We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Atlantico - bargain for your buck..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Save
You added Gran Caribe Club Atlantico to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave. Las Terrazas | Santa Maria Del Mar, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Club Atlantico - bargain for your buck..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We've been to Cuba over 30 times so I pretty much know what to expect in every corner of this gem of an island. You have to remember what you are paying at the Atlantico; to be near Havana at an all-inclusive. Having said that here is my review:

The trip down: I've heard horror stories about Cubana and they were really good. Decent food, Left on time both ways. Watch though that you have to pay for your drinks (even pop) on the plane (about $2.00) and if you are leaving from Toronto get to the airport really, really early (like 4 hours) because the line-up to check in is ridiculous. Cubans living in Toronto are going home to see family and they bring flat screen t.v.s, air conditioners and such and they all have to be wrapped. Stood over 1 1/2 hours in line. Stopped at Santa Clara to let passengers off.

The hotel: Very basic 2 1/2 - 3 star. They are upgrading to a 3 star so things are looking better. We had a room on the third floor, very clean, big fluffy towels, balcony overlooking the ocean. The bathroom needed updating for sure but it was fine considering how much time you spend in there. Always lots of hot water. The buffet again is basic but we always found something to eat and they had the best fresh fruit I have ever had in Cuba and the pasta is always good. They had a grill station for meats at lunch and dinner and great eggs any way for breakfast.

There is a nice lobby bar and great bartenders (Juan Migel - all the girls loved him!). The drinks are hit and miss. Sometimes the beer is great and sometimes just so-so. They do run out of some things and some things get broken but hey, it's Cuba, The staff in the restaurant were absolutely amazing. They would save our seat and even remembered what we drank. They have long, hard jobs and yet smiled all through it. Had al la carte and although they only had 3 things on the menu they were good and the ice cream was to die for.

The beach is spectacular as is the cool water. The pool is nice too and they have an amazing massage therapist (Fidel). For $15.00 I had the best massage of my life. There is a shuttle to Havana twice a day at 9.30 a.m. and 2.30 p.m. We stayed for lunch a couple of days in Havana (paladar - lobster $10.00) and came back on the 2.30 p.m. shuttle after taking the 9.30 shuttle in.

Havana. What can I say. To me the most beautiful city on earth (and I've seen some pretty spectacular ones). A lot of people say it is in a state of decay but quite the opposite is true. Now that Havana is a world UNESCO site millions are being poured into restoration and preservation. Beautiful Spanish architecture with blues, yellows and pinks. The malecon has pictures of what each building is going to look like when it is done and will contain restaurants, cafes, shops, museums. It will rival any European city.

Things to do in Havana: Many museums to see. This trip we went for 2 weeks and spent at least 12 out of 14 in Havana. The revolution museum and Gramma for sure. Museum of fine arts if you like period artwork (I do - hubby was kind of bored). We found, get this, a street all done up and restored to look like Paris (and did it ever). On this street was the chocolate museum. Best chocolate of my life. The hot and cold chocolate especially, Nice little air conditioned cafe is attached. The rum museum is interesting as is the tobacco museum. You can of course take a guided tour of the city but we had a book on Havana with maps and just found our way around (not difficult). Revolution square is very interesting and there are so many parks to just grab a beer and watch the world go by.

You will be accosted once you get off the bus for pesos and horse and buggy rides. Just say no graciously and move on. If they are persistent just say no a little louder and they will go away. As long as you keep moving they will think you are a seasoned tourist. Happens in every city.

What to bring. Insect repellant, a high SPF sunscreen, something very cool to wear into Havana. Stay away from denim (too hot). Guys can wear shorts everywhere. The cobblestone streets are hard to maneuver sometimes so wear flat sandals.

Gifts: I always bring suckers or candy for the kids to give out in Havana. Soap is hard to get but what they really would like are electronics they can't get down here. We usually bring a DVD (portable) player or a hard drive and exchange for trip (this one we went up into the mountains in Pinar del Rio (amazing). Ear buds, kids clothes and toys, pantyhose, cosmetics and perfume, sports equipment, pens, crayons and books, hair accessories, etc. etc. Anything you use at home they can use down there. The embargo is punishing to them but I noticed for the first time that things really seem to be getting better.

Wrap-up: If you want an inexpensive, basic hotel a stones throw from Havana with everything included this is for you. If you are a 5 star person where the food has to be amazing and the accommodation spectacular, stay in Varadero. As the Cubans say, "Varadero is not Cuba".

Flight home was on time and fine (except we flew in an all black plane - that was weird). Day one back home and I am missing my favorite city and country already.

Back in October........

E-mail me with questions: plkc2244@hotmail.com

Room Tip: The third floor ocean view is great. Keep in mind though, there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Gestion de calidad at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer

It is a pleasure to give our thanks for posting a comment on this site. Good to hear your opinion about our services and transport of Havana is welcome and useful to our customers. We work daily on improving our product as hotelier we keep making continuous maintenance work to improve the structure and looking to achieve satisfaction and comfort our guests expect.

Letters menu offered in the optional menu restaurants comply Brand Hi Club and were not made ​​on site, however be analyzed by management for all reviews of our guests are welcome.
We thank you comments made ​​on this page, hopefully useful to readers who visit. The hotel's address Thank you lived stay at the hotel.

Nielenys Zúñiga Ojeda
Gestion de calidad
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    120
    111
    56
    49
See reviews for
57
148
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was the ideal all inclusive hotel for our stay. The hotel is right on the beach, which is very clean, attended by lifeguards and regularly patrolled by police. The free shuttle bus into Havana runs twice a day in each direction, so you can spend whole days or half days sightseeing. The rooms and the hotel generally are clean and well appointed, and the all inclusive is 24 hour. The food is plentiful, fresh and with a good choice for all meals. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, with four star service for two star prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Gestion de calidad at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear customer:

It is a pleasure to receive your assessment of the facility and stay that way with the entire staff. We welcome your comments and we know that magnifies your holidays in this simple but cozy place meet your expectations. We work on the continuous improvement of our staff, we seek comfort for our customers either in the maintenance, cleanliness, good service in our bars and restaurant and the quality of our product and others to ensure our customers deserved instance by choosing us.

It is true that reading a positive view of our facility enhances our staff was able to perceive and articulate each of the services provided describing pleasantly and providing certain information to our future that are reported by travelers to choose their holiday TRIPADVISOR do that we remain eternally grateful to his sincerity, naturalness and confidence for the Hotel Atlantico.

We welcome your comments and we would be very happy to receive again. At your disposal are left.

Nielenys Zúñiga Ojeda
Gestion de calidad
Complejo Atlántico Villa los Pinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed with a friend April 19th to 26th and this was our first trip to Cuba. Our room (211) was very clean(dirty walls are actually worn paint), the beds were comfortable and we had fresh towels daily. We ran out of hot water at one point but after mentioning this at the front desk it was restored the next day. The food was good (not fancy) and there were always fresh fruit, vegetables and some sort of protein (fish, pork, chicken)
Some reviewers mention dirty table clothes. In fact they are changed but do have grease stains which did not bother me. Other reviewers complained of birds in the buffet. There are some and they mainly stick to the perimeter. I did see one bird eating the top slice of bread on the bread pile(don't take the top piece:)) . The beach is fantastic and the shuttle to Havana is always on time. Staff was very kind and helpful. We plan to return in the near future. I would suggest bringing toilette paper if you are "sensitive" as the paper supplied is basic and rough.
If you want a hotel that is close to Havana and on the beach I suspect this is your best choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Customer

We appreciate that you send us your feedback and your stay have reached your expectations. Although we know our weaknesses and continue to work on improvements we are seeking to remodel 20 rooms and maintaining these carry hope for your next visit to our facility and these details have been remedied by improving the comfort of our rooms.

It is a pleasure to inform you that our restaurant Buffet has already running 5 A. Conditioner so insects in the tropics abound for being part of nature we no longer have access to it. We provide guided by the NC-126 with a wide range and domestic service.

Greetings;

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family and I just stayed at this hotel last week for a three-day stay. When we arrived, there were old cigarette butts and piles of long black hair along each wall of our room. Mold covered the bathroom door. Maids bursted into our room without knocking, and since there were no actual locks on the door (only the key card slot worked), this happened every single morning. When I politely asked a maid to sweep the cigarette butts in the room, she came in, cleaned a small two-foot area, pushed the hair against the wall with a mop, and promptly returned to her never-ending smoke break outside our room.

I have stayed in plenty of hostels and dirty, run-down places don't scare me. Especially when they don't cost a lot. However, this hotel was definitely overpriced and I will never stay there again. Find a better hotel, or better yet, stay with a family and give your money to them. The Club Atlantico hotel does not deserve it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Customer

It's a shame that our hotel did not meet your expectations . It is true that the big hotel's proximity to the sea we are greatly affected by salt , moisture and a large deterioration in our hotel industry however this does not intervene in our staff of their best daily to maintain a blameless .

Each room has full security and the card slot is called as you call lock which provides a 100% safety guaranteed. By Cuban standards of hospitality in Cuba every room has a "Do Not Disturb " to be used in case you do not want to be interrupted and every janitor holds behavior and education that allow workers will be knocking on the door Tourism before entering to perform services in the event of not being located the "Do Not Disturb " . However, there are opinions that are in mistake with what you expressed about personal hygiene and our installation meeting reflected in this website. Cleaning and sanitizing is done under strict control having qualified for this job with long years of experience and monitoring is performed by directors , chief housekeeper and the quality department staff.

It's a shame that you carry this impression because our customers are all important and we work daily in personal satisfaction. A public relations department and quality available to address any concerns you may generate discomfort or malaise our guests .

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been to hotel Atlantic twice and loved it! Met awesome people and the staff is amazing! All of them! The nurse is so helpful and caring, the entertainment staff are eager and positive and the restaurant/bar staff are lovely! The waitress that the al carte restaurant is incredible! As a server in Toronto, this girl is like awesome! The shuttle is great, but again you will be bombarded by all kinds of offers not only leaving the bus, but as someone who likes to sit on a bench and soak it all in, it's pretty obvious to Cubans who is a tourist. the beach is great: safe! And beautiful! The food is also good! Find the things you like! I was never awake early enough for breakfast but lunch and dinner were good! Remember, you're in Cuba! They don't have the luxury of globalization! So either spend 1000 more dollars and go to a tropical 3rd world country that is controlled by the USA that will have the fine linens, decor and food you desire or experience the unique beauty that is Cuba! Embrace it! Complaining is just taking away from having an amazing time in such a unique and special place!

Mucho mucho!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Gestion de calidad at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear customer:

It is a pleasure to receive your assessment of the facility and stay that way with the entire staff. We welcome your comments and we know that magnifies your holidays in this simple but cozy place meet your expectations. We work on the continuous improvement of our staff, we seek comfort for our customers either in the maintenance, cleanliness, good service in our bars and restaurant and the quality of our product and others to ensure our customers deserved instance by choosing us.

It is true that reading a positive view of our facility enhances our staff was able to perceive and articulate each of the services provided describing pleasantly and providing certain information to our future that are reported by travelers to choose their holiday TRIPADVISOR do that we remain eternally grateful to his sincerity, naturalness and confidence for the Hotel Atlantico.

We welcome your comments and we would be very happy to receive again. At your disposal are left.

Regards

Nielenys Zúñiga
Gestion de calidad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, BC, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We came to the Atlantico last year for the first time to celebrate my birthday and wished to return at the same time this year. In my last review I mentioned how much we enjoyed our stay and the excellent service by all the staff.

Last year we stayed on the third floor in the building above the store. Odd number rooms have the ocean view and quiet street. We had sent an email to Dayme Rodrigues requesting if possible the same room. He replied immediately welcoming us back and would try to acomodate us per our request. Upon arrival the front desk receptionist had received our request but unfortunately the room was occupied but would be available in a few days if we wished. She gave us a room a couple doors down with exactly the same decor and view which we were quite happy with and did not move. We appreciated it very much that Dayme was so helpful in trying to acomodate our request. We were very impressed with this service.

We were happy to see all the staff in the dining room and bartenders that we became aquainted with on our last visit. Graciela, Jose and Submey greeted us warmly. Miguel our favorite bartender was always happy to make us a cuppocino. Liuba, our energetic and lively social organizer was always trying to get everyone to join a salsa class and bingo. She was also busy every evening letting all the guest know about the nightly entertainment which we always enjoyed.

On my birthday, Jose presented me with a Birthday cake and a bottle of our favorite red wine. There was often a music band playing in the dining room at Lunch and Dinner and at times we would dance with Graciela which was a lot of fun and everyone joined in.

Once again we took the Shuttle almost every day on our two week stay, except on Thursdays when the shuttle only goes to Havana in the afternoon. On that day we would walk the amazingly beautiful Playa Del Este to the town of Guanabo where one can spend
a lazy afternoon of sightseeing with good restaurants and outdoor bars for a cold beer.

Our beach in front of the Hotel was kept clean, with lots of security. There was always a staff member ready with a wisk broom to clean off a chair or move it where ever we wanted it. A safe place to swim in the ocean and the water a nice temperature.

Last year I had a massage by Fidel which was very good. I was happy to see that he was still at the Hotel and booked a massage each afternoon for our entire stay except Sunday his day off. I booked a 20 minute partial therapeudic massage for 5cuc's and a great bargain for the massage he gives. I hope that I will see him when we return next year.

Last year we enjoyed the fish dinners very much but not so much this year. The small little tuna they had often were not to our taste and were disappointed that it was not the same. I have never had an allergy in my life but after eating fish for a few days I developed a severe reaction with rash all over my body. A nurse at the hotel was very helpful with an injection of antihistamine and tablets along with cortisone cream which improved it after a week. She would check with me every day to see how I am coming along. The entire staff in Hotel is very helpful.

Last year on the third floor we had a lovely chambermaid named Marta but she was working the other side of the floor. She was very happy to see us and when I had some chewing gum stuck to my black capris that some kid attached to a chair in the dining room, she took care of it for me, and was just like new. Our chambermaid this year was Naiby also very helpful and always willing to please. The room was kept clean and always ready for us when we arrived from our Havana trip at 1:30pm.

The Hotel was fully occupied which indicates that this is a very good place to stay and will certainly be back in the future. Except I might mention that we won't be flying with Sunwing any time soon.

Room Tip: A room in the building above the store on the higher floors in odd number rooms which gives you an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear customer:

We appreciate that you send us your opinion and experience in the period in which they stay at our facility. Indeed as you we mentioned we are a country that carefully takes care of hygiene, maintaining strict control over the washing and sanitizing of all meat, fish and vegetables, making by our doctors daily sampling of food a day to maintain good health of our customers and our reputation. The management is proud that her trip to Spain and the Atlantic Hotel has been great and we've entered your preference list their views on the professionalism of our staff to all workers in the Hotel I communicate.

Work looking for the satisfaction of our customers so we serve and prioritize feedback we receive on TRIPADVISOR . Thanks for your time sending us your so positive about our services valuation.

Regards

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Will never fly on Sunwing again as they have rearranged the seats so that they can seat more passengers; sardine can style. That is my only complaint. My knees were in contact with the seat ahead. Cannot help being in close touch contact with the persons beside you. I strongly suggest an aisle seat. I want to return to this hotel but will find a flight to Havana instead of Varadero via another airline. This is also a much shorter ride to the hotel, approx. 40 minutes instead of 1.5 hours.. The Cuban food at the Tropicoco Hotel is better.. Never got sick until I ate what they said was "Smoked Meat" sandwich on the return flight to Ottawa; spent a couple of days not venturing too far from my home.. They do charge 2 CUC per day for the safe in the room; so what? No bugs or mosquitos around. The hotel sits on the most beautiful beach. Site was chosen by Batista in 1954 and used by him as part of the Bank of Cuba where he and his cronies enjoyed the best beach in Havana. The addition to the original was built in 1974. Very high Security around the whole area as the Cuban Govt. made a clean sweep lately due to some Tourist's complaints about too many "Chicas" They even have National Police patrolling the beaches. Best part is the daily bus transportation to Havana/return, twice a day - free.
Great Havana Night shows at the hotel, twice a week. Excellent singers and dancers, however, only recorded and not live music. Local musicians moving around the area. All staff at the hotel were great. As in Canada, a little tip is encouraging for them as their wages are not to our standards. The two women at the poolside bar were great also; one CUC creates a smile.
Music is the history of Cuba. Cuban music makes you want to live. Helps them with the USA Blockade problems.

Room Tip: No elevators!! Three floors. Great exercise going up and down. No need to use exercise room. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Customer :

We welcome your feedback and have been pleased with the services offered by the facility. We have passed your comment about the Cuba trip Sunwing in, they accept and value each criterion which airs on the service, and we know what will be considered.
We appreciate your stay has been a good opinion about the staff and look forward to being your preference.

Greetings and see you soon
Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Caribe Club Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Atlantico

Address: Ave. Las Terrazas | Santa Maria Del Mar, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico Hotel Havana
Gran Caribe Hotel Atlantico
Gran Caribe Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.