We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Parque Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Parque Central
Save
You added Iberostar Parque Central to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights before and after the resort stay and it was great, much better than the resort itself it has to be said! The service is attentive and people who stay here are made to feel special. Its a good central location and just a world apart from how Habaneros actually live but good escapism from the hustle! The rooftop pool is not massive but the view of Capitolio is amazing and there's a jacuzzi there, too.
Stayed at the colonial part in two different rooms, one had a view of Capitolio and busy streets, its lovely with a terrace as well which is nice - room 445, get it if you can!
Breakfast was great, the main restaurant gets very busy so try another spot to the right from the lobby bar, its quiter but the choice is good, both hot and cold dishes, and champagne woop!
There aren't any old old bits in the hotel but its done up very nice, lobby with a huge staircase and so much greenery and a glass roof is striking. For history go to Hotel National but you don't even have to stay there to experience it, just come for a cocktail.

Room Tip: Room 445 has a terrace and magnificent view of Capitolio and Parque Central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Dolphin07,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went. We are proud to know you had an ideal vacation and appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
We hope to be able to welcome you once again at Iberostar Parque Central!
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    1,315
    249
    65
    57
See reviews for
609
2,295
159
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel is located in the center of Havana, which is a huge advantage that all the sights you can see on foot, at most you can take a tuk tuk. The hotel is divided into 2 parts, the new and old part. Personally, I like more the old part :-) Every evening at the main degree, the bar plays live music, even the desire ... :-) Rooms are large, clean with full equipment. In the event that you forget your toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, or even dressing gown, all that you have. We got to the hotel room and a bottle of red wine as a slide show ... :-) Food is abundant and wide. Personnel in the bar is amazing. Smiling, helpful though a bit slow. That does not tell the staff in the dining room. One word of horror ... they pretend as if they are kept, they definitely do not like the job is about. It is best to ignore them. But I have to commend the hotel manager of Pauline. It's a great manager, which is perfect for this job. She was always helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Gulovictimea,

On behalf of the hotel staff I would like to thank you for choosing us as your host hotel in Havana. It strengthens our determination to know that we have provided you with a perfect holiday.

I take the opportunity for your positive feedback towards me. I promise you that all the management of Iberostar Parque Central is committed in offering the best of ourselves in order to provide customers with a wonderful experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you once again in the future.

Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon as an overnight trip to Havana. We were staying at Sandals Royal Hicacos in Varadero but booked a night here to allow us to explore more of Havana than on a simple daytrip.

We arrived much earlier than expected and were able to check in to our room at 11am which was great and totally unexpected since check in was 3pm so that was a bonus.

Our room was a bit tired looking and the balcony was dreadful, not even a chair on it! I think its ridiculous that a 5 star hotel asks for $4.50 for a coffee making kit in your room and you are not given it free, also no free bottled water, water in the mini bar but is was very over priced.

The pool area was ok, nothing spectacular, the pool isn't very deep and because its on the roof it was quite cold to sit around in the late afternoon because of the wind.

The hotel is well located and was an ideal base for us.

Breakfast was chaotic to say the least, we were left to search for a table for 15 mins before eventually being shown to another dining room away from the main one, not ideal. The quality of the food was good however.

Overall when I consider what we paid for the hotel I think there are far better options available near by. The rooms were tired although I suspect the rooms in the new part may be better than in the colonial building where we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Bazzah41,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel on your honeymoon. We are happy to read that you were able to have an early check-in and that you enjoyed our food selection. I would like to inform you that the hotel will soon start renovating the rooms in order to offer the best facilities to our clients. Unfortunately as we are not an all inclusive hotel, room service facilities as well as the mini bar are not included.

Kind regards
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is a definite 5 star... it is where all the airline crew stay so it confirms the quality. The food was fault less and catered for every taste and nationality. The meals were 1st class and the cocktails were fantastic. the staff were so attentive and it was consistent throughout. We had never been to Havana and I was doing a Photo shoot. we asked the door men where to go and to arrange an old car to have us driven around in. we paid 30 cud for 1.5 hours. he took us wherever we wanted to go and showed us everything we needed to see before we wandered around on our own.

The Hotel is separated into 2 parts the new and old. both are exceptional. the new part was very comfy and had a very large bath tub and shower with twin sinks. Bath robes included and hairdryer. the views from the roof top pools were amazing and I took some amazing photos. there are 2 pools , on the new building the pool is quieter and smaller. the old hotel is larger and has afternoon live music. great for catching some hot cuban rays and having a dip in the relaxing pool and hot tub

It is a perfectly safe place however you will be asked where your from do you want this, go here etc. just politly say no and be firm, you will be left alone.

Caution do not wear jewellery that is excessive like large gold chains as there was an incident by a tourist having it snatched. This is very rare and could happen any where in the world. Common sense can tell you that.
We walked through the poorest roughest areas and felt safe. I gave various locals the odd cuc to pose for me and they were happy to participate.

This hotel is a fantastic location and is within walking distance of everything ..including the sea. Water, cans of pop and beer is easily purchased away from the hotel and a lot cheaper.

I had no problems with tummy upsets etc.

A good idea is to research where you want to go before you travel and have an idea. we sepent 3 days here which was not enough.

Room Tip: Request a room in the old part for a fantastic view of the square or a new room for a more peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Tanya_ Turner69,

On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Parque Central I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear you have had a fabulous vacation, that you were able to enjoy all our facilities. Thank you for understanding that you recommend us to other travellers.
We hope to be able to welcome you back once more in the future
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A good hotel to stay in in Havana. Very busy and a lot of noise. Many Cubans on the door step who try to sell you their services. Rooms are spacious but a little tired. Rooftop pool is excellent. The hotel is in the middle of verything you want to see or do in Havanna. Best reakfast we have had in Cuba. A real treat! Unfortunately the staff is not so friendly typical "big city" behaviour and lack of interest in their guests.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Atlanta_visitor,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing to stay at Iberostar Parque Central. We are thrilled to know you have enjoyed our facilities and our excellent breakfast. On the same hand, we would like to inform you that we are always working with our staff in order to try to give the best of our service to all of our customers.

We trust to be able to offer you our hospitality in the future

Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spacious rooms with the amenities we in the US expect. It appeared a bit worn but for Cuba we were pleasantly surprised. It is located on the outskirts of Havana Vieja which is ideal and a safe walk to and from many of the famous spots. Breakfast is included and is better than most of the European hotels. Lovely pool and patio on the roof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DianaTraveler,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar. We are pleased to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, being the keypoint our location
We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality in the future.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed a week in a junior suite in this hotel. Its location just besides the old town is excellent, and even on a busy street it is quiet at night. The breakfast buffet is much better than we would have expected to find in Cuba, staff is attentive and fast. On the last two days they were out of black tea, but we had brought our own for tea in the room, so that was not a problem. The pool on the roof is beautifully located with a great view over the city, and good service.
Cuba is short of everything except police and security staff, so they write down the serial number of your pool towel on a list when they hand it out, but that did not bother us.
Internet service (Wifi) is horribly expensive like everywhere in Cuban hotels, if it exists at all.
When we arrived, we were annoyed that hotel security would not allow us to show our suite to the two local friends who had picked us up at the airport. But we got arround that the next day, by simply ignoring such restrictions. Also annoying was the unavailability of a kettle for the room. Other more modern Havana hotels do have them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Alois Treindl,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar's Parque Central hotel. We are pleased to have provided you with a good vacation. We apologize for the fact that guests are restricted within the hotel premises and this is only for our clients' safety and confort. All clients lodging in the hotel may have visitors only in our public areas and with the authorization of the management. This is done as our swimmingpool area is not that big and when our hotel is full capacity, we like to give our customers the priority over the hotel's premises. We thank you for your understanding.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality in the future.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Business Hotel in Havana
#4 Best Value Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Parque Central 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Parque Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.