We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is average/3 stars for Cuba standards -- 2 stars/poor if it was anywhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roc Presidente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Roc Presidente
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 75 hotels in Havana
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This hotel is average/3 stars for Cuba standards -- 2 stars/poor if it was anywhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My hotel stay was arranged by my (religious) group so I had no say in where we stayed. I read the TripAdvisor reviews before my trip so the first thing I did was check the water pressure in my shower -- subpar, so they switched me to a top floor room with a great view of the ocean (and better water pressure). The hallway of the top floor reeked of mildew but my room smelled fine. Toilets were not very strong -- if you wanted to flush twice, you had to wait a few minutes between flushes (but everything ultimately flushed away). Cleaning lady did nice job in the room -- make sure you tip her each day -- my friends did not tip and were left letters by the cleaning lady hinting at a tip. Breakfast was more than adequate as far as selection. Hair dryer was weak -- bring your own along with a converter. I found front desk people to be fine -- they were not rude but they were not overtly friendly either. If this hotel was anywhere else but Cuba, I would have given it 1 or 2 stars but given the financial situation of Cuba, I think you have to lower your expectations -- hence the 3 stars. However, if I were to go back to Cuba, I would not stay at this hotel again. Instead, I would find a better hotel, especially since I like to stay in 4 or 5 star hotels in general.

Most important tip for Cuba travel in general is to bring small packets of tissues because most places in Cuba (outside of the hotel) do not have toilet paper in the bathrooms!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, General Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear A B : Thank you for writing about your stay in Roc Presidente. We are not agree with to much things you had writed for example about the tip and maid, but we respect all your opinion. We have a lot of thing inside the hotel you could enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your time. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    155
    138
    54
    22
See reviews for
54
174
40
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights during our roundtrip, luckily we found a private restaurant, so we had not to eat there every day. Rooms have just small windows and smell a little bit mold. Rooms would need some refurbishment, They have wifi! What is not common in Cuba, but it works at the lobby only and is very slow.
Breakfast and dinner is very basic. Real coffee is charged extra.
Not a place where i would come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Moarti: Thank you for writng in this page your opinion. All the turist people try to have an experience in a private resaurant, it is normal. We have a lot of kind of this restaurants with good services too. We sorry that you have that opinion about the window. For us it have the correct size to enjoy the beautiful view and take pictures, remenber that the hotel is 85 years old. For the other way we have wifi in all the hotel and in all the rooms with a fast connectivity. Thank you for your recommendation about the rooms.Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is quite a nice old building with slow lifts and large nice old-style room. It was passed its heydays as the chrome finishes had lost their shine. The shower had only one temperature but a comfortable warm one. There were no stoppers in the bathtub and sink. The bathroom relied on natural ventilation so could be quite hot during the day. No room slippers and drinking water were provided but ample towels. No laundry service and the one-hour wifi cards were not always available for purchase. Food in the restaurant was mediocre. Unfriendly front desk. This hotels served several tour groups.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, General Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Chezkelly Dear: Thank you for staying at the Hotel Roc President for his days in Havana. Grateful that you have devoted part of their time to write reviews and ratings on our services. It's a shame you have that image about personal reception, our girls are well prepared for the attention of our guest. In city hotels no standing water in the room as a courtesy, however if you have requested this service would have provided as with slippers. Sorry for the days in which we could not provide the service of internet card sales, we made every effort. It's a shame that you have that review of the food in the restaurant, but the hotel meet the standards of quality established. We hope to be able to offer you once again our hospitality. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We toured across Cuba staying at a number of hotels of different styles unfortunately the Presidente let us down. We had to change rooms as the room above flooded our bathroom twice. The management did not seem bothered having read other comments I understand why.

Also the restaurant has room for improvement compared to other hotels.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, General Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear TheRoamingeatingÑ Thank you for having booked the Hotel Roc President to stay in Havana. Unfortunately there was a burst pipe unexpectedly which caused leakage to your room, these events can happen anywhere, but the solution was quick, it's a shame not noticed this. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. SIncerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

In my room the plumbing worked (except that the shower/tub diverter didn't move). Some people in my group weren't so lucky and had to change rooms. The bed was okay, the mini-fridge was good and the cleaning staff did a fine job. Reception was not very nice and wake-up calls were not reliable. The pool was pleasant, filled with salt water, but if you're looking for pristine, you'll be disappointed. I didn't even try to use the internet, but heard from others in my group that it didn't work very well and was also expensive. There is nothing within easy walking distance of this hotel, so if you want to have some cold drinks in your room fridge, bring them with you. My room had a nice view of the city and beautiful sunrises. I might stay here again, but would check out other options in the price range.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, General Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear: Thank you for chosing to stay at the Roc President. Thanks for taking the time to write their opinions and reviews on your stay with us. Will convey their opinions to the cleaning staff also is a shame that you had a bad impression for the service of reception, which will analyze. We will consider its recommendations. We're glad you enjoyed the view and the sunrise from your room and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Malecon, but a bit of a distance from Old Havana.

Our room was on the 8th floor and was adequate size. The bathroom was marginal, the toilet barely flushed and our shower had a slight dribble at all times (we simply closed the door at night, but what a waste of water). They did however have nice towels. Other people in our tour group also had problems with their bathrooms.

The bellhops and bar staff were all friendly and helpful, but people at the front desk had a bit of an attitude.

Breakfast was good. A large selection of food, both hot and cold, it was one of the better breakfast buffets we had in Cuba.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear TravellingFloyd: Thank you for booking our Roc Presidente hotel for your stay in Havana. We are glad you have had a good time with us and thank for your opinion about the breakfast buffets, we will give your valoration to the staff and bellboy. We are sorry you have got that opinion about the people at the reception. Thank you for your recommendations. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is rather an average hotel. Only 4 stars to Cuban standards. We booked in advance and arrived in an hotel where the bigger part of the lobby was hidden behind cardboard walls for renovation purposes. There was ampel room in front of the counter. That's typical: Cubans wait too long before repairing things and sudden it's breaks down all together. And it's never mentioned in advance. I guess that the majority of the tourists only come once. So why telling and bothering about satisfied guests?

We had a room on the 8 floor, facing downtown Havana. Everything was functioning hot water, hair dryer, fridge..), but outworn. As is this city. Sometimes it's difficult to keep smiling...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool site: beter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Bucaner0: Thanks for your opinion. You are right we were repairing the lobby for some days, but it was with the objetive to increase the quality and the atmosfhere of the lobby for our guest. Unfortunately you don' t mention that we decorated the lobby with differents paints. We have a lot of turists which decided to return to visit us again because they recognize our history.
In spite of your some incidences we are glad you have selected our hotel. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roc Presidente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Roc Presidente to your Saves list