We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go if you are a Hemingway fan.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia

Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia
San Francisco de Paula | Carretera Central Km 12.5, Havana, Cuba
53 7 891 0809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 164 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the Finca Vigia, this ghost-white Spanish-colonial home was where Papa penned some of his greatest novels.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Only go if you are a Hemingway fan.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

You must view the rooms of the house from the outside. There is no material on Hemingway or background. It s not a museum. There is a tower with his study which has a decent view of Havana. His boat and his pet graves are here too. If you are a fan who must see where he lived, you will probably like it. Otherwise, I would skip it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    176
    51
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Vista, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Unlike most of the buildings, Cuba has kept this home in pristine condition and the grounds were beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too bad we could not enter the house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great place to visit if you want to get to know Hemmingway better. The house has most orginal furniture, etc. Be sure to look for the weight chart that Hemmingway did on his bathroom wall next to a doctor's scale. He liked dogs and had over 30 of them...many dogs still roam around the estate gardens. It is worth the climb to go to the top of the tower part of the house to see one of his "writing rooms" and a wonderful view of the Havana skyline in the distance. His boat the Pilar is also on the grounds and worth walking around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Finca Vigia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A must see for all Hemingway's fans.
You will view the home by walking around the outside of the home and looking in from the open windows.
Very knowledgeable tour guides will describe the history of Hemingway life, how he came to own the home, the books he wrote while in there and how he donated it to the Cuban Revolution.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A little bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is not the first Hemingway museum that I have visited, but it is certainly the best, I knew that I would visit when I was planning my trip and took the opportunity to read some of the great mans work, I am really pleased that I did, as I was really able to imagine how it was during his visit and it is just amazing, you must stop and have a drink and some local food to draw up the atmosphere , if I ever get the opportunity to visit Havana again I will make another visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia also viewed

 

Been to Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Hemingway Finca Vigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.