We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Havana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sociedad Asturiana Castropol

Sociedad Asturiana Castropol
Calle Malecon 107, Havana, Cuba
861-4864
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 465 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant in Havana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had an apartment just a block away and found Castropol quite by accident ~ and what a wonderful find! The food is quite good, by Cuban standards and is very affordable. A full meal, including appetizers and drinks, was under $30 Cdn. A must on any tour through the city; we'll go back when we're in town again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    143
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good food, big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First restaurant I went to eat dinner. Wanted Ito try the Cuban cuisine. So I asked the waiter for recommendations....Cuban?, Here??!! Only the rice!..
Anyway, the food was very good and huge portions..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view of the Malecon if you sit upstairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were ushered upstairs as we walked in, and got a great table on the balcony overlooking the Malecon. The food was good - traditional Cuban food. On walking downstairs we saw that there was a less formal restaurant, serving pizza and pasta that looked better value and a bit more relaxed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good food and services,good prices,only one thing,they dont have acces to persons with disabilities even when the street was remodeling about 4 months ago.The staff is very helpfull,restaurant is clean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Sitting on the terrace watching the pelicans diving in the sea, a great way to spend lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant at lunchtime, we were a bit early but were hungry after a hard morning's sightseeing. Although they were still arranging the place we were quickly offered a table with a lovely view on the 1st floor terrace. It's a beautiful location on the Malecon looking out to sea.
Within a few minutes a flock of pelicans started to feed b y diving into the sea. Lovely.
Waiters were smart, efficient and friendly. They recommended fish and we ordered accordingly. The Sea Bass was meaty and beautifully cooked and the Red Snapper was excellent, really tasty.
All at a very good price.
What's not to like?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sociedad Asturiana Castropol also viewed

 

Been to Sociedad Asturiana Castropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sociedad Asturiana Castropol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.