We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and rundown, but comfortable enough and all that you can really expect in Cuba” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Inglaterra
Save
You added Hotel Inglaterra to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Havana
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Shabby and rundown, but comfortable enough and all that you can really expect in Cuba”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Anyone who expects any accommodation in Cuba to be state of the art hasn't read the history books....remember this country is very, very poor and everything, except for the small casas particulares and paladares, is state-owned. So your stay at the Hotel Inglaterra will take you back forty, maybe fifty, years to when there weren't the same choices or concepts of service. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable in a shabby, rundown sort of way. Its public areas evoke thoughts of better times; how lovely it could be if the money was there to spend on it. Our room was, like many I believe, interior, with a little window looking out on to the internal patio. Our children's actually had its own balconette! So, I guess it's the luck of the draw. The rooms have televisions with cable TV, which rather surprised me; the plumbing facilities left a lot to be desired and the air-conditioning units, which probably arrived with the Ark, were those sort of individual, noisy exterior boxes but they were very effective. Breakfast like most of the catering in Cuba was meagre and not very good. The bakery products were rough and heavy and the hot food selection very unappetising. But it was no better nor worse than in many other places we stayed....this, in Cuba, is par for the course. The idea that what we were eating was a feast for the average Cuban who earned a pittance to put that food in front of the bloated foreign tourists, was enough to make us try to clear our plates the first day and make sure we didn't take very much on following mornings. The hotel is very central, an easy walk to the old quarter. The staff are friendly enough although there is that feeling, all over Cuba, that it is really done for the tips and there is a quiet resentment amongst state employees in the tourist sector against the "fat cat" tourists. La Habana itself is not to be missed, especially since, if there is any kind of regime change in the next decade or so, it is likely to turn the island into another Puerto Rico or a satellite of Miami, with a McDonalds on every corner, and the decaying charm of the city will disappear in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    289
    210
    85
    52
See reviews for
92
365
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Location of the hotel is excellent close to everything you want to see and do in Old Havana. They have done a fantastic job of renovations in the lobby and restaurant/bar areas. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. They gave us a small room with no windows. Furniture is definitley dated and the mattresses a bit too firm. The bathroom was a large at the bedroom! Great to have a roomy bathroom however the toilet did not work and we had to keep a pail of water beside it to flush. Not the best. I did notice that they have started renos in some of the rooms but could not see what had been done. While i am certain that the currency exchange was not run by the hotel the service there does reflect on the hotel and quite frankly it was horrible.
Workman kept putting the scaffolding in front of the elevators which made it very awkward to use them. I would not stay at this property again nor could i recommend it. Our travel agent did ask us to take pictures and we did!

Room Tip: If you want to try this property ask for a higher floor with a room on the exterior-so you have wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

great location, ok rooms, many without any windows !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed there are the beginning and end of a three week holiday to Cuba. Great location - you can walk to all the central sites very easily. Brekky good - lovely pancakes! The rooms were a nice size, but very tired and dated - you kinda get what you pay for. Was pretty outraged (after paying to spend a total of six nights there) to be charged for keeping our bags on the last day before we went to the airport. A silly little charge - which is not about the money but about the principle of the thing. Expensive internet (6 CUC an hour) but that is typical of Cuba. Good little bank and helpful tour staff. The cafe at the front (Cafe du Louvre?) is nice too - though try the cafe at the hotel two doors down for a nicer lunch! I'd stya there again, if I were planning to return to Cuba, but don't expect the Hilton!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nosiy, but I suppose that is all part of the charm! Quite a few internal roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a 2 day trip to Havana.
When we first walked into the reception area we thought we had hit the jackpot but once we opened the bedroom door we soon realised we had a very long, sleepless night ahead of us.
The room was dark and dingy, the beds were as comfortable as a concrete floor and the bathroom was a disgrace. There were wires hanging out of what looked like a plug socket, what was supposed to be the air conditioning unit (i would have been cooler blowing on myself) attached to the wall had broken knobs and the only light we had was from the 2 bedside lamps.
There were hairs in the shower cubicle that weren't mine or my partners, the bathroom tiles were filthy and stained and when the shower was in use in took about 10 minutes for any hot water to come through and even then it was only a trickle.
Dinner was very bland and cold and breakfast was very much the same. We couldn't wait to get out of this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at the Inglaterra again this year but won't be doing so again. The location is fun, in the middle of a lot of activity and the terrace is great for a drink and music. The rooms vary, some a lot better than others. The plumbing is generally bad, a trickle of water for a shower. A lot of noise from the hotel generator. The most insanely irritating thing was the constant loud, shrill ringing of the chamber maid's phones which you can hear on every floor, every few minutes, all day. It was impossible to relax in the room but they were not interested in listening to any complaints about it or doing something simple like turning the volume down on the phones. There is no such thing as customer service in Cuba.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

location is good, everything else is dreadful. room was dark, dingy, noisy and smelly, the shower a trickle of water, improvable air conditioning, very poor breakfast, forgettable service... check into a casa cubana, much better value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Havana
#9 Business Hotel in Havana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.