We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana
Save
You added Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana to your Saves list
Compostela #153 | 1er. Piso. Apto. 2, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 434 Havana B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at this house in september for 3 weeks. The hosts, Isel, Leslie, Marlen and Ileana really make you feel at home, they are helpful, very friendly and take very good care of you. The room was comfortable, incredibly clean with a bathroom and much needed airconditioning. The breakfasts were excellent, thanks to Ileana. Location was brilliant, right in the centre of old Havana. It was so much fun chatting with Marlen and Ileana and we laughed so much about my difficulties with the spanish numbers. If you ever go to Havana, you must stay at Casa Isel e Ileana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are a lesbian couple who stayed at this Casa in Old Havana for one night back in February. Both Isel and Leslie were welcoming and we imagine, if we knew nothing about Cuba or Havana, this would be a safe queer base.

Unfortunately, when we arrived from Varadero, they did not have water and, under the circumstances, knowing Cuba's economic situation, we felt bad and decided to stay. This was a mistake on our part, as we really felt the lack of water in the sticky heat of Havana. They saved some water for us in the tank so we could take fast showers to clean off a bit.
The apartment was colonial and the room had a balcony right off it, which made for some nice views/ photos and some ventilation. The double bed was alright and they did give us lovely coffee and biscuits. The AC took a bit of time but did work!
We already knew our way around, so we did not take advantage of Isel's offers to accompany us around. But for a queer couple that knows nothing, it would be much cheaper and safer to have them show you around (gay) havana as they know the ins and outs! (no pun intended!)

Room Tip: The owners stay in one room and rent the other out. The washroom is outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This very well situated Casa is an easy walking distance to from the main happenings in the old quarter of Havana. But what makes this place so wonderful and worthwhile are Isel and Ileana, they are such nice hosts and make you feel like your at home. Isel, the mama of the casa, really cares for you, they are helpful, try to give you as many useful trips for your stay in Havana and Cuba. So, if your in Cuba for the first time, you are in good hands here. The breakfast is great and gives you fruit boost for the rest of the day :). We stayed here for the first few days when we got to Cuba and returned on our way back for another two nights. I can definately recommend this place due to its location and the warm and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this house for the second time in may and it's worthwhile to go back for the third time!!
The house is very cosy and the ladies of the house are wonderful. They are helpful ,very friendly , they make you feel at home and they take very good care of their guests. They make the stay in Cuba even more pleasant . The house is very clean,safe and the food is delicious I loved all the kinds of meals Ileana prepared,better then in the restaurants. I recommend this casa particular to everybody. I know I will go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A well priced, nice appartment in the heart of old Havanna. The breakfast and dinner were delicious and the room and bathroom were very clean. On of the ladies even joined us and gave us a free tour on one of our days there. I would especially recommend this place if it's your first time in Cuba because those ladies know so much and will give you great advice about things to do & places to visit. I would definetely go back! A+

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london ,uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this casa for four nights in April and were delighted with the warmth of our hostess. This casa is ideal If you want to be in the centre of old Havana, everything is only a short walk away. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, nothing was too much trouble. If you can attempt to speak some Spanish you will find Isel is very very funny. Her English was better than our Spanish so we managed to understand each other and have some hilarious conversations.
It was good to watch life going on below from the balcony. We felt totally safe in her apartment and were well looked after.
If you have time to travel, I can recommend Isel's brothers casa in Trinidad. Set in a traditional Cuban house, it is charming and the hosts excellent. The town offers plenty to see and do, the sea only a bus ride away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a reasonably small, reasonably priced, but beautifully decorated and furnished, two bedroom flat in Old Havana run by a couple, Isel and Lesley, with the biggest hearts in Cuba! They will become your friends - maybe even family!!There are two bedrooms, one of which is the guest bedroom. You have your own bathroom. The bedroom has a lovely balcony overlooking an intersection between two bustling little streets in Havana Vieja. The room has a fridge, TV (Didn't try it so can't comment on it) a/c and double aspect french doors onto the balcony. Its hard to leave the balcony and go to bed as there is always so much to see! The whole of old Havana is within a short walk.I did not eat supper, Iliana comes in to cook the food, there but the breakfast was HUGE with the biggest plates fruit imaginable.This casa is the perfect start and finish to your Cuban adventure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana

Address: Compostela #153 | 1er. Piso. Apto. 2, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 434 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and cosy clean casa in old Havana, run by two very hospitable women. Near Obispo, Malecon and Floridita. Typical Cuban breakfast and dinner is optional. Great chef! Always willing to show you around Havana. Private bedroom with TV, balcony and bathroom with shower/bath and toilet. Gay-friendly casa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Particular Isel e Ileana Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.