We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Eutimia

Dona Eutimia
Callejon del Chorro # 60-C | Plaza de la Catedral, Habana Vieja, Havana 30600, Cuba
+53 7 8611332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 465 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant is located down a small alley near the cathedral. At the entrance to the alley are several restaurant staff touting for business showing their laminated menus and trying to bring you to their paladar. Ignore these people and head to the very end of the alley where you'll find this restaurant. The food is excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. There is no English menu but some of the staff will be happy to translate and recommend dishes. The octopus starter is amazing.

If you are eating at a restaurant in Old Havana, definitely try this one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    302
    58
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss this resto !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a nice cozy restaurant with a good ambience and even better food. Worth visiting both for lunch or dinner. In the old part of Havana next to the cathedral.
Make sure you get the right resto as a few down the street !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Havana Paladar - Make a Reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I dined at this paladar on a recent trip to Havana. I was very satisfied with the entire experience. The atmosphere is warm and charming. The service was good; the food delicious. I would suggest reservations as the dining room is small - although it does spill out onto the street, which can also be quite pleasant. You can have a memorable meal for about 20CUCs. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Ridiculously cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had to book to get a table at this paladar (just off the Plaza Viejo) and we were so pleased we did. The staff were very friendly and were were seated just inside the door.

We had their 'shredded lamb' special (with a bottle of red wine) which was delicious! It's not surprising that these guys get such great reviews. Equally good is Ivan chefs Justo which I have reviewed separately.

Gone are the days of people saying you cannot eat good food in Cuba. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We actually went here twice lunch without reservations and were found a table inside on both occasions even though they were very busy. The staff are very friendly, the prawns were wonderful and the mojito frappes- well, what can I say- totally yummy. We were also given rum on the house to go with our after lunch coffees. A great experience. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dona Eutimia also viewed

 

Been to Dona Eutimia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Eutimia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.