We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the City Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Laurent

Cafe Laurent
Calle M # 257. entre 19 y 21 (Penthouse) | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
(537) 8312090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 465 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above the City Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very elegant evening at this palador restaurant. Our server was new, and so, some learning going on, but her mentor made up for this and overall the service was excellent. The food was very good. I would, indeed, return. The location is excellent, as its located on the fifth floor..so lots to see, especially at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Cafe Laurent, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments make you have a special dinner is our goal and we feel that we must keep working to be better.
Thanks again and be a pleasure to meet him again if he decides to return and want to have a new dinner above the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    94
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was excellent when I first visited in Dec. 2011. I went back in Dec. 2012 and found it still very good, though not as outstanding as the first visit. It is in a great location in a penthouse of a pre-revolutionary apartment building in Vedado. It has a small bar overlooking Northern Vedado and the Malecon, and a nice terrace dining area. It is well decorated, nice atmosphere and a good menu of international and Cuban (fusion) fare. The grilled octopus used to be my favourite dish, but is no longer served. It also had a spectacular grilled fish, but this has been replaced with less impressive fillets. It is expensive by Cuban "paladar" standards, but worth the price for a nice dinner. To be certain to get a table, it is best to make a reservation (ask for the terrace).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Cafe Laurent, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion and even if not felt so good in his first visit as we titled as "still good" the octopus matenemos in the letter is marinating, Galician octopus is one that should be referred prefer, just out when we have larger octopus, however if you prefer this type of preparation you can ask our chef will make this dish exceptionally safe and will consider your request.
Thanks again and will always be a pleasure if you decide to return. Can you post us your reservation by phone or by e mail. Empathize with us so I can look forward to assist you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food- slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very nice surroundings, and beautiful terrace, difficult to find.
Can recommend the lobster, and variation of good desserts.
Our waiter suddenly left after dinner, and we waited 45 minutes for desserts, and they forgot half of the order. except for this a nice experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Cafe Laurent, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion on this website, we regret that the order has been delayed dessert this way, we will review that happened this day that he was made to wait unreasonably. Anyway, if you enjoyed our food can back with confidence that not repeat the slow service.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Not impressed.....and overpriced by Cuban standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After hearing really good things about this place, we decided to try on our recent trip to Havana. We made 9:30pm reservations. We were meeting a local Cuban couple who ended up being a little late, putting us at about a 9:40 arrival. Apparently this was unacceptable, because they had already given our table away. We were told it would be a 5min wait. After 45min, we checked back with the host who acted annoyed and then just pointed to an open table. Service was super slow and the food was over cooked (rubbery lobster), not to mention overpriced by Cuban standards. We paid $18.50 for a few pieces of shrimp and lobster on a skewer; at another Paladar in Camaguey, Cuba we paid $12 for a one pound lobster tail and about 25 shrimp. Café Laurent was sort of a rip off, I think you are paying more for the atmosphere. The atmosphere was nice, being that it was located about 4-5 stories up, but the low hanging curtains made it extremely hot and uncomfortable, even in January! I can only imagine what it would be like in July or August. I would not return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Cafe Laurent, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, whether when our customers have been satisfied is very important. Rest assured that from the moment we consider. Sorry for the inconvenience caused and you could not explain that this could happen to lose your table only after a delay of 15mins, this will be reviewed immediately. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service at this Paladar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You take a small elevator to get to the top of an apartment building where Cafe Laurent is located. A beautiful facility. Service was excellent. Our server spoke excellent English. Food was outstanding.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Cafe Laurent, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion Sr with travelers worldwide. It is a pleasure to know that you have had a good evening in our restaurant, we hope to make each client were having the same experience. thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Laurent also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.