand the VIP floors called The Level , a little more expensive but worth the money with a private breakfast room, probably the best breakfasts in Cuba ! and I should know having been in Cuba more than 50 times.

Room Tip: Ask for the Level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. EZEZ911,

It is a real pleasure to receive your comments about your recent stay at Meliá Cohiba. We will extend your thanks to all our staff, specifically the staff at the reception desk, pool and The Level. They will be very happy to read your review.

For us it will be a real pleasure to have you among us in a near future. Please, let us know if you decide to come back.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed five nights for business, in a room on "The Level", which is one of the Melia Cohiba's "executive floors". The Melia Cohiba is an international standard four-star hote. The rooms are a bit dated but clean, relatively spacious, and secure. I have a habit of leaving things lying around in the room but never had any problems with theft.

A few pointers:
1. In-room wifi in-room is only available on the executive floors (I believe 18th floor and up), otherwise you will need to go to the lobby. The in-room wifi is not fast but works well enough, although on two nights out of five, I had difficulty connecting between 10pm-midnight.

2. Location: Taxi's to the old Town will cost around 7-8 CUC and takes around 15min. The drive along the Malecon is nice, but going back and forth gets a bit tedious if you're there primarily as a tourist, as the main points of interest are likely closer to the old Town.

3. Restaurants: There are a few Paladors around the hotel (ask the concierge) that are good, and a Jazz Cafe across the street (which I didn't get to), but little else in the neighbourhood.

4. There is a small convenience store across the street open 24 hours, where you can pick up some water or beer, but they have little else in terms of selection (unless you need cookies or uncooked rice).

5. Safety: The Malecon area next to the hotel is a bit on the edge, and is the not the "central" Malecon where everyone hangs out at night. However, it makes for a nice walk. Havana has to be one of the safest cities in Latin America, although of course common sense precautions are required, as with anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Daylan C,

It is a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay at Melia Cohiba.

Regarding your comments about rooms, allow me to inform you we are carrying out an improvement plan in order to change their image and to provide a better service to our guests. About Wi-Fi, it is available on Executive Floors and in the rest of the rooms this service is at 50%, but we are working to provide it in the whole rooms.

On the other hand, it is a pleasure to communicate you our hotel has a free service of a Shuttle to the Old Town to all our guests, which has some frequencies at day.

I would like you to know it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future, so please, let us know about your next visit. We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Melia Cohiba for three nights at the beginning of a Jules Verne tour. It is a large tower block building with wonderful views of Havana and the Malecon. The rooms are large and clean, the safe did not work in our original room but we were eventually moved to another. They go on about not leaving valuables around and then the safe doesn't work!
The food was average at best, breakfast omelettes were ok but otherwise everything was a bit bland and uninteresting. Coffee dreadful. Although there was an extensive wine list they didn't seem to have anything that was on it! No Vinha Sol!!! Beer and wine was all reasonably priced.
With the hotel being high rise it was quite noisy at night if the wind blew, sounded like a vacuum cleaner! Light sleepers be prepared!
All in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Suehowe14,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us in Tripadvisor, which is very important for our daily work.

We regret the situation with the safe; fortunately our staff found a solution. We also regret your opinion regarding coffee and wines, which will be taken into account in order to look for improvement options on this respect.

Thank you again for letting us know and I hope to have the opportunity of receiving you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Was here for four nights and was amazed at how clean this place is, and how secure. Also it is one of the few places in Cuba where you can exchange money.
My room was large, with a separate bathroom, tub and shower, toilet and bidet, plenty of sink and counter space as well. Nice robes to wear, housekeeping was wonderful. Bed was comfy and the pillows soft and plentiful.

The pool is lovely, and the bar area is well run. Breakfast buffet is an entire room...everything you could ever dream of from fruit to cereals, eggs, and champagne.

Front desk staff very polite and accommodating, nice little bar in the lobby that overlooks the Malecon. I would definitely return. Great location just 5 cuc's away from old havana, near Mirimar and about 6 cuc's from hotel national area. There's a jazz club across the street and a little store. Oh yeah! There is a lot of great artwork on the second floor.....like a gallery within the hotel. The security can be a bit off setting as they are standing all over the lobby and second floors 24/7, but after seeing them for a day or two we were able to chat briefly.

Enoyed my stay altho one of those days there was a poolside wedding so no bar service or pool tor a hile, but not to worry as the hotel has a great cigar bar as well as two in the lobby. in comparison with other establishments in cuba, the place definatley rates 5 stars. Thank you Cohiba!

Room Tip: HIgher floos have great views either city or water sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. ohm2,

It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service. It is really a pleasure to know your positive comments and thank you for all the details you mentioned. Be sure we are going to share them with our staff.

It is nice to know you would definitely return, so I ask you to contact me on your next stay at our hotel. I would like to thank you personally.

Thank you very much for the time taken.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

After reading a lot of reviews from this Hotel I still can't understand how some people got problems. We stayed 4 nights in June and had nothing but great service. We got 2 junior suites, very clean, great views, everything perfect. We were able to check in in 15 mins way earlier than 3PM without a hassle. At checkout no scams or rip offs with mini bar. No problems with stolen things or money. Maids were very helpful and courteous. Security personal equally friendly. We ate at all restaurants in the hotel, and even though the prices are expensive for Havana, the service was exceptional and the food was good. Pool was clean, with plenty of towels. Plenty of taxis outside hotel. Would definitively stay here on my next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Basanez,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on Trip Advisor after your stay at Meliá Cohiba Hotel. Thank you for mentioning your positive opinions about our service and facilities. Such comments are the best gift we may receive from our guests.

We hope to see you soon back in our Hotel in a near future and please, let us know when you decide to visit us again.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We came to Havana on a twin hotel trip and was there for 3 nights. The room was lovely 2 TV,s and a lovely big bath with shower over and views of city. Breakfast was just warm every morning coffee was slow only ever managed to get one cup each morning. Used pool restaurant and my burger when I cut it in half was not cooked blood and raw in bun,they took it back and I had a tuna sandwich which was nice but expensive. Found a cafe called cafe jazz across road and food and drinks were half the cost and hot!!. The day we left we were due to be picked up at 5 pm , got our bags and they said it was delayed by 9 hours!! And concierge said we were to get a room so went to reception and was told no we wasn't getting a room as there were no rooms available this was at 4pm,so we had a few words saying we were told there was a room ect. Anyway we were not very happy at having to sit in reception till 2 am!! At half past 9 pm they decided they did have a room for us and had we eaten as we could have some food free!! They'd seen us sat in front of them eating off our knees a hour before. What annoyed me most was we got our old room back and it hadn't even been cleaned..... So why couldn't we of had it earlier?? Also man at reception was quite rude ignoring us when we said that we'd been told we could have a room!! Wouldn't recommend going for 3 nights we should of done the 1 night trip as when we went into Havana you had 3/4?people hassling you for money, tiring to get you into houses and no money to feed their kids,following you ,it really spoilt it for us as we would of stayed in Havana longer if it wasn't for that. Tropicana show was fab. Open top bus was good too 5 cucs to use bus all day and you could get on and off at attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear. Mr. / Mrs. Mrsltom,

Thank you for letting us know your feedback about our Hotel Meliá Cohiba. I want you to know we have taken notes about all details you mentioned in your review and we really regret the negative opinion you took about pool restaurant and the performance of our front desk staff. In this respect, allow me to inform you our hotel usually has a very high occupancy and guests checking out very late, such as airlines, surely due to that reason, we couldn’t give them the room since the morning, but immediately we had a cancellation we assigned them a room.

I hope that in spite of these you can give us a confidence vote and you honour us with your visit again. For sure we will delete the negative image you had of our hotel. We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cohiba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.