We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of beauty and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Parque Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Parque Central
Save
You added Iberostar Parque Central to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An oasis of beauty and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Parque Central twice while on a National Geographic tour in Cuba. The place is lovely and the rooms are comfortable. The service is very friendly, and breakfast was an immense buffet with something for literally everyone. Just a couple of minor negatives: It always seemed to be rush hour at the elevators - one of which was broken. For the days we stayed on the second floor we used the stairs - coming down it was impossible to get on. When we were on the 7th floor that was not an option. We had to take a crowded elevator for each trip (Oh, and no air conditioning in the elevator.) The other negative was a hard bed. In the states and Europe we have gotten so spoiled with all the extra comfortable beds that to see (and sleep on) a hard mattress was a throw back. On the plus side - the bathrooms were spotless and there was plenty of soap, shampoo, and toilet paper!

Room Tip: The higher rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Ewparker:
We would like to thank you for sharing with the online community your opinion about your stay at Iberostar Parque Central. We are glad to hear you were in one of our National Geographic’s groups and that you have had an overall relaxing holiday. Thank you for your suggestions and comments regarding our beds; as you state 1 of our elevators is out of order but as soon as we get the missing piece, it will be back on service.
Thank you for your feedback regarding cleanliness and staff, we are always working towards constant improvement.

Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    1,315
    249
    65
    57
See reviews for
609
2,295
159
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the Parque Central from 9 to 12 Feb in 7th floor room in the Colonial part of the hotel. Room was large and the massive bed very comfortable. Bathroom was well appointed.

Breakfast buffet was very good but the evening buffet was a little disappointing. We ate 3 nights at the roof top restaurant, which we found to be very good. Service was great and all staff helpful and friendly. The beef fillet was excellent as were the beef brochettes. The roof top was a great place to eat and the view couldn't be bettered.

Pool was clean and we could always get a sunbed.

Parque Central is a great base to visit Old Havana, 1950s cars and pony and traps just outside and everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Melanie,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went. We are proud to know you had an ideal vacation and appreciate your feedback with regards to our evening buffet.
We hope to be able to welcome you once again at Iberostar Parque Central!
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here for a few days as part of a package deal with the holiday place during the last few weeks of january and we were not disappointed!

Great location, bang in the middle of old havana with views of the capital building, simply stunning especially if you go to the roof around the pool and restaurant where you can see for miles around. stunning!
the rooms were lovely and spacious with huge beds and were very clean.
The staff were very friendly and always happy to help, although one rule i would say is to get a second opinion on everything as sometimes the english gets a bit muddled with some.
The free breakfast in the morning was excellent, huge amount of selection and considering i am vegetarian i was very happy. I ate better in this hotel than i did in my all inclusive!!
One thing i would say is to ask to stay in the old part of the hotel as the new part is still being renovated and isn't half as welcoming or decorated as glamourously.
We did toy whether to stay in this hotel or the melia habana but this place hands down cannot be beaten on location, its perfect for running around the city all day straight on your doorstep and then jumping in the pool to cool off.
Cant recommend this place enough, will certainly come again!

Room Tip: ask for the old part of the hotel if you want that real havana style
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Charlotte:
On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Parque Central I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear you have had a great holiday, and that you were able to get the variety of food expected being a vegetarian. Thank you for recommending us to other travellers, and we look forward to welcoming you once again!
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, ME
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

4* hotel. Great room with super bedding, great bathroom, great rooftop bar and pool, great lobby bar, great buffet breakfast, great location right in Old Havana and you can walk anywhere, great 1950s cars just across the street. I could not think of anything I would change. A super place to start and/or finish a trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Rweis1d,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Parque Central. We are very happy to read you have had a great holiday and to know you recommend our resort for travellers coming to Cuba.
We trust to offer you our hospitality at any of our hotels
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

just back from a nat/geo 8 day trip around western cuba
while there, 4 us senators and 4 us congressman stayed here to work on restoring the hemingway house
this is the best, in a relative term, place to stay in the capital
short walk to everywhere
use the very slow internet at business office when it opens at 8am
at 5pm, I couldn't even get my email account open after 10 minutes wait
they always have 1 elevator not working of the 3 which is bothersome
go up to roof top pool for sunset and a glass of wine with typical music from a 5 member group
go to breakfast buffet by 7.30..one day they had about 20 people waiting for a table to open at 8.30
staff was great
you can change money right next to check in
best to come here with canadian $ or euros as the us dollar gets a 10% extra service charge above the 3%

Room Tip: stay in old part new part is like a holiday inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Ddoran:
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar. We are pleased to understand from your comments that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, being the keypoint our location
We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality in the future.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Iberostar Parque Central is a 5 star hotel that once inside, you could be anywhere in the world. I did not feel I was in Havana.

The three occasions that we dealt with the receptionists other than asking for change, we found the women to be less than warm and welcoming. On one occasion I needed a few English words translated into Spanish and asked if she would kindly translate and write them down on a piece of paper. There were 3 women at the reception counter and no clients waiting to be assisted. The receptionist adamantly refused, even though she spoke English well, and told us that we would have to ask the bell captain across the way. Personally I found her to be quite snotty.

We also found that when we were sitting in the lobby area waiting to order a drink that it took some time before we were noticed. There were lots of empty tables so no logical excuse for being neglected.

Breakfast was extraordinary. Our junior suite had all the amenities you could possibly want. The roof top garden/pool area is well worth a visit, particularly for the views.

The hotel location is right on the edge of old Havana. Just outside the hotel there is usually an array of restored old cars, in every color under the rainbow, that can be hired for a city tour or for photo/video sessions.

Dinner at their steak house restaurant was priced as if you were in New York - a dinner cost represented several months salary for an average Cuban. The beef was disappointing in flavour and definitely over-priced for the quality. Mind you the guide books tell you not to order beef in Cuba so we didn't except here we thought in a 5 star hotel it would be delicious. The pianist was exceptional and charming.

Wait service and attention was abysmal. We waited for a long time at the entrance of their finest restaurant. Eventually someone appeared to seat us. The maitre d' asked if we had a reservation - we did not - they then seated us behind a pillar preventing us from seeing the musician. The best tables remained empty throughout the evening even though only 4 tables out of about 30 tables were actually occupied. Service throughout the meal was very slow.

Overall staying at the Parque Central felt like a very impersonal experience and the rudeness or indifference of the front desk staff especially will remain in my memory.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Envisionary:
On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Parque Central I would like to thank you for your time invested in writing your review with your opinion about your stay at our hotel. We are glad to read positive feedback as our food and amenities assortment as well as the stunning views of the city. On the other hand, I would like to apologize for the impression you got from our front desk staff. I can assure you we are always working with our staff so we can improve our service to customers. All of our restaurants are open to all of our guests and do not require a reservation. All clients are welcome to sit at any of the tables of our restaurant unless any of those has been specifically requested by a group or by a client. I am sure that if you would have spoken to the maître with your wishes, he would have gladly given you the table you wished you have.
As part of the management of the hotel, I would like to truly apologize for the perception you took back home about our resort. We are very sorry that you didn’t approach management regarding your comments and dissatisfaction about some of our services as we always listen to our customers and try our best to offer them a memorable vacation.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel in right in the centre of Havana, an amazing roof top bar and swimming pool, which over looks the city.

If you go to Cuba you have to take the time to visit Havana, it's really relaxed and maybe use the horse and cart to get further afield, or even an open top car.

We had an amazing time and have been to Cuba now 3 times, and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear C_dudman75:
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your host for your 3rd trip to Havana. We are satisfied to read you have had a relaxing vacation and that you plan to come back to visit us.
We will be very happy to welcome you back once again!
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#4 Best Value Hotel in Havana
#4 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Parque Central 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Parque Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.